Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Counter-Strike

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2010, 04:53 PM   #1
Zimon34
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Counter-strike 1.6 Crashes when launching

hey guys, i've tried to figure out what's wrong with my cs for a while now... when i launch it i see the cs "dudes" in a smaller screen then my acctuall screen. and then the screen just turns black and can't click anywere. and when i click Ctrl + alt + Del and click on the idk what it is called in english but in swedish its called aktivitetshanteraren, it says Counterstrike is not responding. yes i've tried to re-install it about 4 times. and my computer is not to slow to run the game, because i have played it before on this computer.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 06:45 AM   #2
aC3
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
try typing this into cs launch options

-w 800 -h 600
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:32 PM   #3
Zimon34
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
okay thank you. i'll try that
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:45 PM   #4
Zimon34
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
how do i get there? ;o
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 03:28 PM   #5
aslplsjpgetcdnd
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zimon34 View Post
how do i get there? ;o
right click counter-strike in the game list or in library, then "properties", then "set launch options" and type in -w and -h, where "-w" stands for width and "-h" for height to set the screen resolution (in pixels) for counter-strike (for 640x480 resolution type in "-w 640 -h 480", for 800x600 resolution type in "-w 800 -h 600" and so on).
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 06:40 AM   #6
Pour_Quoi
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Help

I tried what you said but still it's not working.
Please Help as fast as possible
Best Regards,
Pour_Quoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 08:49 PM   #7
187eR
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 177
Posts: 1,443
try -refresh 60

right click counter strike in your library

properties

set launch options

enter -w 800 -h 600 -refresh 60
187eR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 05:49 AM   #8
Pour_Quoi
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Still ..

Im sorry but the game still didn't work.. i tried the -60 refresh with
640 480
and 800 600
with -w and -h for sure..
i wish u can see whats happening with me.
i want to play soon.
Thanks again
Pour_Quoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 05:51 AM   #9
Pour_Quoi
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Btw I'm on a laptop..
dont know if there is a difference
Pour_Quoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:17 PM   #10
187eR
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 177
Posts: 1,443
update directx http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=35

exit steam

detele AppUpdateStats.blob and ClientRegistry.blob from your steam folder

delete your counter strike folder

\Steam\steamapps\account name\counter strike << delete that

boot into steam, let it update

after that go to your steam library, right click on cs, go to properties, then local files and click on "verify integrity on the game cache"

see if that works
187eR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 12:26 AM   #11
v t t t
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 23
download any gui and put it into resources,that may help
v t t t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:19 AM   #12
Pour_Quoi
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Unhappy

187eR update directx http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=35

exit steam

detele AppUpdateStats.blob and ClientRegistry.blob from your steam folder

delete your counter strike folder

\Steam\steamapps\account name\counter strike << delete that

boot into steam, let it update

after that go to your steam library, right click on cs, go to properties, then local files and click on "verify integrity on the game cache"

see if that works

That didn't work.
Im so sad.. i want to play!!


v t t t download any gui and put it into resources,that may help

What do u mean by gui ?

Please someone help
Pour_Quoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 08:15 AM   #13
Pour_Quoi
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
I downloaded the navi gui and another one.. same
didnt work.
i dont know whats messed upp
Pour_Quoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:19 AM   #14
v t t t
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 23
ok try to putthis into launch options then:
autoconfig -d3d -dxlevel 70
or
autoconfig -gl -dxlevel 70

it depends on if you are playing in opengl(gl) or in d3d
v t t t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 03:17 PM   #15
Pour_Quoi
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Can i just say that i love u ?
Pour_Quoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Counter-Strike


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.