Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Steam Community Discussion

Old 08-08-2010, 03:55 AM   #1
coreyscx

is steam worth it?

im still fairly new with alot of questions but i think its fun, is there anyway to play steam games on there own, no steam attatched, just take your cd key and play it stand alone. steam doesent even have achievements for most games out.
Old 08-08-2010, 04:36 AM   #2
Justin7

Quote:
Originally Posted by coreyscx View Post
im still fairly new with alot of questions but i think its fun, is there anyway to play steam games on there own, no steam attatched, just take your cd key and play it stand alone. steam doesent even have achievements for most games out.
You really like to use slow CD's and having to enter your CD key everytime? Running Steam makes everything so easy. You don't even get a CD with Steam so there is no need for it in the first place.

Games that use CD's rarely have achievements, Steam has achievements for hundreds of games. A list is here:

http://steamcommunity.com/stats/

So in short: Steam is worth it.
Justin7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 05:24 AM   #3
ultradude25

Whenever I install a 3rd party mod or a non-steam game, then get kicked for having the wrong version I suddenly remember that I actually have to update things myself, something I've completely forgotten about doing due to Steam handling all that for me.
ultradude25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 06:19 AM   #4
Seth.Sekhmet

Yes, steam is worth it.

No, you can't play games that require steam without steam.
Seth.Sekhmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 06:32 AM   #5
trojanrabbit.gg

Quote:
I'm still fairly new with a lot of questions but i think its fun, is there anyway to play steam games on there own, no steam attached, just take your CD key and play it stand alone. steam doesn't even have achievements for most games out.