Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2010, 12:19 AM   #1
IvanDoomer
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Reputation: 758
Posts: 1,671
Red face Securom problems, only on GTA IV and GTA Episodes o.o Help plz!

Hi masters,

I'm on an annoying problem and I'm really really begging for help.

99% of trials when I open GTA IV ir GTA Episodes, it returns "SecuROM Launcher has stopped working" error.

I'm using Windows 7 x64 professional, I already reinstalled all bunches apps (visual c++, .net framework 3.5, directx, updated video driver, etc) and still on problem.

I already did integrity check on steam, already updated securom driver using SecuROM Diagnostic Tool, already reinstalled game updates downloading manually from Rockstar.

I don't have virtual drivers installed, already disabled all my startup programs including antivirus and still on problem.

Already tried to disable Steam Community and already tried to launch game from LaunchGTAIV.exe instead opening from Steam.

I already contacted SecuROM by mail support@securom.com and they answer on all times that my machine is missing the .NET Framework 3.5, but it's not, including that it's already included on Windows 7.

Another SecuROM games as DiRT 2 works fine, I have more than 600 games running very fine on my machine, only these GTAs IV don't run fine.

Please, any tip?

Thanks a lot.

edit > Hardware:
Windows 7 x64
2TB HD for Steam games
Intel Core2Quad 2.66ghz
8GB RAM Memory
2x GeForce GTX465 (already tried disabling SLI)

Thanks again

Users w/ problems: IvanDoomer, Wilson, upn2daleft, thewarzonexl

How to fix it: UNINSTALL INTERNET EXPLORER 9 BETA!

Last edited by IvanDoomer: 11-28-2010 at 10:19 PM.
IvanDoomer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 01:11 AM   #2
Deadly_Target
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 2648
Posts: 5,227
How To Get GTAIV Running
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramzy View Post
SecuROM Launcher Has Stopped Working
Cause: You are running the D3DOverrider application that comes with RivaTuner.
Solution: Disable/Uninstall the D3DOverrider application.
That's the only solution I could find. Good luck!
Deadly_Target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 01:21 AM   #3
IvanDoomer
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Reputation: 758
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadly_Target View Post
How To Get GTAIV Running

That's the only solution I could find. Good luck!
But I don't have RivaTuner installed...
IvanDoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 11:42 AM   #4
Wilson
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I just installed a new GeForce GTS450 card today to replace my 9400 GT and I'm getting the same crash. Also no RivaTuner installed, latest driver is installed. What's going on here? Why ship with DRM if it doesn't stop the pirates from cracking but keeps buyers from playing?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 04:12 PM   #5
IvanDoomer
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Reputation: 758
Posts: 1,671
They (SecuROM support) answered more 2 times, first asking to download a new GTAIV launcher and another asking me to enable windows compatibility on launcher to Windows XP.

Changing the launcher didn't work, I will try using compatibility mode on 10pm (gmt -3) and feedback here any progress.
IvanDoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 05:38 PM   #6
IvanDoomer
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Reputation: 758
Posts: 1,671
Problem persists.

terrible.
IvanDoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 06:13 PM   #7
upn2daleft
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
I started getting this same SecuRom error a few days ago. Funny thing is I've been playing for a few months now without any problems and now all of a sudden it started out of no where. Only new thing that I installed was Microsoft Works 2007. Seemed to start after that.
upn2daleft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 06:15 PM   #8
IvanDoomer
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Reputation: 758
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by upn2daleft View Post
I started getting this same SecuRom error a few days ago. Funny thing is I've been playing for a few months now without any problems and now all of a sudden it started out of no where. Only new thing that I installed was Microsoft Works 2007. Seemed to start after that.
Me too! I just updated my video driver!

So, I already rolled back my driver and problem persists o.o

I suppose that an windows update patch did it... or a .Net Framework fix...
IvanDoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 03:12 PM   #9
Wilson
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
It actually started working again last night on its own. Not sure why it was crashing in the first place, but it works again now.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 04:37 PM   #10
upn2daleft
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
It actually started working again last night on its own. Not sure why it was crashing in the first place, but it works again now.
Still not working for me. I have to launch it a bunch of times, after the 5th time it will usually work.
upn2daleft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 09:42 PM   #11
IvanDoomer
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Reputation: 758
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by upn2daleft View Post
Still not working for me. I have to launch it a bunch of times, after the 5th time it will usually work.
I opened now and it worked on first time, closed, opened again and fail, again and fail, fail, fail.. ¬¬
IvanDoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 12:22 AM   #12
thewarzonexl
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm having this problem too. I contacted Rockstar Support about my problem and they sent me a solution that didn't help me one bit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 02:38 PM   #13
Wilson
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Ok, it appears to happen off and on. Usually it takes about 5 tries to start successfully, but then GTA itself might crash about 20 or 30 minutes later. Perhaps new unstable drivers are to blame?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 11:20 PM   #14
IvanDoomer
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Reputation: 758
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
Ok, it appears to happen off and on. Usually it takes about 5 tries to start successfully, but then GTA itself might crash about 20 or 30 minutes later. Perhaps new unstable drivers are to blame?
I already did roolback on my driver and problem persists
IvanDoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 11:09 PM   #15
iDarkRed
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Wow, didn't know this problem was so widespread. I have the exact same problem. "SecuROM Launcher has stopped working" shows up and the game won't start - or it WILL start, but then crash right before the Rockstar Games logos.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.