Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2010, 01:17 PM   #1
Losse
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 33
Posts: 530
Whats the equivalent AMD to i3 i5 i7?

How 'good' a processor is, is very confusing to me.

From what i gather the best affordable intel chips are i3, i5, and i7. Higher number in this case = better.

So, can anyone explain what AMD chips would match these?

i3 = ?AMD

etc?

Thanks
Losse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 01:26 PM   #2
rotNdude
 
rotNdude's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 10201
Posts: 46,426
Look for the CPU results that review sites have published:

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/CPU/2

http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/2....0.5,1403.html
rotNdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 01:26 PM   #3
SlothSquadron
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 128
Posts: 438
Trust me, Intel is the way to go. AMD always seems to lack in Cache. I love the i5's and the i7's. Also, AMD lacks turbo charge that i5 adn i7 have.
SlothSquadron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 01:34 PM   #4
WON
 
Banned
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 77
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlothSquadron View Post
Trust me, Intel is the way to go. AMD always seems to lack in Cache. I love the i5's and the i7's. Also, AMD lacks turbo charge that i5 adn i7 have.
They are always insanely more expensive with a marginal gain in performance.
WON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 01:34 PM   #5
Undead
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 349
Posts: 3,167
The best affordable processors would be AMD no doubt.
You can get a AMD Phenom II X4 955/965 for $150/$165 which is a great value.
Or you can jump up to the Hexacores and get a AMD Phenom II X6 1055T/1090T for $180/$230.
(NewEgg Prices)

Now for those who are Intel fanatics, I wouldn't suggest anything under the i7 930 ($200 form MicroCenter) since that seems to be the norm now. Or drop down to the i5 series and get a 760 for $170(MicroCenter Price) that can overclock quite well.

It really depends on what you plan on using the computer for and what you're willing to do, like if you plan on overclock or what.
Undead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 01:42 PM   #6
Baron_Fel
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Reputation: 1931
Posts: 8,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlothSquadron View Post
Trust me, Intel is the way to go. AMD always seems to lack in Cache. I love the i5's and the i7's. Also, AMD lacks turbo charge that i5 adn i7 have.
AMD...lacking in cache (lolwut?)...is not the reason they are inferior.

Intel's current architecture is superior in performance and power consumption. Thats why AMD isnt as good. Which certainly doesnt mean Intel is always the best choice, because price matters.

And the Phenom II X6s do indeed have turbo.
Baron_Fel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 02:41 PM   #7
madpistol
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 923
Posts: 4,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlothSquadron View Post
Trust me, Intel is the way to go.
If you want outright performance, you're right. If you want about 80% of the performance for 1/2 the price, AMD's Phenom II is the winner. Pick your poison, but neither is a bad decision.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlothSquadron View Post
AMD always seems to lack in Cache.
i7 930 quad core:

L1: 32kb per core
L2: 256kb per core
L3: 8MB (shared)



All Phenom II's:

L1: 64kb + 64kb per core
L2: 512kb per core
L3: 6MB (shared)


I'd call that even. The i7's don't win simply because "AMD lacks in Cache" as you put it. The i7's are faster because of their superior architecture, not their cache size.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SlothSquadron View Post
I love the i5's and the i7's.
Not helping yourself with this statement.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SlothSquadron View Post
Also, AMD lacks turbo charge that i5 adn i7 have.
False. AMD has an implementation called "Turbo Core" on their Thuban based CPUs (Phenom II X6)




Honestly, why did you post this?

Last edited by madpistol: 11-06-2010 at 02:59 PM.
madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 02:48 PM   #8
SlothSquadron
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 128
Posts: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpistol View Post
If you want outright performance, you're right. If you want about 80% of the performance for 1/2 the price, AMD's Phenom II is the winner. Pick your poison, but neither is a bad decision.



i7 930 quad core:

L1: 32kb per core
L2: 256kb per core
L3: 8MB (shared)



All Phenom II's:

L1: 64kb + 64kb per core
L2: 512kb per core
L3: 6MB (shared)


I'd call that even. The i7's don't win simply because "AMD lacks in Cache" as you put it. The i7's are faster because of their superior architecture, not their cache size.




Not helping yourself with this statement.




False. AMD has an implementation called "Turbo Core" on their Thuban based CPUs (Phenom II X6)




Honestly, why did you post this?
Because I lack the tech knowledge of most people on this thread. I shall now beat myself with a wooden board.
SlothSquadron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 03:08 PM   #9
madpistol
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 923
Posts: 4,125
To the OP.

As it stands right now, AMD doesn't have a chip/architecture that can compete with the i3/i5/i7 architecture. Those chips made by intel are superior in every way to the Phenom II's (except price and value).

That being said, AMD and Intel are both about to release their next gen architecture, so the game may change shortly.
madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 03:15 PM   #10
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2864
Posts: 13,473
AMD comparer The AMD PII CPU's to the Older Socket 775 Intel architecture..

http://www.amd.com/us/products/deskt...omparison.aspx

The I5's are able to compete with the PIIx4 and The faster of the I7 even manage to beat the PIIx6, but in gaming there is no real benefit.
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 03:28 PM   #11
Hobo Joe
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Reputation: 3388
Posts: 6,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlothSquadron View Post
Trust me, Intel is the way to go. AMD always seems to lack in Cache. I love the i5's and the i7's. Also, AMD lacks turbo charge that i5 adn i7 have.
That's all untrue.

There's also the fact that AMD has the price/performance ratio advantage by a huge margin. On the six cores for example, AMD's is $300 while Intel's is $950, benchmarks show between a 10% and 20% performance difference.


I mean there's basically no argument there.
Hobo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:19 PM   #12
Losse
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 33
Posts: 530
So this is as solid processor for the price? AMD Phenom II X4 955 or 965
Losse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:21 PM   #13
Baron_Fel
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Reputation: 1931
Posts: 8,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Losse View Post
So this is as solid processor for the price? AMD Phenom II X4 955 or 965
they arent bad, but the 1055T is better. You pay like $20 more and get 2 more cores. Noticably slower clockspeed, but nothing some basic overclocking cant fix.
Baron_Fel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:43 PM   #14
madpistol
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 923
Posts: 4,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron_Fel View Post
they arent bad, but the 1055T is better. You pay like $20 more and get 2 more cores. Noticably slower clockspeed, but nothing some basic overclocking cant fix.
Yep. The Thuban core Phenom II X6 processors overclock really well. a 400-600mhz bump in clock speed is nothing for those things. Just make sure you have some ram that can handle the overclock, preferably 1600mhz DDR3. Also, it would be wise to get an aftermarket HSF for your CPU.
madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:59 PM   #15
DOE_JOHN88
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 132
Posts: 861
The Phenom II X4's are meant to compete with Core 2 Quads, and Core 2 Duo's. The only processor AMD has that can *really* compete with the i5 and i7 are the Phenom II X6's.
DOE_JOHN88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.