Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Magicka

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2011, 12:55 PM   #1
Johnbot
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Magicka Savegame Editor

Magicka Savegame Editor - Newest version is v0.2
Screenshot

Requires Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0.

It can edit the campaign.sav-files. It doesn't support the additional players in a local coop game (doesn't delete them, just can't edit them). Should be self explanatory. You can click the "Magicks:" label to enable all magicks.

New with v0.2 and Magicka 1.3.5.1:
Due to changes in how Magicka handles savefiles it will no longer be possible to use DLC magicks without the DLC installed as the game will check with Steam.
Added support for enabling Crash To Desktop but seeing as noone(?) has gotten the DLC (but only a path with the stuff included) it's not possible to use the magick yet.

Please do post any bugs you may find.

-
Do not underestimate the power of the John.

Last edited by Johnbot: 02-26-2011 at 06:51 AM. Reason: New version
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:00 PM   #2
Jake250
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 317
Now THAT I love. Plus, we can choose to play any levels we want, or recuperate any lost saves!

Do you think you can eventually add the ability to choose all of the player's weapons? Would be lovely.

Great work, if it works properly anyway. I'll test it soon.

EDIT: Doesn't work. I get an "unhandled exception" and I have Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0.

Last edited by Jake250: 02-07-2011 at 01:06 PM.
Jake250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:02 PM   #3
Johnbot
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake250 View Post
Now THAT I love. Plus, we can choose to play any levels we want, or recuperate any lost saves!

Do you think you can eventually add the ability to choose all of the player's weapons? Would be lovely.

Great work, if it works properly anyway. I'll test it soon.
If you play solo you can already choose your weapon and staff.
Look at the screenshot.

-John
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:06 PM   #4
Patmage
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 47
The addition of extra people is pretty easy if you want to add it. Basically the byte before the first player name is the number of players, then just loop through the players name/staff/weapon.

I just used a datagridview on mine, worked well enough.

Also, a select all button is helpful for the magicks.
Patmage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:08 PM   #5
Johnbot
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patmage View Post
The addition of extra people is pretty easy if you want to add it. Basically the byte before the first player name is the number of players, then just loop through the players name/staff/weapon.

I just used a datagridview on mine, worked well enough.

Also, a select all button is helpful for the magicks.
I know, just couldn't be assed to be honest. Just doing it to play around with C# a bit
And to mark all magicks you can just mark the first one, press space then arrow down and repeat ad nauseum.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:13 PM   #6
Jake250
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnbot View Post
If you play solo you can already choose your weapon and staff.
Look at the screenshot.

-John
I know, but I meant for more than just player 1.

Anyway like I edited, this sadly isn't working.
Jake250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:16 PM   #7
Johnbot
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake250 View Post
I know, but I meant for more than just player 1.

Anyway like I edited, this sadly isn't working.
Was there a stack trace?

Last edited by Johnbot: 02-07-2011 at 01:23 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:18 PM   #8
Jake250
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 317
Whats that? Do you mean this?

Code:
See the end of this message for details on invoking 
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.InvalidOperationException: Sequence contains no elements
   at System.Linq.Enumerable.First[TSource](IEnumerable`1 source)
   at Magicka_Savegame_Editor.MainWindow.SetupMainForm()
   at Magicka_Savegame_Editor.MainWindow.FileSelected(Object sender, CancelEventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.FileDialog.OnFileOk(CancelEventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.FileDialog.DoFileOk(IntPtr lpOFN)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Magicka Savegame Editor
    Assembly Version: 0.0.0.1
    Win32 Version: 0.0.0.1
    CodeBase: file:///F:/Desktop/Magicka%20Savegame%20Editor.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.
Jake250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:20 PM   #9
Johnbot
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake250 View Post
Whats that? Do you mean this?
Yes, did the dialog ask for Magicka.exe and if so did you select it? If it can't find the install path in the registry it asks you to locate Magicka.exe so it can find the item folder to build the item lists.

Or maybe you opened a save with no players o.O Can't say i tested that.

Last edited by Johnbot: 02-07-2011 at 01:21 PM. Reason: typo
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:22 PM   #10
Jake250
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnbot View Post
Yes, did the dialog ask for Magicka.exe and if so did you select it? If it can't find the install path in the registry it asks you to locate Magicka.exe so it can find the item folder to build the item lists.
Yes, I should have said more but I don't know why I didn't.

The program asks me to select Magicka.exe, which I do. Then I try to open campaign.sav, and thats where it does just that, and I can't get pass that point unless I cancel.

I should add: The window to select campaign.sav never closes, even if I click Continue when the error comes up. I also have 3 saves in progress already.

Last edited by Jake250: 02-07-2011 at 01:25 PM.
Jake250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:26 PM   #11
Johnbot
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake250 View Post
Yes, I should have said more but I don't know why I didn't.

The program asks me to select Magicka.exe, which I do. Then I try to open campaign.sav, and thats where it does just that, and I can't get pass that point unless I cancel.
So when the dialog asked for Magicka.exe you found it and pressed ok? And then you selected File->Open and selected the campaign.sav pressed ok after which it crashed?

Could you upload your savegame somewhere?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:28 PM   #12
Jake250
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnbot View Post
So when the dialog asked for Magicka.exe you found it and pressed ok? And then you selected File->Open and selected the campaign.sav pressed ok after which it crashed?

Could you upload your savegame somewhere?
It doesn't "crash", the error doesn't force the program to close, but yes.

Here's my save: http://www.mediafire.com/?77pf015pb337j8j
Jake250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:39 PM   #13
Johnbot
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake250 View Post
It doesn't "crash", the error doesn't force the program to close, but yes.

Here's my save: http://www.mediafire.com/?77pf015pb337j8j
For some reason there's no player name for save 1 and 3 :F
Can you play those?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:43 PM   #14
Jake250
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 317
I see. I thought I had progress in them but I didn't even get through Level 1. Which means no character is recorded yet, which makes your program crash.

I delete them and now your editor works.

This could actually be annoying when you lose your save game, since you have to play through the whole first level to edit the file.
Jake250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 02:04 PM   #15
Johnbot
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake250 View Post
I see. I thought I had progress in them but I didn't even get through Level 1. Which means no character is recorded yet, which makes your program crash.

I delete them and now your editor works.

This could actually be annoying when you lose your save game, since you have to play through the whole first level to edit the file.
I fixed it now so the save works again. If you download it again it should be the new version.

-bot
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Magicka


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.