Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Portal 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2011, 10:35 PM   #1
Vulturashul
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 21
Posts: 45
Failed to load the Launcher DLL: (null)

Anyone has any idea how do I fix this? Game downloaded, decrypted, etc, and when I try to run it, a small window with the message "Failed to load the Launcher DLL: (null)" appears. What should I do?
Vulturashul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:40 PM   #2
decltype
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I guess this means LoadLibrary returned NULL. So either the DLL is missing, corrupted, or the path specified is wrong/incomplete.

Do you have any weird working directory defaults?

I don't have Portal 2 installed yet so I can't tell you where the DLL should be located, but try to find the directory containing it and add that to your PATH environment variable as a potential temporary workaround.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:43 PM   #3
Vulturashul
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 21
Posts: 45
I have some weird files that have the _osx termination, going to reinstall P2, maybe this will fix it?
Vulturashul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:50 PM   #4
decltype
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Just to make sure, which OS are you running?

Sorry, it's hard to communicate with the 20 minute roundtrip due to the 1 post per 10 minutes limitation.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:53 PM   #5
Vulturashul
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 21
Posts: 45
PC, Windows XP, SP2.
Steam ID here



Checked a friend he has the same osx files and it's working for him...

Last edited by Vulturashul: 04-18-2011 at 11:16 PM.
Vulturashul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 02:29 AM   #6
Lemsama
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 49
Posts: 329
Same thing. I might cry.
Lemsama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 02:41 AM   #7
taz-ed
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 110
Posts: 2,183
i had this on the alien swarm game using the new hl3/portal engine it seems your cpu needs to beable to do SSE 2 instructions which my cpu couldn't :/
taz-ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 05:21 AM   #8
bethlikesportal
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Same problem.
I think I'm gonna cry...
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 12:05 PM   #9
bethlikesportal
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I reinstalled.
Didn't do anything.
Got the same error message.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 01:46 PM   #10
j0e
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
same problem, can't play it
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 05:20 AM   #11
gbuskirk
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Same problem, installing my daughter's copy on her system, running XP with 1.5GB RAM on a 3.0GHz AMD Athlon and 3x required disk space.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 05:46 AM   #12
Lemsama
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 49
Posts: 329
Is there a known fix for this issue ?
Lemsama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 12:14 PM   #13
j0e
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
got it to work

1. kill the hidden portal 2 process
2. verify cache integrity

worked for me, found 44 files that had to be redownloaded

note that if you skip step 1, although it looks like it's checking cache, it's actually not. you have to kill the process THEN check cache
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 12:30 PM   #14
Mo45
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 35
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by j0e View Post
got it to work

1. kill the hidden portal 2 process
2. verify cache integrity

worked for me, found 44 files that had to be redownloaded

note that if you skip step 1, although it looks like it's checking cache, it's actually not. you have to kill the process THEN check cache
I dont have hidden portal 2 process, but have this crash.

Try to Verify files of the game, i verified them all and it's now downloading 2 files (218mb).

Download, but error stil break my game ;\

Last edited by Mo45: 04-20-2011 at 01:02 PM.
Mo45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 01:06 PM   #15
Lemsama
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 49
Posts: 329
Just a quick survey here :
How many of you are running an AMD processor ?
This error existed previously on Alien Swarm, due to old AMD proc not supporting SSE2. Could it be linked ?
Lemsama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Portal 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.