Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Mass Effect series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2011, 09:56 PM   #1
n_gamer
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 30
Posts: 305
Mass Effect 1 - Getting it to launch, Windows 7

Some Windows 7 users haven't been able to run the game. Mass Effect just won't start. For some, changing the compatibility to Windows XP seems to have worked, running the executable as admin, or they were simply missing some files in the game's cache, but in many other cases nothing seems to work. Don't panic over your lost money just yet; it's fixable.

Though Steam should have updated the game to its latest patch (1.02) it doesn't seem to do this, which is actually the solution to this entire problem. You'll have to download the patch manually from the Bioware website. It's compatible with the Steam version and can be found here:

http://masseffect.bioware.com/me1/pc/updates/index.html

From then on you can run the game hassle-free. No additional settings required. Hope this helps future players.

Enjoy the game!
n_gamer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 10:50 PM   #2
TheoQ99
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
I've updated. But I'm still getting the appcrash error. I've also set everything to run as administrator, still doesnt help. Any other tricks you know of?
TheoQ99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 05:58 AM   #3
ocbdare
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 58
I have never had any problems with ME1 and Windows 7...
ocbdare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 06:03 AM   #4
English_Lan
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 71
Posts: 1,312
How do you change the compatability to XP?

I'm using Vista btw and still having this problem.
English_Lan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 01:21 AM   #5
BlackForces
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 76
@n_gamer
Rep +1

Thanks Buddy Previously Mass effect 1 won't work on my pc (Window 7 64 Bit) it keeps crashing i have downloaded from steam after applying patch it works no need to change compatability or anything just download the patch and here You go
BlackForces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 09:21 PM   #6
Brutus
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Reputation: 2
Posts: 17
All I did was close Steam, and then started it as admin. After that ME 1 ran fine.
Brutus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 01:27 AM   #7
sulfuro
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
worked for me, thanks!

Patch + launch as administrator, reboot, and here you go!

W7 64bit - fully updated with winupdate
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 01:03 AM   #8
lemonpips
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 39
Excellent. Thank you. +Rep.
lemonpips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 11:01 AM   #9
MarcRead
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I know this is a dead thread...

...it might help other people who find this through searching.

I had a problem with the system freezing on a black screen after random periods of time, needing a hard reboot. I read about 20 threads on various sites and found the following checklist of things to try:

1. Turn hardware sound 'off' in ME settings
2. Turn dynamic lighting + film grain off in ME settings
3. Run game in Windowed Mode (and do not do Alt-Enter maximise)
4. Check DirectX installation
5. Verify game files from Steam
6. Remove standard drivers and install Omega drivers
7. Improve cooling and/or PSU in system case

Different posters in different threads found that various combinations of these fixes worked for them. For me, 1+2+3 has led to smooth playing of a wonderful game
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 07:35 AM   #10
jaddf
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 9
Posts: 51
Mega rep to the op. I had the insta crash when clicking on the play button , tried running it as admin, checked drivers and stuff, nothing has worked.

The actual problem is the missing patch. THANKS
jaddf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 09:23 AM   #11
orangestate
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Thanks, the patch worked saves me a huge headache trying to figure out what was wrong.
orangestate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 02:26 AM   #12
daSchef
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 59
Thumbs up thanks

You just saved my day pal!
daSchef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 04:11 PM   #13
Nauzhror
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 4
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by n_gamer View Post
Though Steam should have updated the game to its latest patch (1.02) it doesn't seem to do this
Updated to 1.02 just fine for me, didn't have to change to XP compatibility or anything along those lines either to get it to run on Windows 7 Ultimate x64.
Nauzhror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 10:33 PM   #14
n_gamer
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 30
Posts: 305
Maybe they finally updated the game now then. Great news
Glad this was of help to a few people.
n_gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:25 AM   #15
lucidfox
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 63
Posts: 18
What worked for me was installing the 1.02 patch and running it once as administrator directly through masseffect2.exe, without Steam.

After that, I selected "verify integrity of game cache" from Steam to revert the changes to the files, and was able to play it from Steam normally from that point on.
lucidfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Mass Effect series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.