Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Batman: Arkham Asylum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2010, 12:11 PM   #1
Royal Fool
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 23
Missing "Launcher.ini", game won't start

I'm upgrading my computer and was going to make use of the benchmarking tools in this game, having already finished it some time back. My Windows installation got corrupted in the meantime, so I had to copy lots of data to a new one, including lots of game data for Steam. Unfortunately, it seems that I managed to miss out on some crucial config files for Batman: Arkham Asylum, which renders it unplayable.

Upon launching the game, it complains about a missing file:

Quote:
...BmGame/Config/Launcher.ini
So I created a blank version of this file. At which point the launcher complains again:

Quote:
BmGame/Config/Installer.ini
Again, I create a blank file and the process continues, but now it throws a .NET Framework error at me, which is too long to quote here. A Google search turned up this thread on the Eidos forums, which aims to help sort out .net errors. I put those config files into my folder as well and attempt to run it with ShippingPC-BmGame.exe, but again it complains about yet another file:

Quote:
Failed to find default engine .ini file to retrieve My Documents subdirectory to use. Force quitting.
And at this point I'm lost, the wording being too vague to give me any hint as to what is wrong. Why the hell doesn't the game auto-generate default versions of these when it detects they're missing? Why doesn't Steam give me default versions of them when verifying my game cache? Argh!

Anyone had similar issues and knows what to do, short of redownloading 8 gigabytes for a few measly config files that are created during install anyway?
Royal Fool is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 01:49 PM   #2
lyravega
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 252
Posts: 2,289
Would you like me to compress that folder and upload it to somewhere? Maybe this helps. But yeah, it's stupid that game doesn't create those missing .ini files again / or steam not getting them after verifying the game files. Maybe it only verifies those under Steam folder.
lyravega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 02:07 PM   #3
seseorang
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 736
Posts: 7,358
If it's the Steam version, right click the game - > Properties -> Local Files (tab) -> Verify cache files.

And any corrupt/missing files will be downloaded. If it's retail, you may have to re-install
seseorang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 05:33 AM   #4
lyravega
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 252
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Royal Fool View Post
Why doesn't Steam give me default versions of them when verifying my game cache? Argh!
5char
lyravega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 08:54 PM   #5
Royal Fool
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 23
I ended up re-downloading it from Steam anyway after trying to salvage the files from the demo version and still not getting the game to run. It works now, since the config files have been properly generated.

Still, downloading 8 gigabytes is a waste of both my time and Valve's bandwidth when all I needed was less than 100 KB of data. Thanks for the offers of help.
Royal Fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Batman: Arkham Asylum


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.