Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Battlefield series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2010, 04:10 PM   #1
jimi_hendrix
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 153
PunkBuster Keeps Kicking Me

So I got BF:BC2 today, and whenever I join a PB server, it kicks me saying it can't access "A1382 C2.261" or something like that. I googled the issue, and I was told to download some .htm file and save it in my pb/htm folder. I did that, but the issue persists. Anyone know what is going on?
jimi_hendrix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 04:19 PM   #2
sm4sh
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Try downloading the manual updater:
http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=pbsetup.php

Follow the instructions on the page...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 06:00 PM   #3
kbe2k9
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 266
Posts: 1,485
Same issue 1-3 mins into any online and I'm booted, tried manual update and turning off the Steam community thing.

I don't even think punkbuster is running because I'm not getting any error just getting booted.

*edit* check services.msc and see both A and B are running so I don't know what the heck is going on but I'm getting extremely fed up with this.

Last edited by kbe2k9: 12-20-2010 at 06:09 PM.
kbe2k9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 06:17 PM   #4
punkboy459
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 7
Posts: 320
Alot games out there with Punkbuster are having issues not just Bad Company 2..
punkboy459 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 06:19 PM   #5
kbe2k9
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 266
Posts: 1,485
I never had this problem in Battlefield 2 so I'm actually surprised I'm having issues with another Battlefield game.

*edit* well giving up, glad this was on sale I'd be flipping right now. was going to buy Vietnam too but not now.

Last edited by kbe2k9: 12-20-2010 at 06:52 PM.
kbe2k9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 06:53 PM   #6
BuckarooBanzai
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 395
Posts: 2,278
ive noticed at least 3 updates each day since vietnam came out. i run the update client every time before playing...
BuckarooBanzai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 06:55 PM   #7
kbe2k9
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 266
Posts: 1,485
I've uninstalled, installed and updated it about five times now and still getting booted, even turned off my antivirus, shut down all the processes I could and still getting booted.
kbe2k9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 06:56 PM   #8
BuckarooBanzai
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 395
Posts: 2,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbe2k9 View Post
I've uninstalled, installed and updated it about five times now and still getting booted, even turned off my antivirus, shut down all the processes I could and still getting booted.
are you using a router? maybe you need to forward your ports for punkbuster.
BuckarooBanzai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 06:59 PM   #9
kbe2k9
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 266
Posts: 1,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuckarooBanzai View Post
are you using a router? maybe you need to forward your ports for punkbuster.
No router, cable direct 30Mbps connection.
kbe2k9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 07:20 PM   #10
Tericc
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 21
Posts: 585
bump*

also having the same issue

Last edited by Tericc: 12-20-2010 at 07:31 PM.
Tericc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 06:09 AM   #11
jimi_hendrix
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by sm4sh View Post
Try downloading the manual updater:
http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=pbsetup.php

Follow the instructions on the page...
I am getting an error: "Error #0114: ERROR: Could not convert C:\Users\Vincent\AppData\Temp\pbs3EFA.tmp to c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\battlefield bad company 2\pb\dll\wc002261.dll"

EDIT: Issue resolved by deleting the pb folder and then running PBSetup again.

Last edited by jimi_hendrix: 12-21-2010 at 02:44 PM.
jimi_hendrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 06:37 AM   #12
lil saint
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 3
Posts: 35
Same here... and why in the world is so hard to play a game these days,the damn pb kickes me every 2 min and no i don't want do download any patches from EA's site,(thats why i use steam)or any "manual updater",why do we need a manual to play a game?
I played the game for like 5 min(of 10,keep getting kicked by PB), and all i have to say is that i dont like it,i'm not feeling it,you know what i mean.

I've been playing FPS games for a while now and if you are coming
from valve's games or cod series you will be disappointed

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbe2k9 View Post
*edit* well giving up, glad this was on sale I'd be flipping right now. was going to buy Vietnam too but not now.
giving up as well,and no go for vietnam
lil saint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 07:44 AM   #13
sm4sh
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimi_hendrix View Post
I am getting an error: "Error #0114: ERROR: Could not convert C:\Users\Vincent\AppData\Temp\pbs3EFA.tmp to c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\battlefield bad company 2\pb\dll\wc002261.dll"
Try running it as an admin.
If it does not work, delete the PB files in your BFBC2 folder and try the manual updater again.

Good Luck!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 02:45 PM   #14
jimi_hendrix
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by sm4sh View Post
Try running it as an admin.
If it does not work, delete the PB files in your BFBC2 folder and try the manual updater again.

Good Luck!
I did the latter and now everything is flawless.
jimi_hendrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 07:44 PM   #15
emmettq
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
What did you do? i have no idea whatsoever to how you or anyone has fixed this issue.
I still get the error... Error#0114: Error: Could not convert pbs" ".tmp to wc002305.dll
i have tried reinstalling the game, deleting the pb folders and files then manually updating it, downloading the files required from the websites suggested, Then updating manually.
I am still very confused.
emmettq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Battlefield series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.