Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Fallout series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2010, 03:16 PM   #1
Going Viral
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Fallout 1 Windows 7 High Res + Color Fix

So, I dunno if everybody already has done this, but after gathering several fixes I've managed to get the Steam version of Fallout 1 running with the High Resolution patch and no color corruption.

Before I had to choose between the two, because I couldn't get sfall to run properly with the res patch, so it was either have a high res color nightmare or a low res eyesore. Not to mention the high res patch is not compatible with the unmodified steam version of the game.

This is a compilation of multiple fixes involving some different games so thanks to all that originally found different steps involved.

What I did to resolve the issue:

1. Go to your Fallout directory (C:/Program Files/Steam/SteamApps/common/Fallout) and find the "falloutw.exe".

2. Right click on it and rename it to something else, it really doesn't matter what.

3. Download this ->http://teamx.ru/system/files/uploads....2.1-EN-RC.rar and extract it to your fallout directory. This adds a new .exe that is compatible with the high resolution patch.

4. Download the high resolution patch here ->http://www.nma-fallout.com/forum/dlo...d&file_id=1273. Extract it to your fallout directory, then run the "f1_res_patcher.exe" to install the high resolution patch.

5. Once that is done, open notepad and paste the following in there:

taskkill /F /IM Explorer.exe
falloutw.exe
Start explorer.exe

Once that is done, save it as "falloutw.bat" and save type "all files" and put it in the fallout directory with the falloutw.exe. This is a batch file that will turn off the explorer every time you start the game and turn it back on once you end it, which should fix the color isssues.

6. Run the batch file, set your desired resolution in the game options, and enjoy!
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 05:33 PM   #2
iFallout
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Possible to combine high res with windowed mode together? (and hopefully a drag-able window).
Also any possible ways to make the info/dialog box at the bottom left bigger? that spot is like smaller than my text message screen on my phone, its rediculous.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Going Viral View Post
So, I dunno if everybody already has done this, but after gathering several fixes I've managed to get the Steam version of Fallout 1 running with the High Resolution patch and no color corruption.

Before I had to choose between the two, because I couldn't get sfall to run properly with the res patch, so it was either have a high res color nightmare or a low res eyesore. Not to mention the high res patch is not compatible with the unmodified steam version of the game.

This is a compilation of multiple fixes involving some different games so thanks to all that originally found different steps involved.

What I did to resolve the issue:

1. Go to your Fallout directory (C:/Program Files/Steam/SteamApps/common/Fallout) and find the "falloutw.exe".

2. Right click on it and rename it to something else, it really doesn't matter what.

3. Download this ->http://teamx.ru/system/files/uploads....2.1-EN-RC.rar and extract it to your fallout directory. This adds a new .exe that is compatible with the high resolution patch.

4. Download the high resolution patch here ->http://www.nma-fallout.com/forum/dlo...d&file_id=1273. Extract it to your fallout directory, then run the "f1_res_patcher.exe" to install the high resolution patch.

5. Once that is done, open notepad and paste the following in there:

taskkill /F /IM Explorer.exe
falloutw.exe
Start explorer.exe

Once that is done, save it as "falloutw.bat" and save type "all files" and put it in the fallout directory with the falloutw.exe. This is a batch file that will turn off the explorer every time you start the game and turn it back on once you end it, which should fix the color isssues.

6. Run the batch file, set your desired resolution in the game options, and enjoy!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 11:39 PM   #3
mike_01
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 45
Can you post the same fix for fallout 2?
mike_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 11:34 AM   #4
Dr. Bloodmoney
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 90
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_01 View Post
Can you post the same fix for fallout 2?
Just use Sfall for fallout 2, it's how I fix'd my version
Dr. Bloodmoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 11:30 PM   #5
Prophecy420
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
Thank you so much!

I have been trying to fix this problem for months, and tried every solution I came across. But this is the only one that worked. So Thanks again!
Prophecy420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 09:06 AM   #6
Prayer350z
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
EDIT: nevermind got it to work.

Last edited by Prayer350z: 04-01-2011 at 09:11 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 03:56 AM   #7
Raxel
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Can't seem to get it to work...

After following these instructions, patching everything twice there really isn't a change. Still dodgy colours.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 07:05 AM   #8
kara_bulut
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 792
Posts: 7,372
Yeah any high resolution patch pretty much fixes this colour issue.

Just search NMA for them if OP's fix is not working.
kara_bulut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 10:55 AM   #9
altair6752
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Raxel, did you run the batch file or the application? It only deploys if you run the .bat file you made.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 11:05 AM   #10
Raxel
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Do I have to run the .bat myself? That just restarts my explorer (The task bar dissapears for a few seconds)

EDIT: Haha, thanks. Thats all i had to do. I didn't think the .bat would launch the application. Does it register in steam (Can I launch in steam?) And register as time played/screenshots?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 02:11 AM   #11
cmortimer362
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
hey

I done all of this exactly as you said, it definetly fixes the colour issues I had but for some reason it won't let me pick up or equip any items now. I was wondering if anyone else was having this problem or if there is a known fix.

-Also, I just tried loading for the second time, and now when it loads there is just a black screen, no menus or anything so I can't play.

Last edited by cmortimer362: 06-08-2011 at 02:14 AM.
cmortimer362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 04:56 AM   #12
disulfiram
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 31
Thanks for this thread. This works fine with White Label physical copy of the game. I guess it would work with others as well.
disulfiram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 07:19 PM   #13
Vert1g0
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Going Viral View Post
So, I dunno if everybody already has done this, but after gathering several fixes I've managed to get the Steam version of Fallout 1 running with the High Resolution patch and no color corruption.

Before I had to choose between the two, because I couldn't get sfall to run properly with the res patch, so it was either have a high res color nightmare or a low res eyesore. Not to mention the high res patch is not compatible with the unmodified steam version of the game.

This is a compilation of multiple fixes involving some different games so thanks to all that originally found different steps involved.

What I did to resolve the issue:

1. Go to your Fallout directory (C:/Program Files/Steam/SteamApps/common/Fallout) and find the "falloutw.exe".

2. Right click on it and rename it to something else, it really doesn't matter what.

3. Download this ->http://teamx.ru/system/files/uploads....2.1-EN-RC.rar and extract it to your fallout directory. This adds a new .exe that is compatible with the high resolution patch.

4. Download the high resolution patch here ->http://www.nma-fallout.com/forum/dlo...d&file_id=1273. Extract it to your fallout directory, then run the "f1_res_patcher.exe" to install the high resolution patch.

5. Once that is done, open notepad and paste the following in there:

taskkill /F /IM Explorer.exe
falloutw.exe
Start explorer.exe

Once that is done, save it as "falloutw.bat" and save type "all files" and put it in the fallout directory with the falloutw.exe. This is a batch file that will turn off the explorer every time you start the game and turn it back on once you end it, which should fix the color isssues.

6. Run the batch file, set your desired resolution in the game options, and enjoy!
Just downloaded the complete trilogy from Interplay and had some color issues with fallout 1 and I can CONFIRM that this works for me! I'm running Windows 7 x64. Wonder if there is a fix for Fallout 2 and Tactics as well? THANK YOU THOUGH!
Vert1g0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:28 AM   #14
Slinden
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 48
Posts: 836
Worked for me, thanks!
Slinden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:46 AM   #15
constantcompile
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 12
Any chance of getting this thread stickied? The fix worked for me and I have the feeling others will need it as well.
constantcompile is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Fallout series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.