Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dungeon Siege series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2011, 02:00 AM   #1
Rohok
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 1
Posts: 73
DS 1 + 2 LAN

Can anybody who has purchased this preorder say with great, 100%, total utter certainty that Dungeon Siege 1 and 2 come with a LAN component? I don't want any guessing or speculating, just a sure, complete answer. It says multiplayer was fully removed, but I'm wondering if that means the actual menu item was removed, or if you just click multiplayer it doesn't load anything up.

Anybody have a none speculative, none guess answer available?

Thanks in advance folks.
Rohok is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 02:17 AM   #2
TerrapinRangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 16
When you click on multiplayer on DS1 it says flatly "disabled"
TerrapinRangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 02:22 AM   #3
Viss
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
NO Multiplayer at all

I purchased it without checking, I just assumed it would be the full original games. Now I wish I hadnt.

There is NO multiplayer at all in DS 1 or DS 2.

If your buying the pack for DS 3 then go for it but if your buying it because it contains DS 1 and DS 2 DONT buy the steam pack, its worthless.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 02:22 AM   #4
Forsythia
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 212
Posts: 1,183
Yeah, any multiplayer feature whatsoever has been disabled.
Forsythia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 02:24 AM   #5
TerrapinRangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 16
I haven't played with it yet, but this is in the .ini:


driver_description = Primary Display Driver - Hardware TnL
width = 1920
height = 1200
bpp = 32

[multiplayer]
gun_server = dungeonsiege.zone.com
gun_server_port = 2300
news_server = motd.dungeonsiege.zone.com
news_server_file = /news/news.txt
news_server_port = 80
autoupdate_server = autoupdate.zone.com
autoupdate_proxy = autoupdate.zone.com
TerrapinRangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 04:15 AM   #6
Ciryaher
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 107
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viss View Post
I purchased it without checking, I just assumed it would be the full original games. Now I wish I hadnt.

There is NO multiplayer at all in DS 1 or DS 2.

If your buying the pack for DS 3 then go for it but if your buying it because it contains DS 1 and DS 2 DONT buy the steam pack, its worthless.
AFAIK you can cancel your preorder. You should contact Steam support.
Ciryaher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 02:36 PM   #7
Rohok
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 1
Posts: 73
What I'm worried about is buying it, and then them releasing a version later that you have to buy separately to get multiplayer.
Rohok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 04:40 AM   #8
bushwhacker2k
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 23
Posts: 289
Oh, I just made a topic asking about this but I think this covered my decision.

The decision to remove the ability to play DS1 and 2 via LAN has made me decide not to buy it.

I hope the ones responsible for the decision read this.
bushwhacker2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dungeon Siege series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.