Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Alpha Protocol

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2010, 11:25 AM   #1
Askjosh
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 95
Posts: 734
DRM has been Removed

I just want to point out for everyone that this game no longer contains any DRM. On November 23 2010 the DRM was removed with the last patch.

Patch below. Note this is for reference only.The steam version is already patched to the latest version and does not contain any DRM.

http://help.sega.com/index.php?_m=kn...leid=865&nav=0

So now is a good time to buy the game since it is on sale and the DRM has been removed.
Askjosh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 01:08 PM   #2
JK_DA_KILLA
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Reputation: 8
Posts: 177
Had looked at Alpha Protocol a few times before, but been turned away due to the DRM.
Remembered it when I saw on sale, but figured I'd take a look after all, see if Sega got the point yet.

Was a nice shock to see the lack of DRM ^^
That, and the sale has gotten one more buyer
JK_DA_KILLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 04:14 PM   #3
Jashin
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 104
Posts: 1,057
You sure it's been updated?

Steam update history is empty.

Whatever, probly cus of no patch log. I like this game, but I think I'm gonna skip this one.

Last edited by Jashin: 12-23-2010 at 04:36 PM.
Jashin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 05:06 PM   #4
Askjosh
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 95
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jashin View Post
You sure it's been updated?

Steam update history is empty.

Whatever, probly cus of no patch log. I like this game, but I think I'm gonna skip this one.
it should be noted that the main page for this game used to state that there was DRM on the game. That statement has since been removed becasue it was removed with the last patch.

So there is your proof.
Askjosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 05:57 PM   #5
Olmy83
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 66
This is indeed correct. BUT, Steam does not apply the update. You need to download it from the above link and apply the patch. I loaded the game and it asked me to activate, closed it, applied the patch, and it goes straight into the game.

DRM has been removed.
Olmy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 06:16 PM   #6
Keith Weisshar
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 105
Contact Steam and SEGA support and see if they can upload the v1.1 version of APGame.exe to Steam. The game is supposed to be updated through Steam itself. The v1.1 patch.txt release note is included with Steam but the APGame.exe file is still v1.0.
Keith Weisshar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Alpha Protocol


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.