Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dreamcast Collection

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2011, 11:18 AM   #1
PenquinDude
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Configuration Doesn't Work... Period

Changing options in the configuration programs and clicking change does not save the changes. Manually editing the configuration files does not actually change any settings in game. Is there some registry setting I need to edit too? How the hell do you not test if CHANGING SETTINGS works?
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:11 PM   #2
Pieboy337
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 37
Doesn't work for me either. Would be nice if this could be fixed so I could play the game fullscreen.
Pieboy337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:36 PM   #3
quife
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
I just bought my sister a copy of "crazy taxi".....and not only can i not get full screen to work.....it does not recognize her controller......she has 2 controllers.....none of them are recognized.
You think steam would have worked this out ahead of time.
quife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:36 PM   #4
Cy-Fox
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 11
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pieboy337 View Post
Doesn't work for me either. Would be nice if this could be fixed so I could play the game fullscreen.
I can confirm this issue. And to think that I was going to hype it up at Sonic Blast.

EDIT: Here's what I tried, which did not work:
-Running the configuration tool as Administrator (using Windows 7)
-Running the configuration tool under Windows XP compatibility mode as Administrator
-Running the game as Administrator
-Running the game under Windows XP compatibility mode as Administrator
-Manually adjusting the config.ini file. Changes do not even take effect.

Same thing goes for Crazy Taxi.

Last edited by Cy-Fox: 03-04-2011 at 12:42 PM. Reason: Added test criteria.
Cy-Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 02:34 PM   #5
gablewriter
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Same here. Neither Sega Bass Fishing nor Crazy Taxi save their configuration settings. I'm going to have to change my monitor resolution just to fit the entire window.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 02:51 PM   #6
Joopy
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
For Windows 7 create the Directory:

C:\Users\{your usename}\Documents\Sega\SONIC ADVENTURE DX

copy the config.ini there and edit it and everything works.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 03:10 PM   #7
GhostFreak
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 10
Posts: 161
After users it's "My Documents" not "Documents" and there is no Sega folder listed under my documents.
GhostFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 03:22 PM   #8
ddaydj
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joopy View Post
For Windows 7 create the Directory:

C:\Users\{your usename}\Documents\Sega\SONIC ADVENTURE DX

copy the config.ini there and edit it and everything works.
Confirmed this works! Make a folder in My Documents called Sega and then another folder in there with the game name, in my case space channel 5 part 2. Copy the config.ini in there and it will actually load and save your settings. I saw it also added SC5PART2_DAT to that folder after running the game.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 03:23 PM   #9
Wickwack
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joopy View Post
For Windows 7 create the Directory:

C:\Users\{your usename}\Documents\Sega\SONIC ADVENTURE DX

copy the config.ini there and edit it and everything works.
I'm not worried about settings right now I'm worried about my game saves actually saving.....
Wickwack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 03:36 PM   #10
Shakey_Jake33
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 122
What Joopy posted allows one to manually edit the config.ini file (thanks for that), as well as to save... but I still seem to be unable to get my 360 controller to work. Or rather, I don't know which ini settings to alter to make it work.

Sega, did you guys even test this before sticking it on Steam?
Shakey_Jake33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 03:42 PM   #11
Louie82Y
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 12
Posts: 123
Learned my lesson from the Stranger's Wrath port BS last Winter, and checked the forums before making a purchase. Thank god I did. Took a whole month for Just Add Water to make SW playable, wouldn't surprise me if Sega took twice as long.
Louie82Y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:22 PM   #12
Shodan79
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakey_Jake33 View Post
What Joopy posted allows one to manually edit the config.ini file (thanks for that), as well as to save... but I still seem to be unable to get my 360 controller to work. Or rather, I don't know which ini settings to alter to make it work.

Sega, did you guys even test this before sticking it on Steam?
For some reason when I run the config file, the game won't see the controler but then the control responds while in game. But for some reason there is a delay in the response time so it causes me miss the dance moves in SC5.
Shodan79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:04 PM   #13
__Cxlee__
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddaydj View Post
Confirmed this works! Make a folder in My Documents called Sega and then another folder in there with the game name, in my case space channel 5 part 2. Copy the config.ini in there and it will actually load and save your settings. I saw it also added SC5PART2_DAT to that folder after running the game.
I tried that, the SP5PART2_DAT was added to the folder, but my config STILL won't save after that. Anyone experiencing this problem as well?
__Cxlee__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:05 PM   #14
Shakey_Jake33
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 122
Config.exe is broken, you have to edit the config.ini file manually in Notepad.
Shakey_Jake33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:06 PM   #15
Shodan79
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakey_Jake33 View Post
Config.exe is broken, you have to edit the config.ini file manually in Notepad.
Same here...now i have to try and figure out how to remap the controls. The ones for SC52 are awkward.
Shodan79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dreamcast Collection


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.