Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Half-Life 2 / Source Third-Party Mods

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 04:49 PM   #1
hessianfifer
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 167
Unhappy Engine Error on Dino D-day

tried to start up the Half-life 2 mod, Dino Day, and got an Engine Error message right after trying to boot it that says
SetupArrayProps_R: array prop '(null)' is at index zero
Does anyone have an idea of how to fix this to make it playable?
hessianfifer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 05:12 PM   #2
gorpie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 1474
Posts: 10,731
I used to get the same problem (I haven't tried it since I got my new computer).

The fix posted at moddb says to edit the gameinfo.txt file for the mod. (Find it in Steam\SteamApps\SourceMods\Dino D-Day).

Change the SteamAppID from 420 to 218, then restart Steam.


It didn't work for me last January, but it works for other people.

Other people at the moddb forum say it doesn't like to run below DirectX 9.0.
gorpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 09:08 AM   #3
IceIYIaN
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Reputation: 90
Posts: 1,421
Might require content from ep2/ep1. Make sure you've got Source SDK Base 2007, Half-Life 2 ep1/ep2 downloaded and play them once.

GameInfo.txt should look something like this to make sure you got all the mounted content:

Code:
	FileSystem
	{
		SteamAppId		218	// SDK Base: 2007 // OB
		ToolsAppId		211

		AdditionalContentId	420	// HL2ep2

		SearchPaths
		{
			Game	|GameInfo_Path|.
			Game	NAME_OF_THE_MOD_FOLDER

			Game	SourceTest

			Game	ep2
			Game	Episodic

			Game	HL2mp
			Game	HL2
			Game	LostCoast
IceIYIaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 12:34 PM   #4
gorpie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 1474
Posts: 10,731
IceIYIaN is correct that you need the Source SDK 2007 downloaded. You also need to have run HL2 and the episodes.

But someone made a post at moddb about setting the AppID to 218 to have the mod run if you don't have Episode 2.


Don't look at the gameinfo.txt file above if it confuses you. Ian included additional info that you don't need.


Here is the original gameinfo.txt file from the mod. All you need to do is change the SteamAppId from 420 to 218.
Code:
	FileSystem
	{
		SteamAppId	420
		ToolsAppId	211
		

	SearchPaths
	{
		Game		|gameinfo_path|.
		Game		sourcetest
		Game		hl2

There is more text in the actual gameinfo.txt file. Just ignore it.
gorpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:21 AM   #5
IceIYIaN
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Reputation: 90
Posts: 1,421
What I did is correct. You only changed to 218, which I did, but you didn't include the mounted content of AdditionalContentId 420 and the included SearchPaths
IceIYIaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 12:27 PM   #6
gorpie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 1474
Posts: 10,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceIYIaN View Post
What I did is correct. You only changed to 218, which I did, but you didn't include the mounted content of AdditionalContentId 420 and the included SearchPaths
What you did is fine, but it's not needed. I changed the SteamAppID and added AdditionalContentId and changed my SearchPaths and it still wouldn't run.

The person who tested it for me (since I couldn't) only changed the SteamAppID and it worked fine for him. So, the minimum fix needed to get the mod to run is changing only the SteamAppID.

The SearchPaths are also a little overwhelming, especially for someone who may not be familiar or very comfortable with editing gameinfo.txt.
gorpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:53 PM   #7
IceIYIaN
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Reputation: 90
Posts: 1,421
If adding AdditionalContentId didn't work for you, you probably ordered SearchPaths wrong. The higher up the SearchPath, the first it'll load. This is important to get Client/Server.dll first and some content.

If the mod users used 420 as their base mod, there had to be a reason and more than likely it was content such as models or something. Then again they could've just wanted the Client/Server.dll.
IceIYIaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 04:43 PM   #8
gorpie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 1474
Posts: 10,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceIYIaN View Post
If adding AdditionalContentId didn't work for you, you probably ordered SearchPaths wrong. The higher up the SearchPath, the first it'll load. This is important to get Client/Server.dll first and some content.

If the mod users used 420 as their base mod, there had to be a reason and more than likely it was content such as models or something. Then again they could've just wanted the Client/Server.dll.
Ian, thank you, but I have tested most of the mods in the Mod Fix thread.

It's likely that the reason I couldn't run this mod is my old graphics card.
gorpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 02:31 PM   #9
IceIYIaN
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Reputation: 90
Posts: 1,421
Looks like this mod is getting a Steam release:
http://www.moddb.com/mods/dino-d-day...ike-tv-tonight
IceIYIaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:12 PM   #10
pizzahut
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Reputation: 1141
Posts: 4,702
I think only their multi-player retail game will be on Steam, not the single player mod.
pizzahut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 07:52 PM   #11
tschumann
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 148
Posts: 2,634
I thought their plan was to release the single player episodically on Steam, but they then decided to go with the multiplayer.
tschumann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 08:17 PM   #12
IceIYIaN
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Reputation: 90
Posts: 1,421
I know nothing of the mod or game. They could release the single(or multi, whatever it is) over Steam free, what they've made. Pay for multi-player. Then pay for "dlc" single player.

Thinking outside the box I'd aim for advertizements and any other ways of making money. That would give them a chance to gain money on the free single player and gain a larger userbase(Free on Steam).
IceIYIaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 04:54 PM   #13
companionXcube
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Hey guys, the 218 fix is generally the problem for the single player mod/prototype, but I believe this engine error popped up on multiple mods awhile back, so there might be more to it. The actual retail version is multiplayer, and will be released March 2011.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 05:53 PM   #14
zarathustra2k1
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 28
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorpie View Post
The fix posted at moddb says to edit the gameinfo.txt file for the mod. (Find it in Steam\SteamApps\SourceMods\Dino D-Day).

Change the SteamAppID from 420 to 218, then restart Steam.
Perfect! Works for me - have some +rep.
zarathustra2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Half-Life 2 / Source Third-Party Mods


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.