Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2010, 04:22 PM   #1
SnIcKeRs_OwNs
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Red face Fatal Error: Could not load module 'bin/vgui2.dll'

The title says it all.

I recently wanted to see if I still had friends on one of my accounts. I open steam and recieve that.

It also now hapens when I try to load my copy of CoD 4.

I am now unable to play any game son my ASUS gaming laptop. any ideas on how to fix this without restoring the whole hard drive?

Which I can do as a last resort.

picture: http://i35.tinypic.com/2ih01o7.jpg

Last edited by SnIcKeRs_OwNs: 08-16-2010 at 04:23 PM. Reason: had to add a picture
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:19 PM   #2
alssla
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 24
Posts: 351
Did you try Verifying Game Integrity ?
alssla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:21 PM   #3
SnIcKeRs_OwNs
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by alssla View Post
Did you try Verifying Game Integrity ?
what do you mean?

And I tried installing service pack 3 and...

Fail

http://i36.tinypic.com/2myx3f6.jpg
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:23 PM   #4
extheking
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
remove you clientregistry.blob in steam folder maybe that works
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:25 PM   #5
Nekomancer
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 2927
Posts: 16,221
Verifying Game Cache Files (GCF) (Link)
Nekomancer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:25 PM   #6
alssla
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 24
Posts: 351
Open steam then right click on game you have problems with and select properties, select the LOCAL FILES Tab and youll see Verify integrity of game cache.

Id also get Service Pack 3 in if you havent already, but your error indicates a steam problem not windows.

Last edited by alssla: 08-16-2010 at 05:26 PM. Reason: ninjay d :)
alssla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:26 PM   #7
SnIcKeRs_OwNs
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by extheking View Post
remove you clientregistry.blob in steam folder maybe that works

I tired :'( and...

Fail

http://i35.tinypic.com/4ujbtc.jpg
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:28 PM   #8
SnIcKeRs_OwNs
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by alssla View Post
Open steam then right click on game you have problems with and select properties, select the LOCAL FILES Tab and youll see Verify integrity of game cache.

Id also get Service Pack 3 in if you havent already, but your error indicates a steam problem not windows.

Steam No Longer Loads :'(, I tired the service pack 3 thing and the .blob thing and that also failed.

I think my last resort is to fully erase my hard drive.

and restore everything with the disks that came with it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:37 PM   #9
alssla
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 24
Posts: 351
If thats Vista your on then Its SP2, let windows do your updates if your not sure.
If you can get steam to load again then Verify
alssla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:37 PM   #10
SnIcKeRs_OwNs
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by alssla View Post
If thats Vista your on then Its SP2, let windows do your updates if your not sure.
If you can get steam to load again then Verify

I'm running windows 7
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:38 PM   #11
alssla
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 24
Posts: 351
Either way that Service Pack 3 is useless to ya
alssla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:43 PM   #12
SnIcKeRs_OwNs
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by alssla View Post
Either way that Service Pack 3 is useless to ya
So should I just fully restore my system?

i have done it before, and it fixed all my issues before.

But it took me around 24 hours before I got my computer fully up and working again.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:44 PM   #13
Nekomancer
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 2927
Posts: 16,221
Windows 7 doesn't have a service pack yet. So trying to install one won't help you.
Nekomancer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:50 PM   #14
alssla
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 24
Posts: 351
To save you reinstalling windows atm, just reinstall steam then verify the integrity first if it loads.

Remember to move the steamapps folder first. C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\

Last edited by alssla: 08-16-2010 at 05:52 PM.
alssla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 10:24 PM   #15
SnIcKeRs_OwNs
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by alssla View Post
To save you reinstalling windows atm, just reinstall steam then verify the integrity first if it loads.

Remember to move the steamapps folder first. C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\
Nothing was working so i restored my computer to factory settings and updated... IT WORKS NOW!

SO thanks everyone for helping out! Now I can play CS:S again!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.