Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Alien Swarm > Custom Campaigns / Maps

Old 08-04-2010, 04:54 AM   #1
Specur

[Release] Arctic Infiltration

Arctic Infiltration
Current Version: 1.2

Greetings, fellow marines!

I have been doing some mapping for past two weeks now. I have no previous mapping experience other than making some basic room with light and water in Quake and CSS many years ago. When Alien Swarm came to Steam I played the original campaign over and over again until I got just bored of it and decided to give a shot at the mapping. And damn... I really got sucked into it!

So I have been working on a map for over a week now after learning all the basic stuff about mapping for Alien Swarm. Please note that this is my very first proper map that isn't for testing purposes only.

Some of the features of this map are:
  • Beginning of the map is in outdoors in arctic conditions at night
  • Most of the map is in indoors
  • Working minimap is included
  • Objectives are realistic, not "Kill over 9000 drones"
  • Objective Details tells about the story and conditions
  • Objective Pictures are included
  • Custom PDAs are in the map

Mission Story

IAF received a distress call from a SynTek Research Facility saying that they are under swarm attack. The research being done in this facility is highly classified. IAF has only little data on this facility so on-site search for intel is required before proceeding further from the outer part of the facility. IAF Intelligence Division has sent us orbital imaging of the area and it shows that the swarm has breached the entrance already. Team of IAF marines are sent to investigate the call and attempt to rescue any survivors they find.

The team approached the landing zone and on the way they dropped some flares to guide the way to the entrance since it's very dark at night. They landed the Bloodhound on the landing zone and should continue from there.

Objectives are: