Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RailWorks

Old 10-10-2010, 08:20 AM   #1
WingRider

Issues with Railworks and Scenarios

Ok, so I'm new to this and bought it because it was on sale and curious. But wondering if others have the same issues and if there is a fix to some of these.

1 - Derail just out of the yard with the Free Roam Barstow with the Challenger. Read where others have this issue and it's a problem with the scenario. Is Railworks going to fix this? Why is it taking so long, does nothing to impress a new customer.

2 - To pause the game, press the 'Pause/Break' key. This does nothing on my system. I get a phone call or interruption of some sort and no way to pause the sim to come back to it. I have to just walk away and plan on restarting the scenario.

3 - Castle Rock Cement Car run. It 'locks up' everytime I start the switch over at the Castle Rock junction after waiting for the other train to go by. I finally found that a message was popping up in a window underneath the 'full screen' that 'Something bad happened'. Why always there?

4 - On the Meat wagon run, unable to recouple the cars in yard 2. I could not find a way to either manually couple (Ctrl-Shft-C) or thru the Coupler screen.

My first impression of this app is not great, the graphics and detail is good, but the mechanics and stability of the app is poor for me.

I'm running on a very stable pc that can run FSX all day without issue, so why is this having issues.

Old 10-10-2010, 09:07 AM   #2
lonewolfdon

Hey there. Welcome aboard
I can't offer scenario-specific advice on those ones you mention, but I might be able to offer some other suggestions that may help.

From the initial RailWorks initial launch window, and before clicking on the Start button, first click on the Tools & Docs tab, then click on the Clear Cache button found there, then Start RailWorks. Sometimes this will help to resolve some problems of some scenarios not loading or working properly.