Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RailWorks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2010, 01:26 AM   #1
Viceroy1073
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Add-Ons

Ive ordered a new hardrive & graphics card ,so i will be reinstalling railworks. What will happen about the add-ons i have purchased ? will i be able to download again ?
Cheers
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 01:29 AM   #2
City Builder
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 41
Posts: 1,332
If you bought them on steam, you will just need to reinstall Steam and redownload anything that you purchase on Steam.

Other ways of purchasing addons I suppose will depend on the vendors you bought them from. I personally make physical hardcopies of all my software purchases to CD and or DVD's for reinstalling later if need be, I'd advise you to do the same if possible.
City Builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 01:32 AM   #3
Viceroy1073
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by City Builder View Post
If you bought them on steam, you will just need to reinstall Steam and redownload anything that you purchase on Steam.

Other ways of purchasing addons I suppose will depend on the vendors you bought them from. I personally make physical hardcopies of all my software purchases to CD and or DVD's for reinstalling later if need be, I'd advise you to do the same if possible.
By that was a quick reply!!
Can you make back ups from steam ? Where does it save the files to please ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 01:49 AM   #4
arizonachris
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 856
Posts: 7,522
Viceroy, what I would do is "image" the old hard drive to the new one. Acronis True Image can do that perfectly. You won't have to reinstall anything. All your files will be saved, including Windows. (I am presuming you are just upgrading to a larger hard drive, tho)

If you are going to reinstall Windows (or upgrade) put the old hard drive on a secondary IDE (or SATA) channel, that way you can just copy over the "steamapps" folder once you reinstall Steam.
arizonachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 01:56 AM   #5
lonewolfdon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 328
Posts: 3,101
https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...7418-YUBN-8129
lonewolfdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 03:07 AM   #6
Viceroy1073
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Many thanks for that!
I would still prefer to have a download file when i buy add ons?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 09:24 AM   #7
arizonachris
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 856
Posts: 7,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viceroy1073 View Post
I would still prefer to have a download file when i buy add ons?
Any add ons that you buy, and already have installed, will be in the Railworks/ steamapps folder. If you find you have to reinstall any third party "stuff" you will need key codes from those particular vendors. Sux, but that's the way it is.
arizonachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 10:01 AM   #8
Ragnokak
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 309
Posts: 2,731
Acronis True Image is a blessing from the Big Geek upstairs.
Ragnokak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 01:33 PM   #9
Viceroy1073
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Many thanks for all help!
Ive Used the steamapps backup.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RailWorks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.