Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dreamcast Collection

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2011, 07:13 AM   #1
kaydee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Reputation: 79
Posts: 366
SADX custom resolution (UPDATED)

First, you will need to download a small files package.
http://www.gamefront.com/files/14597767/dx9res10.zip/

When the download is finished, extract the two files (one dll, and a cfg file) to sonic DX folder in Steam folder.

Steam\Steamapps\Common\Sonic Adventure DX

Open the CFG file using the notepad or other program.

Quote:
[config]
; ResX: Horizontal resolution setting
; ResY: Vertical resolution setting
; useFiltering: Use linear filtering for UI elements
; enableScreenshots: Hook printscreen keypress to save TGA screenshot
resX=640
resY=480

useFiltering=1
enableScreenshots=0
screenshotPath=.

[gamma]
; setGamma: Override gamma ramp
; gammaRed: Red channel gamma (1.0 = normal, decrease to add brightess, increase to darken)
; gammaGreen: Green channel gamma (1.0 = normal, decrease to add brightess, increase to darken)
; gammaBlue: Blue channel gamma (1.0 = normal, decrease to add brightess, increase to darken)
setGamma=0
gammaRed=1.0
gammaGreen=1.0
gammaBlue=1.0
Change the values of:

Quote:
resX=640
resY=480
to your desired resolution.
Quote:
Important: It seems SADX rendering is limited to 4:3 ratio. So, you will need to do a simple math.

If I want to sonic to run full screen with 4:3 aspect, with supported max. resolution on your monitor without artifacts, you'll have to find out either side of maximum resolution. Here, Let's say I'm going to use 1600x900.

4:3=X:900

X goes to your resX and 900 goes to resY.

For that example, X is 1200.

If game crashes after setting correct screen resolution, Ati users should search for a way to add custom resolution, and Nvidia users can goto the nvidia control panel, then Desktop resolution to add your max. 4:3 ratio for your monitor.

Although there should be no "real" black bars on your monitor after doing this, but in case your computer does that, nvidia users should check if nvidia scaling is selected in nvidia control panel.
Also, change the enableScreenshots value to 0. Steam overlay already has the capture function on the same button.

About that miscoordinations, this 4:3 solution seems no problem. I have taken a screenshot of the 1200x900 res. showing water splash. Check the link below.

Last edited by kaydee: 03-07-2011 at 05:18 AM. Reason: Update
kaydee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 07:48 AM   #2
Meth3rlence
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
Dunno about anyone else, but this doesn't work for me. It still runs in whatever res is set in the config.ini
Meth3rlence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 08:33 AM   #3
kaydee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Reputation: 79
Posts: 366
http://steamcommunity.com/id/mlsTy/s...lter=app_71250

Last edited by kaydee: 03-07-2011 at 05:18 AM.
kaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 05:43 PM   #4
inautumn
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 20
Posts: 48
Confirmed! Thank you for this! <---- [edit]I may have spoken too soon on this... it makes objects go nuts, and doesn't put the character in the right spot. What I mean is, if you jump in the water, the splash is in the wrong spot. Also it makes objects disappear and reappear randomly when they get to the sides of the screen.[edit]

Last edited by inautumn: 03-06-2011 at 06:11 PM.
inautumn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 05:09 AM   #5
kaydee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Reputation: 79
Posts: 366
So far I've gone to the casino area, and didn't encounter any graphical artifacts, except the first eggman battle in mystic valley, where eggman's after burner textures are about half inch away from the burners. I've uploaded more screenshots, so check it and try it!
kaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 07:03 PM   #6
FarDeath69
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 101
Posts: 672
or you could just... go to the config file you already have in SEGA/SONIC ADVENTURE DX (the one in Documents) find the line that says RESOLUTION=4 and change it to RESOLUTION=5
FarDeath69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 07:28 PM   #7
Teron16
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 50
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaydee View Post
WHY DOES IT LOOK TERRIBLE?
This is supposed to be the frickin directors cut.
The dreamcast version spread out on a 32" TV is less pixelated for godsake.

What did they do?
Teron16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 12:45 PM   #8
RangerXML
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 42
Posts: 1,560
Just an fyi, there are less graphic glitches if you set it to 1280x720, not to mention this allows me to switch between my TV and monitor without having to mess with the res. Also, and this rocks, the game works 100% with NV 3D Vision!
RangerXML is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 08:54 PM   #9
DustArma
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 125
Posts: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teron16 View Post
WHY DOES IT LOOK TERRIBLE?
This is supposed to be the frickin directors cut.
The dreamcast version spread out on a 32" TV is less pixelated for godsake.

What did they do?
They forced the game to render at 640x480 regardless of the actual resolution.
DustArma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:27 AM   #10
Flitskikker
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 9
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustArma View Post
They forced the game to render at 640x480 regardless of the actual resolution.
Even the older 2004 port didn't do that.
Flitskikker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:37 AM   #11
Malan
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Any chance to get a true custom resolution by ourselves?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 06:57 PM   #12
Narmy
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 1
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teron16 View Post
WHY DOES IT LOOK TERRIBLE?
This is supposed to be the frickin directors cut.
The dreamcast version spread out on a 32" TV is less pixelated for godsake.

What did they do?
Yeah it's total BS, even the Gamecube version looks better.

Steam version

GC version upscaled
Narmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 08:45 PM   #13
AtomicGaryBusey
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 14
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narmy View Post
Yeah it's total BS, even the Gamecube version looks better.

Steam version

GC version upscaled
Oh my god, that's night and day. It really shows how poor this port is. I'd love to see someone make a modern port of this independently of Sega. They sure can't seem to keep up with the times.
AtomicGaryBusey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 02:19 PM   #14
GTECH006
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 20
Unfortunately no matter what resolution it is, it still looks terrible.
GTECH006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 04:16 PM   #15
NalgasDLemur
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 12
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narmy View Post
Yeah it's total BS, even the Gamecube version looks better.

Steam version

GC version upscaled
To be fair, it does not look like that running on an actual GC. If you have the hardware for it and can run it in Dolphin (the GC/Wii emulator), though, a lot of games look surprisingly good and play well. At this point, the main thing I keep my Wii hooked up for is so I can use it to rip my old GC games to transfer to my PC when I occasionally feel like playing one of them, because the ones that work properly in the emulator look dramatically better, and not having to switch discs is nice. One of these days I'll get Skies of Arcadia Legends working without the handful of little glitches it still has, but I'd buy a decent port if that ever happens...
NalgasDLemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dreamcast Collection


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.