Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Unreal series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2011, 10:50 AM   #1
swiftpawz
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
FIXED: UT3.exe has stopped working

Hi, after much frustration and forum reading, I finally discovered a fix for this problem. If, like me, you are using Win 7 64 bit and can't get UT3 to run at all, then continue reading.

After installing the game and all patches etc, when I run ut3.exe I would instantly get a pop-up window saying that UT3.exe has stopped working. There was much advice about having the correct drivers, .net software, directx, physx, deleting ini files, making sure the steamapps folder wasn't readonly etc, but it turns out the main culprit is Kaspersky 2011 version 11.0.2.556. For some reason it has a problem with some games using the unreal engine /facepalm.

The way to solve this is by using an older version of Kaspersky or uninstalling it, just disabling it won't make a difference. SO, go to this link:

http://www.kasperskylab.co.uk/kavfil...1.400en_gb.exe

enter these details:

user name: kavuser
Password: Dfpt43

and download the file, you wil need to uninstall the latest version, reboot then install the file you get from there, when it detects a later version say no and 400 will install. Then activate this with your cd key of the 556 version.

If you want to read more about this check out my source: http://forums.epicgames.com/showthread.php?t=762186

Your game will now play!!! Thank you.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 10:35 AM   #2
Xthman
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 37
just made a report to kapersky lab, hope they fix it,

and yea thnx for ur efforts
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

so guys kaspersly replied and here it is,,,


Please do the following:
Turn Kaspersky Self-Defense off - http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=208282021
Copy the attached sbhook.dll (unpack it first) and replace the one in %Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security
Then turn Self-Defense back on and try playing Unreal again. Thank you.

This message was generated automatically from an unmonitored account. Please do not reply to it.
Best regards,
Technical Support team
Kaspersky Lab


and here is the file:
ftp://cssdownloader:givVinebTyThyct0...250/sbhook.rar


tried it my self and it works

Last edited by Xthman: 04-16-2011 at 02:51 PM. Reason: found the solution
Xthman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 10:15 AM   #3
HBMarco
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 5
Posts: 10
Thumbs up

Very Big Thx @ swiftpawz

I can`t startet "Mirror`s Edge", "Frontlines: Fuel of War"
and "Unreal Tournament 3: Black Edition" with Version 11.0.2.556
of "Kaspersky Internet Security 2011". With the older Version v11.01.400
i can all three Games started and playing ... thx you again for help
HBMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 03:58 PM   #4
bert111a
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Talking

The rar file worked like a charm. I bet this would work for a few other games or programs too! Thanks for the post!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 02:01 AM   #5
GPhase
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
wanted to say thanks for this post, i had a problem launching this game, had no idea why, i just clicked the shortcut and nothing happened, no error messages or something like that, have never thought kaspersky internet security can be the reason
GPhase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 09:07 AM   #6
epsylon_Z1
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 1402
Posts: 3,995
Game works fine with the latest KIS . Version 12.0.0.374.
epsylon_Z1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 05:28 PM   #7
Rahab_mx
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 121
Posts: 701
Need to bump this ans stick it, is the only fix i have seen in the internet that works and does not force the user to install an older verison of KIS
Rahab_mx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 12:16 PM   #8
needfer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
What if I am not running KIS on my comp but I still get this "UT3.exe has stopped working" message? KIS is just another Norton or Macafee setup right?
needfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Unreal series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.