Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Borderlands

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2011, 04:51 AM   #1
wolftypex
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
DLC KEY

okay so i got the game of the year version, an was working sweet for about a week, now its asking me to activate each of the dlc's even thow i was playing them befor that.
plus steam only show me 2 keys out of the 4.
anyone got a fix?
wolftypex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 06:06 AM   #2
seseorang
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 736
Posts: 7,358
Only two of the DLC require keys. This is for SecuROM, the remaining two DLC do not use SecuROM.

If you are being asked to activate the DLCs do so
seseorang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 11:04 AM   #3
bl4ckrider
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 283
Posts: 1,505
I installed Borderlands on a new computer and had the Knoxx and Zombie DLC.

I can access General Knoxx DLC.
When the game starts it says I need a key for the Zombie DLC and it is displayed.

In game however I am not asked for a key and I can't teleport to the Zombie part, but I can teleport to the start of the Knoxx DLC.

Does anyone know where I can enter the key (tried activating a Steam game and entered the key there but it didn't work)?

Thx for any help.
bl4ckrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 01:37 AM   #4
seseorang
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 736
Posts: 7,358
The keys are not for Steam.

You should be able to navigate to:
~Steam\steamapps\common\borderlands\Binaries

and there will be DLC1 setup and DLC2 set up. You should be able to enter your key here
seseorang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 09:53 PM   #5
bl4ckrider
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 283
Posts: 1,505
Thx a lot, it works.

These developers expect other people to know a lot.
bl4ckrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:51 PM   #6
seseorang
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 736
Posts: 7,358
No, it's just that Steam uses VDF where a list of things are to be run, and then marked in the registry as "already done" so the next time you launch the game it won't try to install loads of crap all the time (looking at you DirectX)
seseorang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Borderlands


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.