Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Space Empires V

Old 07-29-2010, 01:07 AM   #1
Wiedadde

Question Space station

Hi

I'm new to Space Empires V and still playing the tutorial. Been messing around with all the options...

I tried building a space station. Added all the required components, some weapons and gadgets. Once the design completed, i tried it in the space battle simulator against some frigates.

Problem:the space station doesn't fire at all. It just sits there, waiting to be destroyed. I must be doing something wrong here, but i've no clue what that might be.

Any ideas?

Old 07-29-2010, 08:36 AM   #2
Wiedadde

I found out why: my space station was carrying only ordnance and no supplies. You need supplies (as well) to fire energy based weapons .
Old 11-12-2011, 03:27 PM   #3
Esperologist

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiedadde View Post
I found out why: my space station was carrying only ordnance and no supplies. You need supplies (as well) to fire energy based weapons .
Glad I read this... I haven't made a station yet, so now I know. ^_^
Esperologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 04:27 AM   #4
ShadowDragon868

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiedadde View Post
Supplies are your "energy storage," call it whatever is appropriate - antimatter, nuclear material, charged-up batteries, etcetera. Rightclick on a weapon to see what it requires to fire it - the default starting cannon requires 1 Supply and 1 Ordnance to fire, while the nuclear missile requires 7 Supplies and 10 Ordnance to fire.

Most energy-based weapons would require 0 Ordnance, but would have a high Supply requirement. So this sounds like a case of bad ship design. Just revamp the design to have a lot of supply storage and your station will pew pew pew all day long.
ShadowDragon868 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 01:25 PM   #5
Placi

Most of those who played SE4 before (like me) makes this mistake.