Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Killing Floor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2010, 05:19 PM   #1
Euphytose
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 432
Posts: 4,675
" ran out of virtual memory "

Hi,

So basically every X map change, my game will crash with this message.

First of all the game only detects 4 gb while I have 6 gb ( yes I use a 64 bits version of Windows 7 ) and it tells me to " free space from my hard drive " ( I have 322 gb free ).

So I guess this problem comes from the game, I always had this bug but it used to happen less than now.

Anyone has the same problem?

Last edited by Euphytose: 12-17-2010 at 07:23 PM.
Euphytose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 08:54 PM   #2
Elaboration
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 56
Just got the same problem around an hour ago, while the 7th round was beginning on a map I was playing. I had to rebuy everything

Game only detected 4gb RAM out of my 8, not an issue as it happens in everything I play. It did say "Ran out of virtual memory. To prevent this condition, you must free up more space on your primary hard disk." Sounds like a memory leak to me?

I have the full text of the error from the error prompt, if a dev wants a copy of it.
Elaboration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 04:16 AM   #3
Euphytose
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 432
Posts: 4,675
Yeah some people with old computers, like I have before, report that the game crashes even more.

I used to have an incredible " quit time " too, it would take like 5 minutes to quit the game, and I'm not exagerating.

I also have ( with my new computer ) some runtime errors when the map changes too. It's really random, but it does seem like a memory leak indeed.
Euphytose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 03:33 PM   #4
RamblinBob
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 51
Posts: 1,096
Same thing is happening to me.

Updated and then tried to play with my friend.

We played about 8 minutes then it crashed with out of virtual memory error.

Now I can't even host. I try to load the map and it crashes to desktop every time.

I hosted games just fine before this update with no problems. We would play for hours and not have a single crash.

I have not changed my computer or INI files at all since the christmas update and I can no longer play.

Any ideas?
RamblinBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 03:54 PM   #5
Yoshiro
 
Yoshiro's Avatar
 
Tripwire Interactive
Join Date: Oct 2004
Reputation: 1584
Posts: 5,689
We are tracking this issue, but are having trouble reproducing it here at the office. Can you post anything about your playstyle that might lead us to the issue?
Yoshiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 04:20 PM   #6
gtamike123
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Reputation: 57
Posts: 363
Post your pc specs to
gtamike123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 04:57 PM   #7
Pattoe
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 50
Posts: 1,346
Yoshiro! How I've missed you!

Anyways, I been getting this problem, its not happening as often but it still happening after a complete reinstall of KF. just deleting the .ini and verifying cache did nothing.

Problem ocurring on santas map, dont think it's happening on other maps.

Error is the same as others have been getting.

System info below:

Processor Information:
Vendor: AuthenticAMD
Speed: 3200 Mhz
4 logical processors
4 physical processors

Operating System Version:
Windows Vista (64 bit)


Video Card:
Driver: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460


Memory:
RAM: 4094 Mb
Pattoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 10:24 PM   #8
Ms Giggles
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 29
Yes I too am getting the virtual memory error and crashing out, and only since the latest update, and yes I have plenty of hard drive space. It started on the new xmas map, but has spread to other maps too. Usually at a map change, or in the shop (mostly when the wave starts).

I run an older computer:
AMD Dual Core 3.0 Ghz
Nvidia 9800GT
Windows Vista 32 bit
2 Gb physical memory
just over 4gb virtual memory (and at moment with steam, firefox, and various background av etc there is 2.9 gb free)

Would be excellent if you could figure out what the problem possibly is as I <3 this game very much.
Thanx

PS what exactly do you mean by play style?

Last edited by Ms Giggles: 12-18-2010 at 10:31 PM. Reason: adding extra, hopefully helpful info
Ms Giggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 10:51 PM   #9
whirlmaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 358
Posts: 1,963
I've got the same problem too just now.

After a match with friends, I was planning on making a Solo game, to buff up my Firebug some. I made a West London game and since I ran the game in a window, I opened up Wordpad and started on a school project while waiting.

Then, the game just crashed with some message that I ran out of Virtual memory and to "clean my hard disk drive" or something along those lines.

I run a laptop:
Windows 7 Home Premium(64-bit)
Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T6600
2GB memory
ATI Radeon Premium Graphics card

and I have 214 GB free space in my hard drive.
whirlmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 02:13 AM   #10
RamblinBob
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 51
Posts: 1,096
Windows Vista 64 Home Premium
8 gigs of ram
e8600
Nvidia 9500GT 258.96 driver

Swap file is shut off

I normally host a listen server and we have about 4-6 players in there with FF on.

This happened when I was playing with just 1 other friend to test it out.

Map loading was taking a long time and crashing occasionally when we first tried. It will basically cause KF (I play windowed) to briefly go into the "not responding" windows notification. But I had just let it run and it eventually loaded the map.

First time we played for like 8-10 minutes (made it to wave 3 of a 2 man suicidal difficulty on Santa's Evil Lair) and then it crashed.

Second game after the crash we played for about 2 minutes (I was getting overwhelmed on wave 1) and just after a bloat puked on me it crashed again.

Then we made it into another game and I was up against a wall and a clot hit me and it crashed.

Each crash was the "out of virtual memory"

On the 4th time the game will crash on map load - it has done so ever since.

Let me know if there are any other details I can provide.
RamblinBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 04:58 AM   #11
Euphytose
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 432
Posts: 4,675
Processor Information:
Vendor: Intel
Speed: 2670 Mhz
4 logical processors
4 physical processors

Operating System Version:
Windows 7 (64 bit)


Video Card:
Driver: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285


Memory:
RAM: 6048 Mb


Note that I have two different crashs. One when I load a map and I run out of memory, and one that can happen any time ( but not very often ) which says runtime error.
Euphytose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 06:09 AM   #12
Zenas
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 101
I'll add to the list of people with crashes that give Virtual Memory error.
My specs:
Motherboard: GigaByte GA-EP41-UD3L
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad 2.5Ghz
Memory: 2x 2048 MB RAM, Kingston HyperX
Pagefile: 8GB
Harddisk: 2x 500GB
Videocard: XFX GeForce 9600GT, 512MB
Videocard driver version: 8.17.12.5896
DirectX: v11
Resolution: 1680x1050 (32bit, 59Hz)
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64(6.1 build 7600)

With my old computer I had the same crash occasionally, and for what I remember nearly always happens after loading a map. However, yesterday it was the first time I had one happening mid-game(between 2 waves when nearly at the trader), where first the game started to drop in fps, from ~59 to ~20 or so, and about 30 seconds later, maybe sooner, it crashed giving another virtual memory error.

Last edited by Zenas: 12-19-2010 at 07:41 AM. Reason: Added some more specs
Zenas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 06:47 AM   #13
CheeseFrog
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 3
Posts: 48
Yep, same here. I seem to get the error when I change perks or buy a weapon aswell. Doesn't happen every single time, but it tends to happen quite alot. Did a fresh install, didn't work. Specs (shamelessy copied from XFire)


Processor:
AMD Phenom(tm) II X3 710 Processor (3 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
Memory:
4094MB RAM
Hard Drive:
1.5 TB (1500GB)
Video Card:
ATI Radeon HD 4870
Monitor:
Samsung Syncmaster T240 HD
Sound Card:
Realtek High Definition Audio
Operating System:
Windows Vista™ Ultimate (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack 2 (6002.lh_sp2rtm.090410-1830)
Motherboard:
MSI 790-GX
CheeseFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 06:48 AM   #14
ZanderArch
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Reputation: 55
Posts: 1,634
I only get this error when I try to load the new Santa's Evil Lair map. Either join a server, change to the map while on the server, or play it in Solo modo, all result in a "Ran out of virtual memory" error.

Specs:
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 (Factory clock of 3.4 GHz)
RAM: 2x2GB DDR3
HDD: 1 TB with more than half the space remaining (600 or so GBs)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
GPU: ATI Radeon 8570
OP: Windows 7 64bit.

I did manage to get Santa's Evil Lair to load once in solo modo by deleting the contents of the System folder ( C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\killingfloor\System ) and then verifying my Cache using Steam. But after one play, it stopped working and didn't work after trying the exact same fix twice.

Started getting this error on Departed and Icebreaker as well. I bet there are more maps that don't like me.

Last edited by ZanderArch: 12-19-2010 at 01:22 PM.
ZanderArch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 01:11 PM   #15
Zenas
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 101
Little bit of an update on my side.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenas View Post
...
Error report I got when loading KF-Departed(Solo, Normal/Long, with only No Drama Mutator), also note worthy is I played 2 maps online before this, nothing else:
Quote:
Build UT2004_Build_[2004-11-11_10.48]

OS: Windows NT 6.1 (Build: 7600)
CPU: GenuineIntel PentiumPro-class processor @ 2500 MHz with 4094MB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT (5896)

CreateTexture failed(8007000E).

History: FD3D9Texture::Cache <- FD3D9RenderInterface::CacheTexture <- FD3D9RenderInterface::SetShaderMaterial <- FD3D9RenderInterface::SetMaterial <- UGameEngine:raw <- UWindowsViewport::Repaint <- UWindowsClient::Tick <- ClientTick <- UGameEngine::Tick <- Level KF-Departed <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Realloc <- 4C576C61 0 FArray <- FArray::Realloc <- 0*2 <- FMallocWindows::Free
Right after that I restarted Killing Floor to continue playing on KF-Departed, first time I blew myself up, second time it crashed with a runtime error not long in(~wave 3).
Zenas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Killing Floor


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.