Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2011, 03:43 PM   #1
larrle
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 54
Posts: 553
error code 10107

im getting this error that i cannot fix
steam.exe (main exception): WSAStartup() for 2.0 returned error code 10107

this accompanied my internet browser not being able to connect with any site server till i ran it as administrator internet works fine now steam does not uninstalled and reinstalled it all really dissapointing problems

any ideas?

Last edited by larrle: 02-08-2011 at 03:47 PM.
larrle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 03:46 PM   #2
0ddity
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 501
Posts: 2,599
Are you running ad-aware, or any other programs known to cause conflicts with steam?
0ddity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 03:49 PM   #3
larrle
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 54
Posts: 553
uh well up until today spyware doctor didnt interfere if i didnt run windows defender at the same time but ill turn it off and try..

no no change
larrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 03:51 PM   #4
0ddity
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 501
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrle View Post
uh well up until today spyware doctor didnt interfere if i didnt run windows defender at the same time but ill turn it off and try..

no no change
Just having them installed can cause conflicts, because programs often run services in the background. To make sure, I'd uninstall all software listed, and see if that fixes the issue.
0ddity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 03:53 PM   #5
larrle
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 54
Posts: 553
well i honestly uninstalled alout of things and this problem started today is there anything else that could cause this problem?
larrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 03:58 PM   #6
larrle
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 54
Posts: 553
also my other game starcraft 2 doesnt work thats prolly a thing for there forums but i feel it might be connected
larrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:16 PM   #7
0ddity
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 501
Posts: 2,599
A shot in the dark:

open up command prompt as administrator, then type in the following command without quotes and restart your computer: "netsh w r c" (note the spaces between w r c.)
0ddity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:20 PM   #8
larrle
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 54
Posts: 553
uh it says command w r c was not found also i should have already told you my computer runs on windows 7
larrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:24 PM   #9
0ddity
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 501
Posts: 2,599
In win7, try "netsh winsock reset".
0ddity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:33 PM   #10
larrle
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 54
Posts: 553
well after restarting my computer like it said im not getting error 10107 or the c++ either but it says its running in another session
larrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:38 PM   #11
0ddity
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 501
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrle View Post
well after restarting my computer like it said im not getting error 10107 or the c++ either but it says its running in another session
Is Steam.exe running in the task manager, if you show processes from all users?
0ddity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:40 PM   #12
larrle
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 54
Posts: 553
ok so its working now it said it was inadvisable to run it compalibilty mode but that might be the compalibilty troubleshoot i ran earlier before your suggestion

what exactly did you do? just so im aware

also +rep
larrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:46 PM   #13
larrle
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 54
Posts: 553
yep definitly all fixxed really appreciate it
larrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:47 PM   #14
0ddity
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 501
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrle View Post
ok so its working now it said it was inadvisable to run it compalibilty mode but that might be the compalibilty troubleshoot i ran earlier before your suggestion

what exactly did you do? just so im aware

also +rep
Steam can't run in compatibility mode, it will error out if you try. What did I do when?
0ddity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:51 PM   #15
larrle
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 54
Posts: 553
huh no i was asking what the command did as for compatibility mode its not really in that mode so its good running just like it did before this
larrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.