Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > General Steam Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2010, 06:38 PM   #1
Dodpower
 
 
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Steam game sales

So I found a site, steamgamesales.com. I thought it was a really good site, it shows all the discounts and price adjustments right on the minute. However, if you want to take part in their give aways which is free games, you have to give your steam id and password and email address. Is this site a scam, has anyone else used it?
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:43 PM   #2
M249LMG
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 37
Posts: 420
lol?

The site asks for your steam ID, your Steam password and your email address.

Do you really have to ask?
M249LMG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:48 PM   #3
Dodpower
 
 
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
ya i think ill pass on this on, just curious is all
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:49 PM   #4
sgs
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 76
Posts: 35
Well, I run both SteamGameSales, and TF2store, both which operate on Steam OpenID.

SteamGameSales is featured in the stickied thread at the top of this forum.
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...d.php?t=518670

TF2store was verified by a moderator here.
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...php?p=17919643

Both sites never see your username or password. When you login with Steam OpenID, Steam simply responds to the sites with the Steam ID that just logged in. Therefore, both are entirely secure, and your information never leaves the official Steam site. For example, go login to Steam right now. Then visit either site and click the 'Sign in through Steam' button. You'll never have to enter any information.
sgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:50 PM   #5
M249LMG
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 37
Posts: 420
Never type your password into anything, other then the Steam Client and Steampowered.com

If you are unsure, you can whois the domain and find out if the domain is owned by Valve or not.
M249LMG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:50 PM   #6
Dodpower
 
 
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
however, its not the site that asks for it, when you click it it brings you to a steam page that says Why sign in through Steam?
By signing in through Steam, www.steamgamesales.com will be able to identify you within the Steam Community and retrieve your public gameplay information (such as stats and achievements).

Steam will not reveal your username or password to this site, rather a unique numeric identifier will be shared. You should never enter your Steam login credentials into a third party website!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:52 PM   #7
ernest.
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 414
Posts: 263
That is the most professional Steam scam site I've seen yet!

EDIT: It's not a scam! It sure looks like it due to the poor HTML code and misaligned columns!

Last edited by ernest.: 10-27-2010 at 06:58 PM.
ernest. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:53 PM   #8
iZach
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 249
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgs View Post
Well, I run both SteamGameSales, and TF2store, both which operate on Steam OpenID.

SteamGameSales is featured in the stickied thread at the top of this forum.
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...d.php?t=518670

TF2store was verified by a moderator here.
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...php?p=17919643

Both sites never see your username or password. When you login with Steam OpenID, Steam simply responds to the sites with the Steam ID that just logged in. Therefore, both are entirely secure, and your information never leaves the official Steam site. For example, go login to Steam right now. Then visit either site and click the 'Sign in through Steam' button. You'll never have to enter any information.
This. I went to SteamGameSales and I didn't have to enter any information. This is because beforehand I logged in through Steam then I did the sing in through Steam thing. I never had to enter in any information. I didn't want to, as I didn't feel safe doing that.
iZach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:55 PM   #9
iZach
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 249
Posts: 598
I like how people are calling SteamGameSales a scam, without any proof whatsoever. It uses Steam OpenID... so yes it uses Steam stuff, but you don't log in through their website.
iZach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:56 PM   #10
sgs
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 76
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by M249LMG View Post
lol?

The site asks for your steam ID, your Steam password and your email address.

Do you really have to ask?
Please don't jump to conclusions, you don't understand the frustration when you work on developing a site on and off for a year, only to have people assume it's a scam based on false information.

Take a minute to check out the numerous threads on these forums regarding this site, and TF2store.
sgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:58 PM   #11
Dodpower
 
 
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
K this puts my mind to ease, thanks guys for your posts I admit I did enter my info at steam game sales but it looks like steam covers your informaion.
Sorry for the trouble and thanks again for the heads up. I dont think i gavce my info to that site but to the sign in with steam so it should be ok
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 07:00 PM   #12
Dodpower
 
 
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Sorry sgs, i didnt mean to call you a scam, I just wasn't sure what was going on, i thin your site rocks
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 07:19 PM   #13
TJF588
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 352
Posts: 2,008
After so many people falling for (or reading others falling for) legitimate scams, the Steam API is still having trouble being recognized for what it is. Heck, even garrysmod.org had these sorts of problems.*

*That is, working past the knee-jerk "ITSA SCAM" stigma.

EDIT[2]: Though I wonder how many scam sites have gone to the lengths of faking the Steam OpenID button and page. Remember, only enter your information on the "Log In Through Steam" page's URL is "steamcommunity.com".

Last edited by TJF588: 10-27-2010 at 07:24 PM.
TJF588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 07:20 PM   #14
sgs
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 76
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodpower View Post
Sorry sgs, i didnt mean to call you a scam, I just wasn't sure what was going on, i thin your site rocks
No worries, it happens every time the site comes up. It looks like a moderator already assumed the same and deleted my thread about the upcoming game giveaways. It's really unfortunate, but I can't blame people for being skeptical. Anyway though, I'm glad you like the site, and hopefully I'll see you around in the discussions.
sgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 07:59 PM   #15
WasteLandBum
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 85
so is it legit?
WasteLandBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > General Steam Discussion


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.