Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2011, 03:08 PM   #1
Rewjeo
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Steam can't connect to the internet...

I'm trying to get Steam (as in it has never worked), but I get an error that says some thing like "In order to use Steam you must be connected to the internet." Obviously, I am. Now, I've tried every solution I could find in the support section other than my router (I'm using a wireless internet connection , so moving my computer is something I'd rather not do just to test) but I still get the same error.

It sounds like the clientregistry.blob should be the problem, but I've tried repeatedly deleting/renaming it and nothing works. If it helps, when it creates a new clientregistry.blob, it is initially 10,241 KB and then becomes 1 KB. Might it be making corrupt files every time? Are there any other solutions that are harder to find in the support section/aren't in the support section? Is it likely enough that it's the router that I should try?
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 03:48 PM   #2
crunchyfrog555
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 2669
Posts: 9,511
Are you sure you have the ports correctly configured/open for Steam?
https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...8571-GLVN-8711

That's one of the first things I'd check for, particularly as it's something you need to configure through your router's control panel.
crunchyfrog555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 04:03 PM   #3
A1ka1inE
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I am pretty sure that file has to be of a significant size. Dealt with it in the past.
That's all I have sorry.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 08:32 PM   #4
Gentle
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Reputation: 552
Posts: 5,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rewjeo View Post
I'm trying to get Steam (as in it has never worked), but I get an error that says some thing like "In order to use Steam you must be connected to the internet." Obviously, I am.
Yes, your BROWSER is connected to the internet...

Have you checked firewall permissions for Steam though?

It sounds like the classic "firewall not allowing Steam to connect until you tell the firewall it is o.k. for Steam to connect" issue.

Gentle
Gentle is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.