Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2 > Community Content / Contribution Project > Other

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2010, 05:22 AM   #1
bogeymanEST
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 30
Posts: 74
TF2 Items Editor | Easily edit your items_game.txt!

TF2 Items Editor
Easily edit your items_game.txt!

What does it do?
This program allows you to open up items_game.txt, (or extract it from the .gcf) which contains all the items' custom attributes and other settings, and edit them in an easy-to-use interface.

How can I use this?
Check out this tutorial image(big!)

Where can I get this?
You can download the app from the Google Code page here.

Constructive criticism, bug reports and feature requests are highly appreciated.

Last edited by bogeymanEST: 11-18-2013 at 07:01 AM.
bogeymanEST is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 06:06 AM   #2
KamiofLunacy
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 230
Posts: 1,336
I don't appear to have an items_game.txt within the TF2 GCFs. Could you pleas e point a pour soul to it's location?
KamiofLunacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 06:18 AM   #3
Vi3trice
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Reputation: 25
Posts: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by KamiofLunacy View Post
I don't appear to have an items_game.txt within the TF2 GCFs. Could you pleas e point a pour soul to it's location?
scripts/items/items_game.txt
Vi3trice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 07:23 AM   #4
bogeymanEST
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 30
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by KamiofLunacy View Post
I don't appear to have an items_game.txt within the TF2 GCFs. Could you pleas e point a pour soul to it's location?
Its in team fortress 2 content.gcf in tf/scripts/items
But it's much easier to let the program do the extracting itself, just press Open and from the drop-down menu near the bottom select "Team Fortress 2 content" then open the gcf file.
bogeymanEST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 07:30 AM   #5
KamiofLunacy
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 230
Posts: 1,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by bogeymanEST View Post
Its in team fortress 2 content.gcf in tf/scripts/items
OK, looking there now. Found it.

But it's much easier to let the program do the extracting itself, just press Open and from the drop-down menu near the bottom select "Team Fortress 2 content" then open the gcf file.[/QUOTE]

That method spits out an error after it finishes extracting. "Unhanded Exception Error", I believe.

EDIT: I'd suggest that the weapon attributes be sorted alphabetically. Other than that, this is a gem of a program.

Last edited by KamiofLunacy: 08-19-2010 at 07:32 AM.
KamiofLunacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 09:07 AM   #6
Elixer0
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 98
Posts: 345
Seems like a very interesting/fun program. I'll try it a bit later.
Elixer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 09:32 PM   #7
AbeX300
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 976
Posts: 4,261
Bump, I wasn't even aware this program existed.

I'll try it out, now.

Edit: I suppose it is alright, but here are some suggestions.
  • Make the Hats be able to have attributes. I got two custom items with me that is a Hat and a Misc with stats, and they work perfectly fine, so it would be nice if you allowed the Hats and Miscs to be able to have attributes.
  • Make an option to copy and paste weapons easier and faster, while not replacing the base number. When you replace a Sandman with a Regular Bat and add stats to it, it's perfectly fine. Come to think of it, make it so that the real normal weapons (from Item #0 Bat, to Item #30 Invisibility Watch) can't be changed, because changing ANYTHING on the actual Normal items will at least cause the game to glitch.

Those are the two suggestions. Other than that, it's nice.

Refer to my tutorial so you might get some idea on how to improved the program.

Last edited by AbeX300: 08-20-2010 at 09:40 PM.
AbeX300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 03:31 AM   #8
hellcat638
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
very awsome could use weopon switch tho
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 04:25 AM   #9
Yutzar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 11
Posts: 68
Decimals do not work, hence most weapons are broken as soon as you open them. Eg value is 1.25 in items_game, opening with the editor makes the value = 0.
Apart from that it's pretty useful since it even takes the attributes you add to items_game.
Yutzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 06:02 AM   #10
bogeymanEST
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 30
Posts: 74
Updated to v0.8

TF2 Items Editor updated to v0.8. Major changes include:
  • Fixed item type not saving properly
  • Fixed a bug with decimals in attributes' values
  • Disabled maximize button
  • Added Copy-Paste
  • Added ability to add attributes to hats and misc items
  • Disabled adding attributes to default items
Download link is in the first post.

Thanks to everyone for the feedback and comments!



Quote:
Originally Posted by hellcat638 View Post
very awsome could use weopon switch tho
Could you give more detail?

Last edited by bogeymanEST: 08-21-2010 at 06:06 AM.
bogeymanEST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 06:36 AM   #11
TDV SilentSnipe
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 3734
Posts: 5,039
Weapon switching is pretty much copying a weapon and pasting it over another weapon (replacing one item in your inventory for another).

It's a really, really good start, and I hope it will get a lot more user-friendly as it progresses, for example, replacing the two "Item type" and "Item Name" boxes with just a "Rename item" box that edits them both to the input, restricting certain attributes to certain weapons (e.g. the "mod mini-crit airborne" one only applies to the rocket launchers) and a small description telling you what each attribute does.

EDIT: The new copy/paste function doesn't seem to work. It should really be copying the entire section of code like this:

Code:
		{
			"name"	"Unique Achievement Pickaxe"
			"item_class"	"tf_weapon_shovel"
			"craft_class"	"weapon"
			"item_type_name"	"#TF_Weapon_Pickaxe"
			"item_name"	"#TF_Unique_Achievement_Pickaxe"
			"item_logname"	"unique_pickaxe"
			"item_slot"	"melee"
			"item_quality"	"unique"
			"propername"	"1"
			"min_ilevel"	"10"
			"max_ilevel"	"10"
			"image_inventory" "backpack/weapons/c_models/c_pickaxe/c_pickaxe"
			"image_inventory_size_w"		"128"
			"image_inventory_size_h"		"82"
			"model_player"	"models/weapons/c_models/c_pickaxe/c_pickaxe.mdl"
			"attach_to_hands" "1"
			"used_by_classes"
			{
				"soldier"	"1"
			}
			"attributes"
			{
				"mod shovel damage boost"
				{
					"attribute_class"	"set_weapon_mode"
					"value"	"1"
				}
			}
			"visuals"
			{
				"sound_melee_miss"	"Weapon_PickAxe.Swing"
				"sound_melee_hit"	"Weapon_PickAxe.HitFlesh"
				"sound_melee_burst"	"Weapon_PickAxe.SwingCrit"
			}
			"mouse_pressed_sound"	"ui/item_wood_weapon_pickup.wav"
			"drop_sound"		"ui/item_wood_weapon_drop.wav"
		}
and replacing the entire section of code of the other weapon when it is pasted. As well as doing things like replacing all of the Direct Hits in your inventory with the Golden Wrench letting you use it, this also lets you edit the attributes of the default weapons, as long as you change the "Item quality" to "unique".

Last edited by TDV SilentSnipe: 08-21-2010 at 06:55 AM.
TDV SilentSnipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 06:52 AM   #12
bogeymanEST
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 30
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDV SilentSnipe View Post
for example, replacing the two "Item type" and "Item Name" boxes with just a "Rename item" box that edits them both to the input
The "Item type" and "Item name" only have the same value on the default items, so I can't really set them both the same, if that's what you mean.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TDV SilentSnipe View Post
restricting certain attributes to certain weapons (e.g. the "mod mini-crit airborne" one only applies to the rocket launchers) and a small description telling you what each attribute does.
Thanks, added to the to-do list

EDIT: Small fix, misread AbeX300's post: disabled everything editable on default items.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TDV SilentSnipe View Post
EDIT: The new copy/paste function doesn't seem to work. It should really be copying the entire section of code like this:

Code:
		{
			"name"	"Unique Achievement Pickaxe"
			"item_class"	"tf_weapon_shovel"
			"craft_class"	"weapon"
			"item_type_name"	"#TF_Weapon_Pickaxe"
			"item_name"	"#TF_Unique_Achievement_Pickaxe"
			"item_logname"	"unique_pickaxe"
			"item_slot"	"melee"
			"item_quality"	"unique"
			"propername"	"1"
			"min_ilevel"	"10"
			"max_ilevel"	"10"
			"image_inventory" "backpack/weapons/c_models/c_pickaxe/c_pickaxe"
			"image_inventory_size_w"		"128"
			"image_inventory_size_h"		"82"
			"model_player"	"models/weapons/c_models/c_pickaxe/c_pickaxe.mdl"
			"attach_to_hands" "1"
			"used_by_classes"
			{
				"soldier"	"1"
			}
			"attributes"
			{
				"mod shovel damage boost"
				{
					"attribute_class"	"set_weapon_mode"
					"value"	"1"
				}
			}
			"visuals"
			{
				"sound_melee_miss"	"Weapon_PickAxe.Swing"
				"sound_melee_hit"	"Weapon_PickAxe.HitFlesh"
				"sound_melee_burst"	"Weapon_PickAxe.SwingCrit"
			}
			"mouse_pressed_sound"	"ui/item_wood_weapon_pickup.wav"
			"drop_sound"		"ui/item_wood_weapon_drop.wav"
		}
and replacing the entire section of code of the other weapon when it is pasted. As well as doing things like replacing all of the Direct Hits in your inventory with the Golden Wrench letting you use it, this also lets you edit the attributes of the default weapons, as long as you change the "Item quality" to "unique".
Damn, I'll see what I can do.

EDIT2: Yay for first star

Last edited by bogeymanEST: 08-21-2010 at 09:22 AM.
bogeymanEST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:44 AM   #13
GuyHard
 
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 18
Posts: 376
Agh, sloppy coding... Each time, no matter what you do (even if you REMOVE things) it adds another 2-7kb. Once it gets to like 220, the game gets messed up and you'll have to pretty much redo it.
GuyHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 04:38 AM   #14
iPood
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 34
Posts: 334
Haha, this is a pretty neat little program you made!
Makes many things easier!
iPood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 05:10 AM   #15
GuyHard
 
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 18
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPood View Post
Haha, this is a pretty neat little program you made!
Makes many things easier!
Save as LITTLE AS POSSIBLE. Every save it adds 2-5kb memory, and eventually I guess it starts getting broken because it happened to me :\
GuyHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2 > Community Content / Contribution Project > Other


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.