Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > BioShock 1 & 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2010, 08:34 PM   #1
Dartht33bagger
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Bioshock 1 crashes at startup - windows 7 x64

So I just bought Bioshock 1 off of steam for the halloween sale. I download the game, press play, it installs some C++ and directx stuff, then the bioshock logo appears in the middle of the screen. Then all of a sudden it crashes, saying there was a problem. I've tried to disable my sound, run in compatibility mode, and tried to find sound mixers (which my sound card does not have).

My OS is windows 7 64-bit, and every other game runs fine on steam. What is wrong with Bioshock?

My PC specs:

E8400 core 2 duo @ 3.0ghz
4gb DDR2 800
1gb EVGA GTS 250 with newest drivers as of right now
1 TB hard drive with 698 gb of free space.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 08:52 PM   #2
Fox the Sly
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
The same thing happened to me. Try restarting Steam. I did and then it started updating to 1.1.
Fox the Sly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 09:11 PM   #3
Dartht33bagger
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Nothing happened, just did the same crash.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:27 PM   #4
Fox the Sly
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
Hm, do you have any Bioshock saves or settings already? I did and when I moved them it seems to work better. If not that, I don't know what to say. =/
Fox the Sly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:55 PM   #5
Dartht33bagger
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
No I haven't even gotten the game to start up yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 12:29 PM   #6
Dartht33bagger
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Just tried restarting my computer and it still crashes.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 12:37 PM   #7
A dude
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
I'm having problems with Bioshock too. I downloaded it last night and every time I try to run it I get "bioshock.exe has stopped working," coupled with my internet security telling me it's a PDM invader file, even though I've already put Steam into the allowed list. I've tried running it without my security on, but the .exe is still not working apparently. Anyone know what I could do?
A dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 12:47 PM   #8
Dartht33bagger
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by A dude View Post
I'm having problems with Bioshock too. I downloaded it last night and every time I try to run it I get "bioshock.exe has stopped working," coupled with my internet security telling me it's a PDM invader file, even though I've already put Steam into the allowed list. I've tried running it without my security on, but the .exe is still not working apparently. Anyone know what I could do?
Two games in a week that have been worthless. I bought the fallout collection last friday and it doesn't work well with windows 7, and now bioshock won't even run. I would think steam would have the company's update their games before they put it on their service...
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 01:05 PM   #9
bigmike35
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
yes i am having the same problem as you it just crashes...

windows 7 64bit
i7 870
8 gigs ddr3
hd4890
1tb
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 01:22 PM   #10
Albatr0ss
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 257
Posts: 1,497
same exact problem here. running windows 7 64 bit.
Albatr0ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 01:27 PM   #11
basdej
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
same problem overhere...
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 01:51 PM   #12
Digital Sunrise
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 273
Posts: 284
I sent in a support ticket to Steam regarding the exact same thing.
Digital Sunrise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 02:51 PM   #13
Dartht33bagger
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
So it sounds like I'm screwed out for $5 for now. Sweet
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 04:46 PM   #14
Digital Sunrise
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 273
Posts: 284
I tried everything in the sticky thread. I don't want to play my game with no sound.
Digital Sunrise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 06:14 PM   #15
fatgiraffe
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 4
Posts: 87
Exactly same problem, using -nosound fixes it but i really don't want to play the game without sound...
fatgiraffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > BioShock 1 & 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.