Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Evil Genius

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2011, 10:27 PM   #1
InflatedSnake
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 136
Does this run on windows 7?

Title, I have windows 7 64bit and this game looks sweet so just wondering.
InflatedSnake is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 01:26 AM   #2
Ric666
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 171
Posts: 1,616
Yup, it should work with no problem
Ric666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 01:44 AM   #3
Gishank
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 25
Posts: 400
It's an excellent game, it's sad they never made a sequel though. I can also confirm from personal experience that it runs on Windows 7, 64bit.
Gishank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 03:44 AM   #4
Ric666
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 171
Posts: 1,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gishank View Post
It's an excellent game, it's sad they never made a sequel though.
I couldn't agree more. Not sure how many more bases I can build on that second island...lol!
Do you know if there is user-made maps anywhere to download? That would be awesome!
Ric666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 04:21 AM   #5
Necroscope-hk
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
The game is actually more stable on my new laptop running Win 7 than on my old desktop running XP. Odd, but nice.

Cheers!

Necroscope
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 09:02 AM   #6
InflatedSnake
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 136
I bought the game and OMG IT'S SO GOOD!! DDDDDDDDDDDDDD
InflatedSnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 09:59 AM   #7
nabokovfan87
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 308
Posts: 1,430
This game will run on any OS just out of sheer willpower and awesomeness, but mostly because the game is just sooooooooooo good that every OS wants it to run on it just so they can be together....

Heh, I may have to pick this up for another 3 year campaign. Time to re-open Shen Yu's Tokyo Palace!
nabokovfan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 07:27 PM   #8
Kaboom
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 116
Posts: 1,019
Works on Win 7 64bit its old though so the resolution is bad for 1080p wide screens but on this forum their is instructions to make the rez 1080p and also to increase the population cap to what ever you want.
Kaboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 07:49 AM   #9
InflatedSnake
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaboom View Post
Works on Win 7 64bit its old though so the resolution is bad for 1080p wide screens but on this forum their is instructions to make the rez 1080p and also to increase the population cap to what ever you want.
Yeah I'm gonna change the pop cap after I play through properly a few times through so I can have a huge base with a huge control room and still have minions doing other things. Where could I find the 1080p instructions?
InflatedSnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 04:24 PM   #10
Kaboom
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 116
Posts: 1,019
Download Resolution Changer 2 and put the unziped contents into:-

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\evil genius

Open the resolution file and change the res to 1920 1080 and save it so it looks like this :_
[MAIN]
#Resolution
Width=1920
Height=1080

Turn off steam overlay and dont alt tab out while playing Evil Genius or it will crash the game.

Last edited by Kaboom: 01-29-2011 at 04:27 PM.
Kaboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 08:49 PM   #11
White Noise
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by InflatedSnake View Post
Yeah I'm gonna change the pop cap after I play through properly a few times through so I can have a huge base with a huge control room and still have minions doing other things. Where could I find the 1080p instructions?
I played with the 500 cap, and let me forewarn you on some issues.

Due to pathing, each 'square' on a map can only accommodate 5 minions, so in busy corridors (especially during fires or infiltrations), guys will bunch up and get stuck at the armory or entrance. They sort themselves out eventually, but setting your cap high has its downsides. Busy corridors, small shacks (strongroom in a hut when starting island 2), are all suspect and cause a lot of pseudo-lag gameplay wise. Personally I'd suggest playing with a cap around 300 so you don't run into this as often.
White Noise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Evil Genius


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.