Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Mass Effect series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2011, 06:51 PM   #1
Loosegangsta
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Exclamation Mass Effect not Starting

Hi everyone, i bought mass effect and mass effect 2 about 3 days ago and after downloading mass effect and trying to start it and getting the 'preparing to launch mass effect...' i get the windows error message saying that mass effect has stopped working.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: MassEffect.exe
Application Version: 1.2.20608.0
Application Timestamp: 4a55fea1
Fault Module Name: ntdll.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17514
Fault Module Timestamp: 4ce7ba58
Exception Code: c00000fd
Exception Offset: 0002e8d3
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 3081
Additional Information 1: e8ad
Additional Information 2: e8adce1c2b9e7be834b4063ac3c53863
Additional Information 3: e8ad
Additional Information 4: e8adce1c2b9e7be834b4063ac3c53863


now ive tried the start in system admin, in all ways possible, rolling back directX, pretty much everything.

Pc Specs

Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1
Core2 Duo @ 3.00Ghz
4GB DDR2-800
Gigabyte GTX 460 SOC Edition 1GB
ASUS P5KPL-CM motherboard
1TB HDD @ 7200RPM

if anyone needs anything else just ask, this is my first time asking for help on a forum.
Thanks in Advance.
Loosegangsta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 07:14 PM   #2
rad666a
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 193
Posts: 1,398
First thing, you should probably verify the integrity of the game cache.

If you don't know how, do the following:

1) In your games Library, right click on the game.
2) Select "Properties".
3) Click on the "Local Files" tab.
4) Click on "Verify Integrity of Game Cache".

Wait for it to finish, and then retry running the game.

If that fails, I'm fairly certain Mass Effect 1 had issues when used on overclocked hardware, and your SOC (Super OverClocked) video card may be causing the problem. However, overclocking may only be an issue with Mass Effect 1, so it may not be it.

Last edited by rad666a: 04-24-2011 at 07:19 PM.
rad666a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 07:30 PM   #3
Loosegangsta
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
okay, done the verifying, no dice. still not working.

is there any way to under clock the SOC?
Loosegangsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:18 PM   #4
Loosegangsta
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
it did say that 1 file could not be validated adn would be reaquired though.
Loosegangsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 11:42 PM   #5
Loosegangsta
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
okay, ive done some snooping around on what you said on the overclocking and i managed to find a program (MSI AfterBurner) to under clock the SOC to the original speeds. (Core@675MHz, Shader@1350MHz, Memory@900Mhz Real) but still nothing. I also undervolted it to 825mV and still nothing. i am really at my wits end here
Loosegangsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 12:10 AM   #6
thatdude90210
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Reputation: 28
Posts: 225
Something to try is both Steam and Mass effect "run as administrator", not just logged in as administrator.
thatdude90210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 07:06 AM   #7
Loosegangsta
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
done. as i said. ive run everything as admin. mass effect, steam, mass effect launcher, everything. no dice
Loosegangsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 07:30 AM   #8
arizonachris
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 856
Posts: 7,505
It's not the game, it's Windows:

"Fault Module Name: ntdll.dll"

Go to Windows Update and make sure you are fully covered. Beyond that, you may need to do a repair of Windows. Make sure you have cleaned all the malware and virus's. Running CCleaner http://download.cnet.com/ccleaner/ can fix a lot of Windows issues as well.
arizonachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 08:08 AM   #9
Loosegangsta
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
i had a feeling about that. i wanted confermation tho. not sure i trust ccleaner

EDIT: ran everything in CCleaner all options. still nothing

Last edited by Loosegangsta: 04-25-2011 at 08:15 AM.
Loosegangsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 08:14 PM   #10
Loosegangsta
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
well i think i found the problem.

i did a format of my computer last night and installed steam and ME, ran in administrator, and it works.. i haven't 'activated' my computer though. i think that was the problem

EDIT: Scratch what i said, it's an update! one of windows updates causes the 'ntdll.dll' crash. now, to figure out what one it is...

Last edited by Loosegangsta: 04-27-2011 at 02:09 AM.
Loosegangsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 04:03 AM   #11
akinaqi
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loosegangsta View Post
Hi everyone, i bought mass effect and mass effect 2 about 3 days ago and after downloading mass effect and trying to start it and getting the 'preparing to launch mass effect...' i get the windows error message saying that mass effect has stopped working.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: MassEffect.exe
Application Version: 1.2.20608.0
Application Timestamp: 4a55fea1
Fault Module Name: ntdll.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17514
Fault Module Timestamp: 4ce7ba58
Exception Code: c00000fd
Exception Offset: 0002e8d3
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 3081
Additional Information 1: e8ad
Additional Information 2: e8adce1c2b9e7be834b4063ac3c53863
Additional Information 3: e8ad
Additional Information 4: e8adce1c2b9e7be834b4063ac3c53863


now ive tried the start in system admin, in all ways possible, rolling back directX, pretty much everything.

Pc Specs

Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1
Core2 Duo @ 3.00Ghz
4GB DDR2-800
Gigabyte GTX 460 SOC Edition 1GB
ASUS P5KPL-CM motherboard
1TB HDD @ 7200RPM

if anyone needs anything else just ask, this is my first time asking for help on a forum.
Thanks in Advance.
hi..im having the exact same issue..any update on the findings yet? im not going to the windows reinstall option yet..
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:55 AM   #12
Nomnol2
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Yea, I have a similar if not the same problem.

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: MassEffect.exe
Application Version: 1.2.20608.0
Application Timestamp: 4a55fea1
Fault Module Name: MassEffect.exe
Fault Module Version: 1.2.20608.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 4a55fea1
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 002b5c66
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 4105
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

I also get a message when I try to run Mass Effect in compatability mode XP Service Pack 3.

General protection fault!

History: GMatrix2D::Swap() Address = 0x10bb5c66 (filename not found) [in
c:\[rpgram files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\mass
effect\Binaries\MassEffect.exe]
Address = 0x15b33ee4 (filename not found)
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 09:23 PM   #13
Diehr_Wolf
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
I also am having the same issue.

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: MassEffect.exe
Application Version: 1.2.20608.0
Application Timestamp: 4a55fea1
Fault Module Name: ntdll.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17514
Fault Module Timestamp: 4ce7ba58
Exception Code: c00000fd
Exception Offset: 0002e8d3
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: e8ad
Additional Information 2: e8adce1c2b9e7be834b4063ac3c53863
Additional Information 3: e8ad
Additional Information 4: e8adce1c2b9e7be834b4063ac3c53863
Diehr_Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 01:10 AM   #14
Diehr_Wolf
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Hello again! I've found a solution that has worked for me, and I hope it will help you all too!
Turns out there's something wrong with the steam install w/patches.
Background:
Windows 7Ult SP1
Intel Q9550 CPU
8GB RAM
nVidia GTX260(x2-SLI)
Striker II Extreme w/SupremeFX II

Here's what I did:

set MassEffect.exe, and MassEffectConfig.exe in "...\Steam\steamapps\common\mass effect\Binaries" to run as administrator.
I also manually downloaded and installed the patch for 1.02. Here's a link: Mass Effect 1.02 Patch

Credit is due to "Kelwing" from BioWare SocialNetwork, stating,
"Yes try loading the 1.02 patch. Had same issues with Win7 64 bit. Would start and just stop with no warning. I do run the Steam version and found manually installing patch made it work again."

THANKS KELWING!!!
Diehr_Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 07:29 PM   #15
Tower6
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 173
Mine kept crashing, and the fix was to turn off my spyware blocker, it was seeing the data files as a threat and blocking the game from accessing them.
Tower6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Mass Effect series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.