Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Magicka

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2011, 06:20 PM   #1
pluton814
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Magicka Port forward

Hello!


I was just woundering now that i have a router what i shall have for ports to make my own game in Magicka!. Would be fun considering everyone is playing with passwords!.


And also if someone wants to play sometime give me a pling! pluton814@steam!
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 06:23 PM   #2
OnyxBMW
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Hello!

First of all, I request respectfully that you please stop using variable sizes for your posts. It makes it rather annoying to read your post, to say the least.

Secondly, the ports you need to forward are 7331 (or whatever port you manually select) and all the steam ports and P2P ports found here.

That's not to say all of those ports are used, it's just to say once I activated the steam ones in addition to the P2P ones, I was able to host games.

Hope this helps, cheers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 06:40 PM   #3
pluton814
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
aah ok, but when i forward 7331(or whatever). shall i use TCP or UDP or both? And what starting port and ending port shall it be?. I cant have 7331 as starting port and ending port right? ; /

// not the greatest with ports:P
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 06:57 PM   #4
OnyxBMW
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by pluton814 View Post
aah ok, but when i forward 7331(or whatever). shall i use TCP or UDP or both? And what starting port and ending port shall it be?. I cant have 7331 as starting port and ending port right? ; /

// not the greatest with ports:P
Don't worry. Port forwarding is a pain in the rear end on the best of days. It's hard to find someone moderately knowledgeable on it, nevermind knowing what to do specifically.

Anyways, to answer your questions. You seem to already know how to set up a static IP, and have rudimentary knowledge of forwarding ports, which is good.

For 7331/etc, I'd suggest using TCP and UDP, but that is because I do not know which one to use personally, and using both is lazier. You can attempt to experiment, or you can use both. You should be able to do a single port. If your router asks for a range, just use the start and end.

If this does not work, look up your router here and follow the instructions it gives for any game on that router when it gives a single port example. That's not to say that the ports for that game will work here, but that it will give you an easily recognizable template for how you may add ports later.

This should answer your questions, but if it doesn't, feel free to ask more or toss me a PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 07:16 PM   #5
Bl@ck
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 23
Posts: 275
I opened up 7331 to TCP/UDP and I hosted fine.
Bl@ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 07:18 PM   #6
OnyxBMW
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bl@ck View Post
I opened up 7331 to TCP/UDP and I hosted fine.
I was able to as well if friends either IP joined or joined via friends list, but I had to manually open the P2P and Steam ports as well before other people could see my game. Just saying. You might have had UPNP work somehow, or already had the steam ports opened. Either way.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 07:56 PM   #7
STEVENXO
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 20
Posts: 720
I'm currently unable to host a game properly. I forward 7331 on both TCP & UDP, and ports 27000-27030 on UDP, and now my friend can see my server name up, but authentication fails every time he tries to connect.

He also hosted the first time after forwarding every single port on the list linked in the 2nd post, and I was able to connect to him on the second try. We played a bit and his game eventually crashed, but he couldn't host anymore. He would put the server up, but it won't even show up on the server browser anymore, and he still has all the ports forwarded.

Does anyone know if the devs are working on a patch to make the multiplayer process less painful, preferably without turning my firewall into swiss cheese?
STEVENXO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 08:29 PM   #8
OnyxBMW
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by STEVENXO View Post
I'm currently unable to host a game properly. I forward 7331 on both TCP & UDP, and ports 27000-27030 on UDP, and now my friend can see my server name up, but authentication fails every time he tries to connect.

He also hosted the first time after forwarding every single port on the list linked in the 2nd post, and I was able to connect to him on the second try. We played a bit and his game eventually crashed, but he couldn't host anymore. He would put the server up, but it won't even show up on the server browser anymore, and he still has all the ports forwarded.

Does anyone know if the devs are working on a patch to make the multiplayer process less painful, preferably without turning my firewall into swiss cheese?
As far as I know, your issue is you didn't do all the ports (one of the P2P ports or the TCP one from steam might be important, I don't know, however) and...well...I've noticed the server list react dreadfully slow before, honestly. Maybe it's a matter of patience for it to show up properly? I'm no expert on the P2P system, but, again, it can be slow.

Have you, for instance, hit shift tab, selected the down arrow near your friend's name, and clicked "join game" when he was hosting, to see if the issue was with the browser and not the host directly?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 09:46 AM   #9
Quatrix
 
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 40
Posts: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnyxBMW View Post
I was able to as well if friends either IP joined or joined via friends list, but I had to manually open the P2P and Steam ports as well before other people could see my game. Just saying. You might have had UPNP work somehow, or already had the steam ports opened. Either way.
I was able to host and have someone see my game with only the game port (default 7331) forwarded, and I verified in my router settings that nothing was opened up via UPnP.
Quatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 10:18 AM   #10
Thrymm
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 36
Is it too early to order flapjacks?
Thrymm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 10:23 AM   #11
Amarinth
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 3
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quatrix View Post
I was able to host and have someone see my game with only the game port (default 7331) forwarded, and I verified in my router settings that nothing was opened up via UPnP.
It probably depends on the type of router people are using. In my case other people were able to see my hosted game, but weren't able to connect to it - I could see that lots of people were trying to connect in my router logs, but they were clearly failing to... I had to open the steam ports and then it worked fine.
Amarinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 10:55 AM   #12
Bl@ck
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 23
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnyxBMW View Post
I was able to as well if friends either IP joined or joined via friends list, but I had to manually open the P2P and Steam ports as well before other people could see my game. Just saying. You might have had UPNP work somehow, or already had the steam ports opened. Either way.
I actually had people joining before I had 7331 opened. I had to open it for a friend to connect via IP. As for the P2P and Steam ports, I do not have those opened for my gaming machine. I have my PS3 DMZd but, it has no effect on my gaming rig. So, I don't know what's up to be honest, all of it makes little logical sense.
Bl@ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 11:02 AM   #13
Shockwaves
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I opened up the recommended ports on the Steam port page and the port for the game itself and managed to host one game. Ever since then I've been unable to host again. I checked my firewall and the program is still in admin mode for basic and server connections. Anyone have any idea what's wrong?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 12:20 PM   #14
akanam
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Ok, I just opened 7331tcp/udp 27000-27030udp and the people can now see my game in the lobby.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 11:47 AM   #15
daddylongs
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
this seems intermittent...
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Magicka


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.