Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Old 03-30-2011, 10:38 AM   #1
thanosman93

Exclamation [Overclocking]Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300

Hello there. I'd like some help with overclocking my Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300.

What i'd like to say is that i am a complete newbie when it comes to overclocking. My first OC experience was today when i successfully OC'd my Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT.

P.s.: I am currently reading the Sticky(basically the two threads in it) about Overclocking 101,watching a few Youtube tutorials, googling tips etc.

I didn't really mind OC'ing my GPU, because i figured out there weren't many risks involved. But since i read that there is danger of frying my CPU, i've been scared less ever since.

In your opinion, do you think i should try to overclock my CPU, just let it as it is, anything constructive will be really appreciated.

Here is a Speccy snapshot with my full PC specs if it helps you:
PC Specs

I'll be anxiously waiting for "seasoned veteran" tips!

Thanks in advance!
Old 03-30-2011, 10:40 AM   #2
Skruly

You should tell us what CPU cooler (Heatsink / Fan) you have, and what kind of temperatures are you getting without overclocking.
Skruly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:46 AM   #3
rotNdude

Volunteer Moderator
Why do you feel you need to overclock the CPU?
rotNdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:51 AM   #4
thanosman93

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skruly View Post
You should tell us what CPU cooler (Heatsink / Fan) you have, and what kind of temperatures are you getting without overclocking.
Stock cooler, around 37 oC idling and 56-58 when on load.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rotNdude View Post
Why do you feel you need to overclock the CPU?