Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Oddworld series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2010, 08:09 AM   #1
Stewart Gilray
 
JAW CEO
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 80
Posts: 505
Unhappy Official Stranger's Wrath Updates from JAW

Update January 21st 2010

The update is due to go live today, below is the readme file containing the changelist.

Quote:
(C) Oddworld Inhabitants, Inc. 2005, 2010-2011
(C) Just Add water (Developments), Ltd. 2011
Stranger's Wrath PC - v1.1

Changelist

Fixes
1. Fixed performance issues.
2. Fixed save game permissions issues. Save games and config file are now saved in "Program Files" to "\Documents\Oddworld\Stranger's Wrath".
3. Fixed controls "sticking" issues.
4. Fixed tutorial text - Camera mode switch button text.
5. Fixed turorial text - Camera reset button text.
7. Fixed broken achievement "Mine your business"
8. Fixed incorrect texts being displayed in controls Layout screens.
9. Fixed 5.1 and 7.1 audio.
10. Fixed Mouse lag.
11. Fixed issue with only 1 of 3 dialogue lines working in Jail house.
12. Fixed first person view on nVidia boards.

Changes
1. Added screen resolution selection to launcher.
2. Added v-sync option to launcher.
3. Added joystick selection to launcher.
4. Added customisable controls (See below).
5. Added support for third party "generic" joypads.
6. Added widescreen suppport.
7. Re-authored Keyboard "layout" screen in options.
8. Removed automatic joypad detection.


Customisable Controls

Inside the config.txt file (located in Documents\Oddworld\Stranger's Wrath) contains various pieces of configuration for Stranger's Wrath.

To alter the controls, change the contents of the " " after each command name...

E.G.
pause="ESCAPE" (Default)
pause="P"
----------------------------------------

ATI chipsets, with the latest drivers from ATI there are graphic "issues" such as black lines, and sorting problems. ATI have managed to recreate these issues and are looking at the root cause. Currently it is LIKELY that these issues are with ATI and not Stranger's Wrath.

HOWEVER they are looking to see if there's anything we can do to help them with this but currently the issues lay with ATI's OpenGL drivers.

------------------------------------

Hey everyone,
Firstly, we are deeply sorry you guys are having issues with Stranger's Wrath, we really are.

From a personal note, to read these comments that the game is beyond broken hurts. I am always incredibly paranoid about that work I/we do and am always self-critical, so please help us fix these issues by providing as much positive feedback as you can with system specs and detailed descriptions.

Anyway I digress.

Use this thread as a way of keeping up to date with how we're getting on with fixing these issues.

What we can do and will do:
We will be doing what we can to fix performance issues.
We will be fixing the corrupted font issues (we have repeated this now).
We will fix ingame rendering issues, such as corruption etc.
We will add customizable controls.

What we cannot do:
We cannot add Mouse interaction for the UI.
We cannot add graphics settings options, such as disable/enable shadows etc.

I'll update more later...

Stewart Gilray
CEO - Just Add Water (Developments) Ltd.

Last edited by Stewart Gilray: 01-21-2011 at 10:47 AM.
Stewart Gilray is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:11 AM   #2
Mortaris1337
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 23
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stewart Gilray View Post
Hey everyone,
We will add customizable controls.
YOU GUYS ARE AWESOME
Mortaris1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:13 AM   #3
MUHUMbI
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stewart Gilray View Post
We cannot add graphics settings options, such as disable/enable shadows etc.
lol wtf?
MUHUMbI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:17 AM   #4
Nitro2k69
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MUHUMbI View Post
lol wtf?
The game is just the xbox 1 game ported to the pc therefore they cant add any settings to change graphics because it wasent implimented in the xbox version.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:17 AM   #5
Varrok
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 51
Posts: 730
I've got a question: WHO should we tell about MO problems/bugs?
Varrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:19 AM   #6
DrMatta
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 127
How can you expect everybody to be happy with minor adjustments to such a sloppy port?

A lot of things were promised a year ago, and right before this (rushed) release we find out it's nothing like that.

Creating false hype based on lies.
I can't believe Oddworld Inhabitants worked closely to this.

Seriously, what have you guys been doing for over a year?
You didn't touch Abe's Oddysee and Exoddus.
So that leaves Munch and Stranger, which are horrendous (beyond repair probably)

And now i also find out the PS3 version is the "new and improved" version. PC owners don't deserve that?

The whole Oddbox is insulting.
DrMatta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:19 AM   #7
qu4d
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 24
Posts: 185
Will there be a resolution fix for Munch? :/
qu4d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:21 AM   #8
Varrok
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 51
Posts: 730
Quote:
How can you expect everybody to be happy with minor adjustments to such a sloppy port?

A lot of things were promised a year ago, and right before this (rushed) release we find out it's nothing like that.

Creating false hype based on lies.
I can't believe Oddworld Inhabitants worked closely to this.

Seriously, what have you guys been doing for over a year?
You didn't touch Abe's Oddysee and Exoddus.
So that leaves Munch and Stranger, which are horrendous (beyond repair probably)

And now i also find out the PS3 version is the "new and improved" version. PC owners don't deserve that?

The whole Oddbox is insulting.
Come on, it's not THAT bad... and PC version of Stranger propably will be updated later as well
Varrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:25 AM   #9
Stewart Gilray
 
JAW CEO
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 80
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Varrok View Post
I've got a question: WHO should we tell about MO problems/bugs?
New thread coming in a moment.
Stewart Gilray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:31 AM   #10
Stewart Gilray
 
JAW CEO
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 80
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by qu4d View Post
Will there be a resolution fix for Munch? :/
A resolution fix? is it broken?
Stewart Gilray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:36 AM   #11
qu4d
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 24
Posts: 185
Well. I would like to change it for my small screen like I can do on Strangers Wrath, which runs pretty good.
qu4d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:38 AM   #12
BroflMouth
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 69
Posts: 1,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stewart Gilray View Post
A resolution fix? is it broken?
It's not that it's broken, it's just that 1024x768 (I believe that's the default res) is considered beyond old nowadays and he, myself too, is wondering if custom resolution is going to be implemented at a later date.

Also, do you have any news about the crash fixes for Munch's Odyssey? Do you know if the developers that handled it are working on fixing it up?
BroflMouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:38 AM   #13
dezm0nd
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 6
Posts: 7
Hello JAW,

Been waiting for the Oddbox ever since I found out it existed and I purchased it immediately. I know there's been many problems on this forum regarding the port but I, like a few others, have had a problem of no control input working at all. Here are some instances of it not working at the front end.

I have no joypad plugged in at all and the keyboard won't navigate the menu.

I have an Xbox 360 plugged in which doesn't work on the menu.

I do not have any other controller devices plugged in at any moment during play.

I will try removing my USB dongle at the front of my PC and see if that's intefering with the game in any form.

Thanks for your co-operation and despite my initial dissapointment I am confident that it'll get patched soon.
dezm0nd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:40 AM   #14
Dalda
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 42
I asked you this yesterday when I speaking to you via info@jawltd but I think it got lost because of the OpenGL questions. Is mouse acceleration enabled? It felt like it was but it was hard to tell because of the framerate issues. If it is, can we get an option to disable it?
Dalda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:50 AM   #15
darthwraak
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I made a video detailing my problems with Munch's Oddysee.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_5QOek01QA

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_gdr.100618-1621)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
System Model: HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook PC
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: AMD Turion(tm) X2 Dual-Core Mobile RM-74 (2 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 3070MB RAM
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

The screen flickers when in gamespeak menu, the screen goes black when playing movies and the game crashes after around 2 minutes of gameplay.

Strangers Wrath runs at around 15 fps, which makes it very off putting to play.

I am very disappointed with this purchase. I really do hope ye have plans to fix errors such as this.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Oddworld series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.