Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Metro 2033

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2010, 03:26 PM   #1
zezinho1313
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
Question Metro 2033 works with XBOX360 CONTROLLER?

sobody know that?:confused

thanks for the atention
zezinho1313 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 01:11 AM   #2
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
yes it works perfectly with 360 controller. if you have it plugged in when the game starts then it will default right to it. in fact you will have to unplug it before the game starts if you want to use mouse and kb.
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 09:46 AM   #3
zezinho1313
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by trek554 View Post
yes it works perfectly with 360 controller. if you have it plugged in when the game starts then it will default right to it. in fact you will have to unplug it before the game starts if you want to use mouse and kb.


Thanks man,now all I have to do is wait until it appears in the THQ week
zezinho1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 10:05 AM   #4
jazyje
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 28
Better to use controller or keyboard?
jazyje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 10:15 AM   #5
T@F
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Reputation: 1928
Posts: 10,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by zezinho1313 View Post
Thanks man,now all I have to do is wait until it appears in the THQ week
You're wish has come true.
T@F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 10:17 AM   #6
TimM
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 981
Posts: 1,819
Why'd you ruin the epxerience with a controller?
TimM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 10:25 AM   #7
Shinuz
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 18
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by trek554 View Post
yes it works perfectly with 360 controller.
Cool!!!
instant buy from me at that price (13.60$)!!
Shinuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 10:48 AM   #8
Paul_cz
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 41
Posts: 562
Controller is awesome for many games, but first person ones..not for me. I get much more immersed in the game when I can use mouse to look around instead of stick. This game is much better with mouse IMO.
Paul_cz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 01:37 PM   #9
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazyje View Post
Better to use controller or keyboard?
in general a fps is better on keyboard/mouse than controller. try both for yourself though as nobody can tell you which one you will prefer. all I can say is that either setup works perfectly from a technical standpoint. only issue is that you have to make sure the controller is unplugged before starting the game if you want to use keyboard/mouse.
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 02:58 PM   #10
sweetbeard
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 54
Posts: 754
THX bought the game based on this thread!!!!!!!

woot.
sweetbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 05:07 PM   #11
Shinuz
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 18
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_cz View Post
Controller is awesome for many games, but first person ones..not for me. I get much more immersed in the game when I can use mouse to look around instead of stick. This game is much better with mouse IMO.
Yeah i completely agree with you, playing fps games with a m&k combo is a lot better than with a gamepad but since i upgraded my pc monitor to a 52" 1080p hdtv, playing with the keyboard and mouse on the couch is not always feasible.

So i really like it when a game gives me the choice to choose how i want to play.
Shinuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 05:20 PM   #12
Memphix
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 132
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinuz View Post
So i really like it when a game gives me the choice to choose how i want to play.

^^ this

I'm also inclined to kb/m for FPS games. I'd never dream of playing L4D on a pad, although sometimes i do prefer to kickback and wander around Fallout 3 with a pad.
Metro actually lets me switch between the 2 on the fly, which is pure aces.
Memphix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 05:32 PM   #13
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by Memphix View Post
^^ this

I'm also inclined to kb/m for FPS games. I'd never dream of playing L4D on a pad, although sometimes i do prefer to kickback and wander around Fallout 3 with a pad.
Metro actually lets me switch between the 2 on the fly, which is pure aces.
um unless something has change Metro does NOT let you switch back in forth on the fly. if the controller is plugged in when you start the game then that is all you can use.
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:09 PM   #14
zezinho1313
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
: Most people say it is better with keyboard, but is like Shinuz said, better fo hdtv and beter for everybody to have a choise, I just like the controller.
zezinho1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 10:04 PM   #15
R13-The2ndType
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 28
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by trek554 View Post
yes it works perfectly with 360 controller. if you have it plugged in when the game starts then it will default right to it. in fact you will have to unplug it before the game starts if you want to use mouse and kb.
This is the #1 issue I have with the game. Why must I unplug a device in order to get the controls to function properly?

I have a X-Box controller plugged in and I cannot navigate the menus with any keyboard commands when they come up with "press > to Start" or "Press A to continue"...

There is no keyboard command equivalent to bypass these menus and I am forced to stop, find the damn controller, and hit the right button to close the screen, just to continue in the game, when I did not need, wish, want, or ask for the menus to open to start with.

I hate console games that assume you are too stupid to know how to breathe without showing you a help menu…

This is poor programming if I ever saw it. PC conversion fail. Did the company even play the port to see if it worked right for the players?

Played the game for 5 minutes and already debating on uninstalling it.
Poor menu management seriously ruins this game.
R13-The2ndType is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Metro 2033


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.