Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2010, 10:20 PM   #1
_Turd Ferguson_
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
tf2 hl2.exe has stopped working

The last couple of weeks when I try and launch TF2 I get this error " hl2.exe has stopped working"

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BEX
Application Name: hl2.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 4ce5a768
Fault Module Name: StackHash_0a9e
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Offset: 0018e842
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Data: badc0de1
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
Locale ID: 4105
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

I am running win 7 ultimate, i7 920 dual @ 2.67 and 2.79
6 gigs of ram
nvidia geforce 260 GTX (drivers 8.17.12.5896)
on board realtek high definition audio (drivers 6.0.1.5672)

When I first started playing TF2 with this comp everything was fine. Around this summer I noticed I would get a lock up then black screen but would eventually I would return into the game.

A couple of months ago I would get a sound lock up/black screen then I would have to task manager out. Now I can't even launch TF2 but other steam games like CSS and LFD2 I can. Only time I get that error with other steam games is when I type "quit" in console.

I have tried the admin set net etc, dx level, cache, defrag.

I tried to ask around in my friends list for a solution and it seems they also know people that are recently experiencing the same problem.

If anyone has a possible constructive solution please don't hesitate to respond. Frustrating for the month of December I spent over $120 on items and can't even play anymore.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 11:04 PM   #2
Traken
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Reputation: 147
Posts: 1,470
Standard ideas:
  • Verify Game Cache
  • Delete all TF2 files (except gcf) and try to play
  • Delete all TF2 files (including gcf) and download again
Traken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 05:25 AM   #3
_Turd Ferguson_
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Bump.......
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 05:54 AM   #4
manicminer
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 320
Posts: 367
Well, the problem event "BEX" is a buffer overflow exception requiring a DEP exception for the game so you could try that.
manicminer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 04:49 PM   #5
_Turd Ferguson_
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you for your responses. I am not that computer savy manicminer so if you could please explain.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 04:51 PM   #6
T@F
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Reputation: 1952
Posts: 10,447
goto your steam folder/steamapps/your name look for team fortress 2 folder in there rename it for now.then run tf2.

if it works del the renamed folder.
T@F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 12:19 AM   #7
_Turd Ferguson_
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
That worked, much appreciated!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 10:03 AM   #8
KISA
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
The cause of my "hl2.exe" stopping was my TF2 resolution setting. No idea why it decided to stop working at 1920 (had been fine for months). So to test if that's it, right clicking on TF2 in Steam and go to Properties>Launch options. I added "-fullscreen -width 1024 -height 768" as a test and it successfully worked. It ended up just being the res of 1920 where it was failing. I reinstalled and updated my video card driver (gtx-260) and the problem was fixed.

Hope this helps someone, took me ages to sort it out
KISA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 05:23 AM   #9
louis cardinal
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
i renamed my TF2 folder, creates a new one however problem still exists, i have been playing 100% fine for about 6 months untill now, could be a update issue?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 07:28 AM   #10
louis cardinal
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
buump
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 07:30 AM   #11
Justin7
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 140
Posts: 1,996
This is an old topic being bumped up, but the current hl2.exe crashes are happening for everybody now. Valve needs to fix it, but so far they haven't gotten it right yet.
Justin7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 12:05 PM   #12
M1K3nATOR7
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 12
Angry Perhaps it's the video cards?

This happened to me too. I just had directly download my video cards' new update directly from steam on the day of the Australian update. I'll have to try the resolution fix, but all in all this shouldn't be happening.
M1K3nATOR7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 12:45 PM   #13
Lorvaz
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 12
my problem is my tf2 doesnt updates correctly because i cant craft new items and i still have the news of the summer down thje game
PD but it downloads the new updates adn the shop is new too
Lorvaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 05:32 PM   #14
Musthaveme
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
I get past the video, then it loads, then it mucks up, and says the bloomin' "hl2.exe has stopped working" "Close Program"
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
System Model: Dell System XPS L702X
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2670QM CPU @ 2.20GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8086MB RAM
Musthaveme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 09:05 PM   #15
osigurac
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 20
Posts: 317
If you have a program like MSI afterbuner, EVGA precision or any other 3rd party program that helps you adjust settings of your video card. Disable/Close it and see if the game can start up!!

I just resolved my issue with Windows 7, 64bit, and HL2.exe has stopped working.
osigurac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.