Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Magicka

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2011, 07:57 AM   #1
Lokarin
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 23
Posts: 340
How do you manually reduce the resolution?

I get nothing but a black screen with sounds.

I remember the demo worked, but it too ran at some ungodly high resolution.
Lokarin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 08:08 AM   #2
tacc
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 1272
Posts: 3,346
http://uploaded.to/file/ygddjj5j

Put that there:
\Steam\steamapps\common\magicka\SaveData\

It's a config with window mode, 800x600 and minimum details.

(Isn't it great how I try to help people playing a game that I absolutely hate by now?)
tacc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 08:19 AM   #3
Lokarin
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 23
Posts: 340
Yay, the game works.

It still runs poorly, I'd prefer 640x480, but at least it's working.
Lokarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 08:55 AM   #4
Grunwaldt
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 27
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacc View Post
(Isn't it great how I try to help people playing a game that I absolutely hate by now?)
Why do you hate it? due to the bugs and issues?
Grunwaldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 09:19 AM   #5
tacc
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 1272
Posts: 3,346
I bought it 1 1/2 months ago. Could't play it because of permanent stuttering. I ended up installing XP just for this game, noticed that it's actually playable there, devolpers breaks the game literally a few minutes later, takes them one week to fix it and then the stuttering was present on XP too.
I documented everything I did here (too bad that I didn't coun the hours I wasted with trying to get this game playable):
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1755594

That reminds me that it's actually outdated. Got to fix that.
tacc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 09:29 AM   #6
Lokarin
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 23
Posts: 340
I am running a low end machine though, so a little stuttering is ok... Radeon 3450, single CPU.

I got the game running, but it still crashes too often for me to bother continuing. I'll wait until the weekend, new parts.
Lokarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 12:11 PM   #7
XEshamX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 111
Posts: 2,475
And that is why reading the system requirements is kind of important.
XEshamX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 01:00 PM   #8
sinamart
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 7
Posts: 9
Yes i should have read the specs, but since it appeared (by the screeshots) to be a less-than-intensive-graphics game i never thought my Ati 1600 wont run it sive i can run many complex games (older thou).
I bet with all the money from the steam sales they can hoire a couple programmers to deal with this (fingers crossed)
sinamart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 02:41 PM   #9
PS_
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 103
Posts: 1,670
@sinamart

With XNA being base for the game I suspect they have come as far as they can on this. (Enabling lower specs graphics is not really an option. They would have to do a "new" Magicka to be able to.)

BUT

Your X1600 graphics support vertex/pixel shader 3 and is in line with the best Intel HD Graphics 3000 . Although being quite far below specs, as of ~July 1 you at least have one additional option left.


Check this out, se if it's for you. First link gets you back here, second is for "New option crude fix".
Easy enough to just try ...
PS_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 01:52 PM   #10
Bobdoyle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacc View Post
http://uploaded.to/file/ygddjj5j

Put that there:
\Steam\steamapps\common\magicka\SaveData\

It's a config with window mode, 800x600 and minimum details.

(Isn't it great how I try to help people playing a game that I absolutely hate by now?)
I tried that but it won't let me download because I have a free account
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:50 PM   #11
PS_
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 103
Posts: 1,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacc View Post
Put that there:
\Steam\steamapps\common\magicka\SaveData\

It's a config with window mode, 800x600 and minimum details.

As tacc's file gone missing, I've uploaded a new one. Same settings, windowed and low on all.
You will find it here: http://www.bredbandsbolaget.se/portl...alval/magicka/
PS_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 08:39 AM   #12
imdabom101
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
WORKING FIX

GUYS, WORKING FIX
INSTALL DOTNETFX35 AND XNAFX31_REDIST FROM THIS FOLDER
C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Magicka\Dependencies
THEN INSTALL LATEST DIRECTX

^
I found this on YoutTube. Some guy posted it in the comments and when i tried it it worked for me
imdabom101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:55 PM   #13
PS_
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 103
Posts: 1,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by imdabom101 View Post
GUYS, WORKING FIX
INSTALL DOTNETFX35 AND XNAFX31_REDIST FROM THIS FOLDER
C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Magicka\Dependencies
THEN INSTALL LATEST DIRECTX

^
I found this on YoutTube. Some guy posted it in the comments and when i tried it it worked for me
All well and good imdabom101, but has nothing to do with the subject "How do you manually reduce the resolution?"

It will not fix a resolution error due to a corrupted or badly set "settings.sav" file. The fix you posted is mainly for issues like "Magicka stopped working ..." producing an exception error like this APPCRASH.
PS_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 05:31 PM   #14
Dawsbros
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 54
where is settings.sav
Dawsbros is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Magicka


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.