Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sid Meier's Civilization series

Old 01-20-2011, 04:54 PM   #1
rocklegend0407

Problem on Startup Civ V

This is my first Civilizations game. This may be an easy fix solved in the past games, but being a beginner, I don't know where to start.

For 2 weeks I've played Civ V with no problems. 3 days after purchase and playing I added 2Gb of ram to my system. My game was flawless after that. Today I tried to enter the game and suddenly it does not work.

After double-clicking the Sid Meier's Civilization V icon, the screen pops up "Preparing to launch Sid Meier's Civilization V." I click play with DirectX 10/11. After that nothing happens. My computer just sits there and makes no progress in loading the game up in a normal start up procedure.

The only thing that is different from the last time I played Civ V is I installed and uninstalled World of Warcraft. After realizing it was too expensive to play I deleted the program within a few days. Could installing and uninstalling WOW really make Civ V not start up?

I've also tried all my other Steam games and they work great, so I know there is no problem with Steam. It seems to be Civ V.

How can I fix this problem because I am hooked and addicted and I need my daily dose!!!

Old 01-20-2011, 08:43 PM   #2
Eli's_Revenge

Try this.

Right click Civ 5 -> Properties -> Local files -> View integrity of game cache.

If that don't work you might want to try running it in a lower directx level.

Try: Right click -> Properties -> Set launch options -> type "-dxlevel 90"

If after a reinstall you are still having problems, try setting "-safe" as the launch option. This will reset video settings, and will be at a very low resolution.
Eli's_Revenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 06:54 AM   #3
rocklegend0407