Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2010, 11:25 AM   #1
sharp0900
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 37
Posts: 111
Which CPU should I choose?

I'm looking at three CPU right now. I am on a budget though.

1) AMD Phenom X4 9850
2) AMD Athlon II X4 635
3) AMD Phenom II X4 945

I'm thinking about getting the Athlon, but it doesn't have L3 Cache like the Phenom's do.

PS: I do pretty much everything on my computer, Photo/Video editing and a lot gaming.
sharp0900 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 11:31 AM   #2
rotNdude
 
rotNdude's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 10712
Posts: 46,627
I would choose the 945 out of those three. The L3 cache makes a difference.
rotNdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 11:35 AM   #3
bes
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Reputation: 598
Posts: 3,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharp0900 View Post
I'm looking at three CPU right now. I am on a budget though.

1) AMD Phenom X4 9850
2) AMD Athlon II X4 635
3) AMD Phenom II X4 945

I'm thinking about getting the Athlon, but it doesn't have L3 Cache like the Phenom's do.

PS: I do pretty much everything on my computer, Photo/Video editing and a lot gaming.
Phenom II X4 945, any of the ones on this list actually.. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...enom%20II%20X4

You should get the best quad-core you can find if you plan on doing photo and video editing also..
bes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 02:40 PM   #4
Lachrymosity
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 105
Posts: 1,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharp0900 View Post
I'm looking at three CPU right now. I am on a budget though.

1) AMD Phenom X4 9850
2) AMD Athlon II X4 635
3) AMD Phenom II X4 945

I'm thinking about getting the Athlon, but it doesn't have L3 Cache like the Phenom's do.
A lot of gaming hints at the Phenom 2 X4, avoid the original Phenom as that series has bad performance compared to the Athlon/Phenom 2.

What's your budget for the total build? In a 600$ build the A2 X4 makes the most sense as it won't bottleneck your GPU, but may save you enough money for a nicer one, whereas a 1000$ build would be better with the Phenom X4, or even a Phenom x6 if you're overclocking.
Lachrymosity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 06:41 PM   #5
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2872
Posts: 13,516
NO 3 out of them would be best bet IMO!
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 06:47 PM   #6
Amun
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 355
Posts: 4,154
Buy the 945 and overclock it.
Amun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 07:07 PM   #7
sharp0900
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 37
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lachrymosity View Post

What's your budget for the total build...
My budget is $100-$150. (Every penny counts!)

The thing is that I'm replacing my CPU and Mobo. Also my system is pretty mid-range as of now, which is one of the reason why I don't think I should go for the Phenom II x4. Plus the Athlon is about $50 cheaper, which would also help me get a better mobo.

But... is it that much better to consider the Phenom II x4 945 over the Atlhon II X4 635? Yes? No?
sharp0900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 07:10 PM   #8
madpistol
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 923
Posts: 4,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharp0900 View Post
But... is it that much better to consider the Phenom II x4 945 over the Atlhon II X4 635? Yes? No?
In short, yes.

The L3 cache found on the Phenom II processors really does make a huge difference in gaming and general performance. It's the difference between good performance and REALLY good performance.

The PII x4 is the best processor out of that bunch. No doubt about it.
madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 07:19 PM   #9
Lachrymosity
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 105
Posts: 1,426
It's less than 20% slower per clock at worst, often around 8%.

P2 is the best processor, but on that budget I'd definitely get the Athlon. A decent mobo is 80$ to begin with, and depending on what you have now you may need DDR3 ram.
Lachrymosity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 07:20 PM   #10
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2872
Posts: 13,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharp0900 View Post
My budget is $100-$150. (Every penny counts!)

The thing is that I'm replacing my CPU and Mobo. Also my system is pretty mid-range as of now, which is one of the reason why I don't think I should go for the Phenom II x4. Plus the Athlon is about $50 cheaper, which would also help me get a better mobo.

But... is it that much better to consider the Phenom II x4 945 over the Atlhon II X4 635? Yes? No?
Yeah there ain't much in it performance wise so you could save the $50 for a min performance loss!
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.