Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Portal 2

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2011, 05:52 PM   #151
willomo
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 4
Posts: 98
I have two 1680 x 1050 monitors, and I can get them to span just fine.

However,each screen has the middle segment of it used to show the character view.
like this
[010][010]
[010][010]
[010][010]
1 Is what is being used, 0 is what isn't, and [/] is the monitor border.

What setting do I have to change?
willomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 06:15 PM   #152
ren008
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 31
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by krylles View Post
change your native desktop resolution to 3840x1080. all i had to do.
Just so everyone knows, display spanning in this manner is not supported by Vista. Only clone or extended desktop modes work... Worked with XP, works with 7, but Vista for whatever reason removed this very handy feature. Time to upgrade to 7!!
ren008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 06:19 PM   #153
salad10203
 
Banned
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by ren008 View Post
Just so everyone knows, display spanning in this manner is not supported by Vista. Only clone or extended desktop modes work... Worked with XP, works with 7, but Vista for whatever reason removed this very handy feature. Time to upgrade to 7!!
On Nvidia and since 151 drivers there has been no display spanning. : (
salad10203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 06:20 PM   #154
Sconc
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
So I've got the PS3 Controller hooked up to ID2 on JoyID, however it still seems to be working with player one. Everythings fine on it, just the wrong side of the screen.

I've ran the config that is posted on the front page as well as one further down however it seems to have no effect.

Running Windows 7 64x

Also - Does having a non ps3 controller in slot 1 make a difference? Didn't think it would.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 06:22 PM   #155
chemical_burn
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
OK so I named the notepad file that i made in the cfg folder as "joy_coop360.cfg" "." meant to do that right? I started up the game, loaded a mp_coop level, and then typed "exec joy_coop360.cfg" the same thing came up that it couldn't.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 06:58 PM   #156
trojanrabbit.gg
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 6097
Posts: 1,645
Question!

I've got two monitors, both of which have two separate aspect ratios. One is a wide screen 16x10 and the other is a standard 4x3...

Can I get the game to recognize both separate aspect ratios? If so, how would I go about doing so?
trojanrabbit.gg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 07:00 PM   #157
Indica
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Indica:
Can anyone tell me what to enter into the splitscreen config to enable dual moniter split across two 16:9 1920x1080 screens?

Quote:
Originally Posted by krylles View Post
change your native desktop resolution to 3840x1080. all i had to do.
I am unable to switch to that resolution on vista. Is there any other way?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 09:54 PM   #158
ZombieMannequin
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 256
Posts: 204
I'm not getting the level progression problem using this configuration: Clicko

Was able to get achievements and everything.
ZombieMannequin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 10:26 PM   #159
maksimus
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
Easiest way to make ANY controller work with Portal 2 COOP:
1.Download Xbox 360 Controller Emulator (X360CE) http://www.multiupload.com/7ZKOLGH3PE
2.Extract it to "steamapps/common/portal 2/bin" folder replacing xinput.dll file with emulator xinput.dll file
3.Open x360ce.ini
4.Change line [PAD1] to [PAD2] and line [PAD2] to [PAD1]
5.Open x360ce.exe
6.Choose preset: Clear
7.Press Load (down right corner)
8.Choose Controller 2 (up left corner, green light must be lit)
9.Choose button, press [Record], then press the same button on controller
10.Make #9 for all the buttons
11.Create config 360.cfg in steamapps/common/portal 2/portal 2/cfg (cfg from first post)
12.start Portal 2
13.type in console: exec 360
14.type in console: ss_map mp_coop_start
15.Play !!!

Last edited by maksimus: 04-20-2011 at 10:29 PM.
maksimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 11:17 PM   #160
krylles
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by ren008 View Post
Just so everyone knows, display spanning in this manner is not supported by Vista. Only clone or extended desktop modes work... Worked with XP, works with 7, but Vista for whatever reason removed this very handy feature. Time to upgrade to 7!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indica View Post
I am unable to switch to that resolution on vista. Is there any other way?
i know nothing of vista. i would've guessed the video driver control panel would give access to it if vista did not.

in my catalyst control center i had to create a "group" under Desktop Management - Creating and Arranging Desktops.
krylles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 01:00 AM   #161
Niente
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by maksimus View Post
Easiest way to make ANY controller work with Portal 2 COOP:
1.Download Xbox 360 Controller Emulator (X360CE) http://www.multiupload.com/7ZKOLGH3PE
2.Extract it to "steamapps/common/portal 2/bin" folder replacing xinput.dll file with emulator xinput.dll file
3.Open x360ce.ini
4.Change line [PAD1] to [PAD2] and line [PAD2] to [PAD1]
5.Open x360ce.exe
6.Choose preset: Clear
7.Press Load (down right corner)
8.Choose Controller 2 (up left corner, green light must be lit)
9.Choose button, press [Record], then press the same button on controller
10.Make #9 for all the buttons
11.Create config 360.cfg in steamapps/common/portal 2/portal 2/cfg (cfg from first post)
12.start Portal 2
13.type in console: exec 360
14.type in console: ss_map mp_coop_start
15.Play !!!
Tried... but somethings wrong.
Now the game didn't response to my controller (x360ce did)
I tried changing the xinput 1_3.dll to other names (1_9_0,1_2) but still no use...
Niente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 02:07 AM   #162
eetcheez
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 87
Posts: 1,240
I'd be very much in favor of Valve simply re-implementing this into the game, instead of having to fuss around with all this. Shouldn't be too hard.

People screaming foul about a simple string mix-up, but don't even care about a missing MP mode from the supposedly best version of the game. I will never get some people...

Thanks for this OP, BTW.
eetcheez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 02:28 AM   #163
chameleon8
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Reputation: 165
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZombieMannequin View Post
I'm not getting the level progression problem using this configuration: Clicko

Was able to get achievements and everything.
Interesting, it might be because he uses ss_enable before the ss_map or something. His config is pretty vanilla - it just sets up both controllers instead of only Player 1.

I'll look into it tomorrow when I have some time. It would be cool if anyone can confirm this!
chameleon8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 03:09 AM   #164
maksimus
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Niente View Post
Tried... but somethings wrong.
Now the game didn't response to my controller (x360ce did)
I tried changing the xinput 1_3.dll to other names (1_9_0,1_2) but still no use...
Did you hear a beep when launching Portal 2?
If you do then the emulator is working fine, and if you changed the lines [PAD1] and [PAD2] then only your controller should respond in the game when controlling the orange bot. It won't respond in the main menu though.
maksimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 05:46 AM   #165
asteroid
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
I really hope Valve patches in a simpler splitscreen option. But they never did with Left 4 Dead. Please Valve.
asteroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Portal 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.