Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > ARMA series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2011, 05:14 PM   #1
Miameh
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Reputation: 1
Posts: 303
DLC

Is it worth owning all DLC for this game to play it online with? I sometimes can't join servers because of it saying i have edited files even though i've changed nothing, I figured maybe it was because i didnt own the other DLC?

I own Arma 2 + Operation Arrowhead.
Miameh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 06:59 PM   #2
meuhey
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 85
I've had the same problem, jarateed me off if I need dlcs too
meuhey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:37 PM   #3
The Jackal
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 4
Posts: 125
They included all the dlc even of you don't own it. The weapons, characters, and vehicles are all very low quality/resolution and you can't play the singleplayer missions of them.

Are there alot of servers that give you that message? Because evidently that happens when either you or the server are using mods/addons that the other does not have.
The Jackal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:58 PM   #4
Defrost My Head
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 8
Posts: 15
First off. The two DLC's are optional, in that you will never be booted off a server if you dont own them.

The server you tried to join is probably running mods. If you do not have the mod that is required you will be booted from the server with a vague error message saying you are missing a certain file.
How do you know which mod you need for that server? Get yourself a launcher, I use Yomas Addon Sync but there are many others. When you browse servers look in the 'mods' column. Anything with a @ symbol in front of it denotes a mod the server is running. eg @cba,@ace,@acex


Now here is where it gets confusing. Some mods are not required to join even if that server says it is running them. These are called client side mods. Some servers won't even allow you to run client side mods, these are usually called 'vanilla' servers.

To anyone starting out I would reccomend that they join vanilla servers only, but start browsing armaholic to see what mods are out there, try a sound mod or something small.

I hope that made sense
Defrost My Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 02:15 AM   #5
Miameh
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Reputation: 1
Posts: 303
Cool thanks a lot, Will be a lot easier knowing if a sever uses a mod or not, Still finding it quite strange what to do when i even join i'm usually standing around for a while before someone picks me up! enjoying the game so far though just need to figure out whats going on
Miameh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:03 AM   #6
Dwarden
 
Dwarden's Avatar
 
Bohemia Interactive
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 362
Posts: 3,002
the issue with missing error popups on joining some / all servers with mods is being investigated

__________________
Open Game Protocol : www.open-game-protocol.org
Follow me at http://twitter.com/FoltynD
Dwarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:44 PM   #7
meuhey
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 85
damn mods...
meuhey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > ARMA series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.