Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Gratuitous Space Battles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2010, 12:33 PM   #1
RagnarRipper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 140
Question help with "cannot find bin\SteamService.exe"?

just bought the game + DLC and it seems to work fine...
but every time i start it, i get this error message.
i even redownloaded the game and the message still appears.

here's the complete message:

"Windows cannot find 'bin\SteamService.exe'. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again."

any tips?

edit:
this is the only game that has had this problem so far.

Last edited by RagnarRipper: 08-05-2010 at 12:34 PM. Reason: see post
RagnarRipper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 02:54 PM   #2
Vaemer-Riit
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 167
Posts: 1,137
We can't help you unless you provide some information on your system:

1) What OS are you running? (Windows XP(32/64bit), Vista(32/64bit), or Windows 7)

2) What hardware do you have? (Video Card, CPU, RAM ect.)
Vaemer-Riit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 04:50 AM   #3
RagnarRipper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaemer-Riit View Post
We can't help you unless you provide some information on your system:

1) What OS are you running? (Windows XP(32/64bit), Vista(32/64bit), or Windows 7)

2) What hardware do you have? (Video Card, CPU, RAM ect.)
you're absolutely right, and i should have known better!

thanks for the quick response and sorry for being tardy myself.

my system
Win 7 32bit
Nvidia Geforce 8800 GTX
processor is intel Q6000 (i think. it's quadcore with 2.4 per core)
and (only) 2GB of ram.

so far almost all my games can run perfectly in almost all high settings. i've never had the problem before.

i mean, the game starts and i can play it, but the error message pops up each time i want to play it...
RagnarRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:05 AM   #4
Zoroastres
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
I have the same problem. Also using Windows 7.

Steam was working (well, not fine, but without error messages) for a long time. Then, suddenly, I started getting this error message. No changes were or modifications were made to my system that might account for it.
Zoroastres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 05:23 PM   #5
Straite
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 29
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaemer-Riit View Post
We can't help you unless you provide some information on your system:

1) What OS are you running? (Windows XP(32/64bit), Vista(32/64bit), or Windows 7)

2) What hardware do you have? (Video Card, CPU, RAM ect.)

Why on earth would that matter.

And I'm getting the error on another steam game (which doesn't have a forum) its amazing those jerks can't fix their system and install what is needed to make it work.
Straite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Gratuitous Space Battles


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.