Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Metro 2033

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2010, 05:53 AM   #1
MoI^
 
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 84
Posts: 298
Exclamation HELP! "Metro 2033 executable stopped responding"!!!

Hi, guys, as the title says, I need help with that.

I own an ASUS N61Jq-JX040V

i7 720QM 1-6-2.8GHz
ATi Radeon HD 5730
6GB RAM

I've tried to re-install the game itself 3 times, and i tried to re-install the PhysX drivers, tried to run D3D11 installer, installed DirectX... Everything. When i ran PhysX installer, it said i already have the latest PhysX drivers & engines installed. Same goies to D3D11 installer, it said I already have DX11 in my PC

I tried ALL options in my reach. Help appreciated

EDIT :
I HAVE SENT A MESSAGE TO 4A GAMES AND THQ, WHEN I HAVE A RESPONSE, I WILL POST IT HERE
EDIT 2:
PLEASE REFER HOW DOES IT CRASH, IF IT CRASHES LIKE EVERY ONE ELSE ( BLACK SCREEN AND THEN "METRO 2033 STOPPPED RESPONDING").
EDIT 3 :
HAVE YOU TWEAKED THE USER.CFG FILE? BECAUSE I THINK IT MUST BE RELATED TO IT. ASK YOUR FRIENDS THAT DIDNT TWEAK USER.CFG, AND ASK THEM TO COPY AND PASTE THE CONTENT. TRY THAT.
EDIT 4 : WE HAVE A FIX! EVERY ONE THANK CLOWNMUG, AND GIVE HIM REPUTATION! HE DISCOVERED THE CAUSE AND THE FIX! GOOD JOB! I WILL POST THE FIX HERE AND I WILL SEND THQ, STEAM AND 4A GAMES TO POST IT OFFICIALLY! GOOD JOB AGAIN!
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=PU9Z6Q8N
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=ODL03B3H
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=XWO9JHKU
After you download, head over C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\metro 2033, and copy/paste it. Then you are good to go ( Im downloading now, hope it works )
EDIT 5 : THE FIX WORKED! DOWNLOAD AND THEN EXTRACT THOSE FILES TO THAT DIRECTORY AND THEN YOU CAN PLAY!
I will make another thread of posting the fix. Thank you all!



----------------------------------------------------

I HAVE RECEIVED AN ANSWER FROM 4A GAMES, QUOTING :

Hello Rafael, Thanks for writing. I am aware of the problem since Saturday as well, as I was trying to play the game myself. Though it's weekends and also a Labor Day holiday in USA, so it would be really optimistic to expect a fix before Tuesday. Unfortunately we cannot release a patch now, we have no control over Steam servers. I am not really sure at what step this file went missing in the submission process, because everything goes through THQ and then Valve. The most mysterious thing is that this update was available for beta testing much earlier and all the files were intact. Your fix it fine, this file did not change in this update, so you can use the one that was there before the update. Though make sure this file is coming from multilingual version that was purchased through Steam, the version from retail copies is incompatible and might cause instability. Best regards,Dmitry

Last edited by MoI^: 09-06-2010 at 02:13 PM.
MoI^ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 06:46 AM   #2
slade67
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
Same with me.
I7-920
Asus Rampage Extreme II
Sapphire ATI HD4850 (Cata. 10.8)
6GB RAM
Win7 Prof x64
slade67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 07:39 AM   #3
ReVoluS
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 23
Posts: 102
Wait for a decent patch. Because this one was not tested.
ReVoluS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 09:18 AM   #4
Cube-heaD
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Oh thank gods I'm not only one with this problem.

Could play the game last night with no problem, but today no good.
I think I've re-installed the game least six times, five times re-installed PhysicX etc etc. The game just freezes when the screen turns black, even in SafeMode.


ASUS AM3 AMD870
AMD Phenom II x4 945
XFX Radeon HD5870 XXX-edition (Cata. 10.8)
8GB RAM
Win7 Home Premium x64

Last edited by Cube-heaD: 09-04-2010 at 09:21 AM.
Cube-heaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 09:44 AM   #5
MoI^
 
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 84
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReVoluS View Post
Wait for a decent patch. Because this one was not tested.
mmmm... Date?
MoI^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 10:06 AM   #6
MoI^
 
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 84
Posts: 298
I think my best bet is to re-install steam?
MoI^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 11:04 AM   #7
Spawny
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 7
Posts: 142
Rats! I'm getting the same thing to after the patch, just a black screen and the message that the executable stopped working.
Spawny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 11:05 AM   #8
chiron02
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
Same problem

The screen shows its starting, but it goes black the pops up an error message. does anyone know how to fix this problem?
chiron02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 11:07 AM   #9
chiron02
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spawny View Post
Rats! I'm getting the same thing to after the patch, just a black screen and the message that the executable stopped working.
same here this patch that updated is what i think the problem is i have no idea though ive updated all my drivers any ideas anyone. would like to know if there a way to fix.
chiron02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 11:12 AM   #10
Spawny
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 7
Posts: 142
The only thing I can think of trying is to un-install Metro 2033 and try re-installing it again. Otherwise wait it out and see if another fix comes down the line through Steam.
Spawny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 11:21 AM   #11
bogswan
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
uninstalled then reinstalled the game

uninstalled the physics software and reinstalled from the game itself

reinstalled the directx that comes with the game

did alot of verifying the game files

tried a few more things to help that i had a good idea would not work but when ur desperate.....

along the way steam started giving errors about its network and i coould not login

reinstalled steam to use the repair option and steam is back to working

nothing has helped so for a final desperate act im re downloading the game in the hope that helps even tho my original download backup being reinstalled did not help

I started a thread asking those that got the fixes to work to explain how.....no replies
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 11:37 AM   #12
bogswan
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
re downloading the game did not help still black screen hell

hope this all helps other people to stop wasting time

we need a hotfix or patch soon plz
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 11:37 AM   #13
Spawny
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 7
Posts: 142
Well just prior to the Metro 2033 patch there was a Steam update, who knows maybe something was not compatible with the game. But I'm just totally guessing. Looks like we'll just have to wait until some word from Steam about whats going on.
Spawny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 11:50 AM   #14
Mortos Der
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 26
same here

I'm experiencing the same problems starting the game, hopefully it repaired soon.

win7 64bit
GTX470
258.96
Mortos Der is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 11:54 AM   #15
rh224
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 92
Posts: 641
Same problem here. I have:

Win 7 64-bit
Radeon HD 5870
rh224 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Metro 2033


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.