Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Polynomial, The

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2010, 12:44 PM   #1
redskinlad
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 20
Question Polynomial still not working! (Mac)

I've been anxiously awaiting to play this game, and I heard that the update was today (which I think it did). I double click the game and the icon comes up and bounces in the dock, the screen turns black, and then it just reverts back to the desktop. What should I do?

I'm running on a new MacBook Pro.

Thanks in advance!
redskinlad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 12:49 PM   #2
Dmytry
 
Dmytry's Avatar
 
The Polynomial Team
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 1162
Posts: 635
What OS X version? 10.5.8 is officially below system requirements.
Dmytry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 12:54 PM   #3
redskinlad
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmytry View Post
What OS X version? 10.5.8 is officially below system requirements.
It's that, and that would've been great to know before I purchased this. You as the developer should take some responsibility in either fixing this problem or refunding my purchase.
redskinlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 12:59 PM   #4
Dihard
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 22
The minimum requirements are listed right on the Store page...
Dihard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 01:00 PM   #5
Saijin_Naib
 
Foreign Legion: BoB forum
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 675
Posts: 3,458
You as the purchaser should take some responsibility in reading the store page which quite clearly states the system REQUIREMENTS.

Or, even better yet, try out the demo.
Saijin_Naib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 01:00 PM   #6
Dmytry
 
Dmytry's Avatar
 
The Polynomial Team
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 1162
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by redskinlad View Post
It's that, and that would've been great to know before I purchased this. You as the developer should take some responsibility in either fixing this problem or refunding my purchase.
Actually, the game page always said:
Quote:
Mac System Requirements
OS: OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.3, or later.
Processor: Intel Mac 1.5GHz or better
Memory: 512MB
Graphics: 256MB video memory, 512MB recommended.
Video: OpenGL: 2.1 , GLSL: 1.2
Hard Drive: 100MB
I simply don't have 10.5.8 box to test with. I'm releasing another update i think sometime soon today, it *might* fix this (but i cant know).
Dmytry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 01:03 PM   #7
redskinlad
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmytry View Post
Actually, the game page always said:

I simply don't have 10.5.8 box to test with. I'm releasing another update i think sometime soon today, it *might* fix this (but i cant know).
Is there any chance you could reply in this thread if you do update? I'd really appreciate it, I'm not trying to be rude I'm just frustrated.
redskinlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 01:16 PM   #8
Dmytry
 
Dmytry's Avatar
 
The Polynomial Team
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 1162
Posts: 635
Updated.

edit: also, try it twice. It tries to fix that issue by detecting a crash and falling back to safer option.

Last edited by Dmytry: 10-18-2010 at 01:20 PM.
Dmytry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 01:26 PM   #9
redskinlad
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 20
And of course Steam won't connect now XD. I'll let you know asap.

edit: Negatory=/ Looks like I'm dropping another 30 on the new update, which they don't even let you download online, it has to be shipped!=/
redskinlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 01:58 PM   #10
ImBack87
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 38
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by redskinlad View Post
And of course Steam won't connect now XD. I'll let you know asap.

edit: Negatory=/ Looks like I'm dropping another 30 on the new update, which they don't even let you download online, it has to be shipped!=/
Wait, what? You mac users have to BUY updates?
ImBack87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 02:06 PM   #11
Saijin_Naib
 
Foreign Legion: BoB forum
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 675
Posts: 3,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImBack87 View Post
Wait, what? You mac users have to BUY updates?
I believe he means update to Snow Leopard. The equivalent would be akin to going from Vista (NT 6.0) to Windows 7 (NT 6.1) or Windows 2k (NT 5.0) to XP (NT 5.1).

Last edited by Saijin_Naib: 10-18-2010 at 02:16 PM. Reason: I've been corrected
Saijin_Naib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 02:12 PM   #12
Dmytry
 
Dmytry's Avatar
 
The Polynomial Team
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 1162
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saijin_Naib View Post
I believe he means update to Snow Leopard. The equivalent would be akin to going from Vista (NT 6.0) to Windows 7 (NT 6.1) or Windows 2k (NT 5.0) to XP (NT 5.1).
Well hmm to be honest as a developer i'd disagree. It'd be equivalent to going fom windows xp to windows xp sp 1. edit: 2k to xp is close though, barely any technological difference.
Dmytry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 02:15 PM   #13
Saijin_Naib
 
Foreign Legion: BoB forum
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 675
Posts: 3,458
Oh okay, I was thinking from an End-User perspective. So at a core level, the Leopard and Snow Leopard platforms aren't that different to develop for?
Saijin_Naib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 02:18 PM   #14
redskinlad
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmytry View Post
Well hmm to be honest as a developer i'd disagree. It'd be equivalent to going fom windows xp to windows xp sp 1. edit: 2k to xp is close though, barely any technological difference.
He's right, as I read through the list, there's very minor changes and nothing system-changing from what I read. But I gave in and bought it because it's giving my others games problems (like torchlight).
redskinlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 02:27 PM   #15
Dmytry
 
Dmytry's Avatar
 
The Polynomial Team
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 1162
Posts: 635
Well, yes, there are always very bad changes, as in, new APIs for same features get introduced and old APIs stop working.

Actually, thee is no real parallel. I started developing The Polynomial on Mac with support for 10.4 , about a year and 4 months ago (10.5 was then-current, and it worked fine with 10.5). In 10.5 they deprecated the API I was using (Carbon, the C/C++ API), and things began to stop working in subtle yet highly bad ways, so i had to switch over to Cocoa API (Objective C), which is not new in any way (they had it since as long as they had Carbon). So this time naturally I did not want to repeat my mistake, and tried to use more recent APIs. As far as gaming goes, there were some positive changes in 10.5 and 10.6, most notably, fullscreen is MUCH easier to initialize now. But nonetheless. If I were to just use 10.5 features, then I'd be afraid of big scary 10.7 coming out and spoiling my release.

Last edited by Dmytry: 10-18-2010 at 02:29 PM.
Dmytry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Polynomial, The


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.