Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2010, 07:12 AM   #1
DragonStick
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 55
GTA IV: EFLC GTA IV SecuRom Lancher Has stop working

some time i click Play GTA IV: EFLC

i got this error

SecuRom Lancher Has stop working

some time it doesn't happen

-----------------------------------

How to fix
SecuROM Launcher Has Stopped Working
Cause: You are running the D3DOverrider application that comes with RivaTuner.
Solution: Disable/Uninstall the D3DOverrider application.

what is D3DOverrider application?

what is RivaTuner

how to disable 3DOverrider application?

if i uninstall 3DOverrider application some program , game will not work?
DragonStick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 08:11 AM   #2
lowebowski
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 25
THis is just one of the copy protection schemes Rockstar has chosen to use, and the only way around this error is to shutdown securom, shut down steam, restart, and try to relaunch the program. On my machine it usually took about five runs before i could launch the game, but then many times it would then crash on the Games For Windows copy protection log in.

Sadly, this game was just ready for release with all the bugs.
lowebowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 07:59 PM   #3
wolf2009td
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
same thing here, worst steam purchase ever.

EDIT: Uninstalling IE9 beta fixed it.

Last edited by wolf2009td: 12-01-2010 at 09:36 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 01:02 AM   #4
DragonStick
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 55
If i uninstall IE9 Beta

problem solve?

Last edited by DragonStick: 12-03-2010 at 11:30 PM.
DragonStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 07:10 AM   #5
DoubleFloat
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 3
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf2009td View Post
same thing here, worst steam purchase ever.

EDIT: Uninstalling IE9 beta fixed it.
I second that. Uninstalling IE9 beta and updating to the latest version of Adobe Flash seems to work for me.
DoubleFloat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 10:17 AM   #6
i_2_i
 
Banned
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 325
Posts: 2,047
wow that is sad... what happens when microsoft releases ie 9 and everyone has it... will securerom be updated or is gta addon dead
i_2_i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 03:05 PM   #7
DoubleFloat
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 3
Posts: 140
I think that this is because IE9 has beta status and there are problems with plugins like Flash. Why GTA4 relies on this I don't know, but it seems to be the problem's source. Hopefully the plugin problems will be solved until release of IE9.
DoubleFloat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 10:56 PM   #8
DannyL2D
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I don't have IE9 and I get this error . Windows 7
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:28 PM   #9
DragonStick
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 55
wow Uninstall IE9 Beta problem solve!
DragonStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 07:53 PM   #10
runbmp
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 79
Holly ... IE9 uninstall solved the issue for me too... This SecuROM is absolute garbage.

I uninstalled GTA and installed a "back up" and removed Securom manually. WoW... i'm never touching anything with the word SecuROM ever again!
runbmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 02:03 PM   #11
Ju5t1c3
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 6
Posts: 66
Ridiculous....+1 for uninstalling IE9 beta fixing the FailuROM errors.

I thought it was the real cars mod. Low and behold user created mod runs fine but M$ code breaks a GFWL game....typical M$...
Ju5t1c3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 04:02 PM   #12
DESIDEvivix
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 153
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyL2D View Post
I don't have IE9 and I get this error . Windows 7
make sure you have the latest version of Windows Live Essentials installed:

http://explore.live.com/windows-live...tials?os=other
DESIDEvivix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Grand Theft Auto series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.