Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2010, 10:17 PM   #1
lordroy33
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 6
Posts: 78
Steam wont start after update...

I have been using steam without any issues for years. During today's update, I have a problem.

After the update I told steam to restart. When it did, there was no icon in the system tray. Steam was running in taskmanager, but did not come up on the taskbar.

I closed steam.exe in taskmanager and then tried to restart. Same issue.

I restarted my computer, steam is set to start on startup, still, same issue.

I deleted everything in my steam folder (except steamapps folder), ran the installer, repair, and when done, and even after reboot, still same issue.

I totally uninstalled steam (using revo uninstaller cleans everything out, including the registry keys), reinstalled the game, rebooted, still, same issue.

I am at a loss what to do next. Please advise.

System specs:
MOTHERBOARD: ASRock 870 EXTREME3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA-6Gb/s USB 3.0
PROCESSOR: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W
MEMORY: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
HARD DRIVE: Western Digital Black Sata II 1Tb w/32mb cache
OPTICAL: Sony Optiarc DVD RW AD-7206S Sata
VIDEO CARD: PNY 9800GT 1GB GDDR3
SOUND CARD: Hercules Game Theater XP 7.1
POWER SUPPLY: OCZ Fatal1ty OCZ550FTY 550W Modular 80+ Certified
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3 32-Bit & DirectX 9.0c

All drivers are up to date and working perfectly. Everything was working perfectly with steam until your update today (Aug 19, 2010).

-=R=-

[edit] I want to mention that I have no firewall running and my anti-virus programs shut down. No extra programs at all running in taskmanager...

Last edited by lordroy33: 08-20-2010 at 10:32 AM.
lordroy33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:28 AM   #2
rollingeyeball
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 13
Posts: 89
Same issue here.

Code:
CsComm        Session               Aug-20-2010  18:24:28.171  [2756]  ReconnectThread (2756) Told to exit

CsComm        Session               Aug-20-2010  18:24:37.343  [1156]  ReconnectThread (1156) Starting

CsComm        Session               Aug-20-2010  18:28:00.671  [3604]  ReconnectThread (3604) Starting

CsComm        Session               Aug-20-2010  19:20:50.250  [1188]  ReconnectThread (1188) Starting

CsComm        Session               Aug-20-2010  19:21:55.859  [3884]  ReconnectThread (3884) Starting
=/

I haven't gone so far as to reinstall yet, but it sounds like it doesn't help anyway.

EDIT: I should add that I'm using winxp sp3.

Last edited by rollingeyeball: 08-20-2010 at 03:02 AM. Reason: more info
rollingeyeball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:51 AM   #3
Lord_Freezer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 31
Posts: 27
I am experiencing the same, if not, something similar.

I run the steam.exe and it sits in processes for about 30 seconds and then disappears. Tried the GameOverlayUI.exe and that lasts about 2 seconds. Tried deleting all the .dll's and clientregistry.blob, did not work. OS is win xp sp3

thanks for any help

Last edited by Lord_Freezer: 08-20-2010 at 02:52 AM. Reason: courtesy
Lord_Freezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:52 AM   #4
THE Nakedgun
 
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2005
Reputation: 597
Posts: 4,145
+1
Same problem.
I get this error message. I was using the beta before the update
http://i524.photobucket.com/albums/c.../steamfail.jpg
THE Nakedgun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 05:02 AM   #5
kugs
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 8
Posts: 137
Same problem here.
I've sent off a support ticket in the hope that'll speed up a fix.
kugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 05:04 AM   #6
Teyec
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 21
Same problem
Teyec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 05:18 AM   #7
lordroy33
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 6
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by kugs View Post
Same problem here.
I've sent off a support ticket in the hope that'll speed up a fix.
Ya I sent in a ticket last night, will post back here when I get more info.

I am just glad it is NOT just me and it is something wrong with the software.

-=R=-
lordroy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 05:34 AM   #8
Demongoat
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Same problem here, too. Gah, this is so annoying - can't believe they didn't fix this bug in the beta...
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 05:52 AM   #9
dazman76
 
Join Date: May 2006
Reputation: 34
Posts: 380
Hmm, I don't seem to have this problem - at least on my "work" install of Steam. I bought Borderlands yesterday though, so I'm really hoping my main Steam install at home will still start!

Anyhow, if it makes any difference - both of my installs are on Win7 Pro x64. I wonder if this is an XP-specific problem, based on the replies here so far? A pretty major problem anyway, whatever's causing it.

EDIT: Just received the update you guys might be talking about, and Steam is still starting fine on Win7 Pro x64 for me. That is, unless they already fixed this problem and released another update.

Last edited by dazman76: 08-20-2010 at 05:55 AM.
dazman76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 06:07 AM   #10
kugs
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 8
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazman76 View Post
Hmm, I don't seem to have this problem - at least on my "work" install of Steam. I bought Borderlands yesterday though, so I'm really hoping my main Steam install at home will still start!

Anyhow, if it makes any difference - both of my installs are on Win7 Pro x64. I wonder if this is an XP-specific problem, based on the replies here so far? A pretty major problem anyway, whatever's causing it.

EDIT: Just received the update you guys might be talking about, and Steam is still starting fine on Win7 Pro x64 for me. That is, unless they already fixed this problem and released another update.
Someone on Win7 seems to have the same problem, though otherwise everyone with the issue who have reported their OS seems to be using XP/SP3.
kugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 06:21 AM   #11
dazman76
 
Join Date: May 2006
Reputation: 34
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by kugs View Post
Someone on Win7 seems to have the same problem, though otherwise everyone with the issue who have reported their OS seems to be using XP/SP3.
I guess there could be more to this than meets the eye... I just restarted again, and Steam still seems to be OK. However, the big difference between my two installs, is that this one only has one game in the list - Borderlands. I wonder if this could be related to a specific game, and maybe a check for updates for that game upon startup. Steam does behave badly at strtup where update downloads are concerned - unresponsive UI etc. I wouldn't be surprised if it's getting bad data for an update and not completing the startup procedure. I'm currently dreading starting my other install now! Won't be able to do that for a few hours yet, unfortunately.
dazman76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 06:32 AM   #12
lordroy33
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 6
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazman76 View Post
I guess there could be more to this than meets the eye... I just restarted again, and Steam still seems to be OK. However, the big difference between my two installs, is that this one only has one game in the list - Borderlands. I wonder if this could be related to a specific game, and maybe a check for updates for that game upon startup. Steam does behave badly at strtup where update downloads are concerned - unresponsive UI etc. I wouldn't be surprised if it's getting bad data for an update and not completing the startup procedure. I'm currently dreading starting my other install now! Won't be able to do that for a few hours yet, unfortunately.
I deleted everything steam on my system, and moved the steamapps folder, so there was NOTHING (no games) that should have been on my steam client, yet it still did not launch right.

I dont think it has anything to do with what games you have installed.

-=R=-
lordroy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 07:08 AM   #13
97naruto97
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
Please repair this error
97naruto97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 08:49 AM   #14
Kilo_Lima_Kilo
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm having the same/similar problem. Hadn't used steam in a while, bought bad company 2 off the steam store, and then started steam. It went through updating then just sat there. I uninstalled/reinstalled steam, did the same thing. Did a clean install of windows xp pro sp3, installed it, updated; nothing. I did a clean install of XP again, still hasn't worked.

Windows XP Pro SP3
Intel Pentium Dual-core E2140
4 gb ram (3.25 showing in 32bit XP)
Nvidia 7900gs
1 TB WD caviar black HDD
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 09:21 AM   #15
Lucian3225
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

Same here.
Playing MW2 fine until today Steam updated. Now nothing. I have raised a support ticket, but from others experience I don't hold out hope for a speedy resolve.

Running XP, SP3. Which seems to be common to most of us

Hopefully if enough of us post on this thread and raise support tickets then we might see some results.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.