Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dragon Age series > Dragon Age 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2011, 09:37 AM   #1
Link1429
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
Anyone getting BSODs?

Keep getting the blue screen during any of the fights within the first 20 mins of the game. It'll freeze for ~10 seconds, then blue screen, saying something along the lines of my video card timing out. If it helps, here's the main specs:

Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit (6.1.7600)
2 x ATI Radeon HD 4890 1GB running Crossfire (Driver version 11.2)
6GB RAM
1440 x 900 resolution
Widescreen (16:10) ratio
Medium graphics detail
AA off
DirectX 9 rendering, but can use DirectX11

Fun part is that I ran the demo at max settings and never had an issue... :/

Last edited by Link1429: 03-09-2011 at 09:40 AM.
Link1429 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 09:43 AM   #2
sfade
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 986
Posts: 2,138
I've seen a lot of similar claims from people running dual GPU. Just for troubleshoot purposes you might try running a single card (I know, not optimal - but it would give you a hint as to where the issue might be originating).

Also another recommended course of action, try using the AMD Catalyst 11.4 preview drivers, it might help. (Link below)

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...lypreview.aspx
sfade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 09:54 AM   #3
Link1429
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
Tried the 11.4 update, and it blue screened me.

Guess I can try the single card....as much as that makes me a sadface...
Link1429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 09:58 AM   #4
sfade
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 986
Posts: 2,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Link1429 View Post
Tried the 11.4 update, and it blue screened me.

Guess I can try the single card....as much as that makes me a sadface...
Yeah, but if you don't encounter a bluescreen then you know where to start (and at least it would be playable).

If you still get the bluescreen, then you know it's something else.
sfade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:07 AM   #5
GoldenShadow
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Reputation: 125
Posts: 1,414
The only times I had blue screen was on my old power supply. Some games are just so demanding that force the GPU{s} to need more juice than the power supply can produce.

I went from a 50 dollar average 750 watt power supply to a 200 dollar high end 850 watt. Its been stable ever since. This was over a year ago.
GoldenShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:17 AM   #6
Link1429
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
Here's the BSOD message:

"Attempt to reset the display driver and recover from timeout failed."
Link1429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:29 AM   #7
sfade
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 986
Posts: 2,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Link1429 View Post
Here's the BSOD message:

"Attempt to reset the display driver and recover from timeout failed."
That's what's known as attempted VPU recovery. The display driver (for whatever reason) has basically stopped responding to the system and the system attempts to reset the display driver to recover and continue operating, but failed to do so.

The cause could be anything from old/incorrect/corrupted driver installations to hardware defect/incompatibility. As golden mentioned, sometimes it is the result of unstable power supply (not many people realize that a PSU's ability to deliver power deteriorates with age - sometimes significantly). This can especially become a problem in high demand scenarios such as a dual GPU system (which can be extremely power hungry in certain games) and the system is built with a power supply that did not take into account the slow decline of the PSU with age a few years down the line. Again, reverting to a single card as a means of troubleshooting would also alleviate a problem with adequate power supply so it makes a good troubleshoot step.

One other option is to completely clean the system of all drivers and driver remnants and install freshly. This is usually accomplished using a tool such as Driver Sweeper (http://www.guru3d.com/category/driversweeper/).

Last edited by sfade: 03-09-2011 at 10:36 AM.
sfade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:39 AM   #8
Link1429
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
Even if said PSU is roughly 19 months old...?
Link1429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:44 AM   #9
HitNRun
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
If it makes you feel better, yesterday I played for four hours, then quit for a break. I went back to it, and right after the game itself loaded, my PC turned off. Now I can't even get past the dragon cinematic where it goes all "RAWR! bioware"... My rig flat out shuts off. Now my computer has to run a chkdsk on my D: drive because evidenly now it's "dirty" from turning off every time I loaded DA2. I wanted to have some fun with it yesterday, and I'm finding myself VERY disappointed.. In case anyone's wondering:

Dual core 3.2 Ghz,
GeForce 8800 GTS (just updated the drivers this morning, haven't tried DA2 yet)
2 Gb RAM
300 GB Hard Drive
1280x1024 max resolution monitor

My PC runs fine until I launch DA2 so wtf could this game be doing to cause my PC to turn off?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:50 AM   #10
Mudge
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 34
Hit..
That actually sounds like a problem I had shortly after starting the demo.. I found out the fan on my Graphic card had died and so my comp was over heating.. I REALLY hopping this fan doesn't die as in no way shape or form should DA2 even give my system a case of gas... though my monitor sucks heh.. so yeah check your fan speed and system temps.
Mudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:56 AM   #11
sfade
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 986
Posts: 2,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Link1429 View Post
Even if said PSU is roughly 19 months old...?
I'm not saying that is definitely your problem, but it does happen fairly frequently - especially if the unit is being run very close to it's maximum capacity. Usually a PSU problem becomes very noticeable, as any games that place heavy loads on the GPU's would cause identical instability. You can also artificially induce the behavior with the use of something such as a GPU benchmark program.

The decline in efficiency of a PSU depends on many factors.

Overall Age
Overall Quality of Components (Capacitors, etc)
Average Temperature (PSU efficiency drops corresponding to maximum temp)

And so on... determining if a PSU is the problem can be tricky without professional measurement tools, but again it usually becomes apparent as problems arise any time the system is put under heavy demand (and thus becomes unstable as a result of the power supply failing to deliver adequately).

Last edited by sfade: 03-09-2011 at 11:00 AM.
sfade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 11:03 AM   #12
Link1429
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
Well.....go figure. A complete uninstall and reinstall of 11.2 driver seemed to work.

Temperatures of the main card hover in the range of 75-80 degrees C with the fan around 49-54%. Didn't think they run that hot, but AMD says anything below 110 is good to go >.>
Link1429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 11:08 AM   #13
sfade
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 986
Posts: 2,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Link1429 View Post
Well.....go figure. A complete uninstall and reinstall of 11.2 driver seemed to work.
It's surprising how many times that solves the problem, especially when drivers have been updated many times. I keep that Driver Sweeper on a flash drive just because of that.
sfade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 11:11 AM   #14
Mudge
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Link1429 View Post
Temperatures of the main card hover in the range of 75-80 degrees C with the fan around 49-54%
Thats pretty dam warm dude.. my AMD HD 6 series runs around 43c idle so maybe thats in acceptible ranges I can't be sure but that does sound pretty warm.
Mudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 11:14 AM   #15
Link1429
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
Probably running that high because I went ahead and bumped the graphics back up to High.

Although, I haven't taken a can of air to the inside for about 15 days now...
Link1429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dragon Age series > Dragon Age 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.