Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Mount & Blade series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2011, 11:26 AM   #1
narrus
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 23
Mount and Blade Warband constantly crashing

Today I installed this game since I haven't played it for a long time but it crashes all the time. It happens in area transitions how I have observed it. I can create a character, kill that 1 enemy and get to the traders house. Then after I have taken the mission from trader and I push TAB to exit it crashes. No errors, nothing. Just says it has stopped working. Sometimes I am lucky and I get to world map but whenever I engage someone or enter somewhere it crashes again.

I have never had this problem before with this game. I am running it on W7 64 bits. It is definitely not a heat issue or anything spec related.
narrus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 11:31 AM   #2
waggywags
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 75
Posts: 973
Open launcher (ok, not sure if you steam people have it), Options/Properties/whatever you call it, set Load Textures on Demand to off. It should fix it, I think the problem is in the loading on the go. Can't be sure. Give an update on if it works or not if you don't mind.
waggywags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 11:31 AM   #3
Redbullmass
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 173
If your drivers are up to date and everything, verify the integrity of the game cache, it's possible that some files are corrupted.
Redbullmass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 11:33 AM   #4
PANTERA.
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 51
Posts: 616
Verify integrity of cache?

Oops. I got beat.
PANTERA. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 11:44 AM   #5
narrus
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 23
Verification was ok. Nothing was missing.
Looks like disabling Load Textures on Demand helped. Hasn't crashed so far.
narrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 11:49 AM   #6
waggywags
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 75
Posts: 973
It'll help right until your videocard hits the ceiling, but that'll be a lot of hours playing yet if you've more than 512MB. With 512MB I can last a few hours and suffer minimal lag in comparison to the start, takes something like a day I suppose if I want it to crash. Feel free to read up on what LToD does if you're curious, but for now, glad to know it works, have a good game.

EDIT: Oh, and yes. +rep for reporting your problem with info instead of b'aaawing.

Last edited by waggywags: 05-07-2011 at 12:01 PM.
waggywags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 12:28 PM   #7
l4dplyr
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Hello. This might help, because I have had a couple of problems the last few days.

Are you playing the game with steam in offline mode?

If you are, that is the problem. Launch steam in online mode and the crashes go away.

I am not positive, but it may be related to ed achievements. It was happening to me five minutes into the game every time I loaded it. When I launched steam into online mode and played the game again, it didnt crash and roughly 5 minutes into the game I got an achievment.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 12:30 PM   #8
waggywags
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 75
Posts: 973
He last stated that the game was working 'alright so far', @l4d. But hey, perhaps. It's an extra fix in case the current one proves temporary, I suppose.
waggywags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 04:51 AM   #9
narrus
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 23
l4dplyr is right
Today I tried playing it in Offline Mode and I was crashed constantly again even though I had textures on demand turned off. Once in online mode I could play it well again.

If anybody knows how to fix this in offline mode it would be great. I often end up traveling and want to play some M&B while on the road in Offline Mode
narrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 05:52 AM   #10
waggywags
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 75
Posts: 973
Enable cheat mode. It'll disable achievements and hopefully fix it.
waggywags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 09:44 PM   #11
yorke6
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by waggywags View Post
Open launcher (ok, not sure if you steam people have it), Options/Properties/whatever you call it, set Load Textures on Demand to off. It should fix it, I think the problem is in the loading on the go. Can't be sure. Give an update on if it works or not if you don't mind.
Hey Waggywags!

The game would crash every time I try entering a Tavern, Arena or the street?! But after using your tip it works again. Thanks!!!
yorke6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 05:31 PM   #12
pjay101
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Crash on Save I mean really?

Hi guys and gals.

I love this game, but it's just sooooo irritating when you get to an area (like the bandit hideouts with 20K bad guys) (with your 20 or so army) for the first mission for example... Crash...

I tried EVERYTHING (at least everything I could think of)... On more than one computer)... But the one I want it to work on is this one)...

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64
16 GB ram

Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor, 3200 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 6 Logical Processor(s)

Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760

Crashing for super insane numbers of processes and individual calculations for a battle with 20 odd K of fighters I get... (I don't get why they did that, but that's another story)... What is really frustrating is when I finally remember I haven't saved in a while, and do so... And it crashes while saving (and doesn't actually save successfully) so I have to start from the last time it actually saved... It seems very random and only happened on this PC...

I have tried with old Nvidia drivers, (rolled back), New drivers, Max detail graphics, minimum level details (no options checked)... No AA no nuddin... Still crashed on save... (even tried a new save (save as) rather than save). Crash... I spent a bajillion hours trying to get my character's honor and all that so I finally got land and stuff... Any ideas? Please and thank you?
pjay101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2016, 04:49 AM   #13
sambob
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 180
Posts: 810
Assume you're playing the steam version.

Have you completely deleted and reinstalled the game?

Do you restart your computer after a crash?

Have you done the 'Verify Integrity of Game Cache' thing?

This is definitely not a problem with the game.
sambob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Mount & Blade series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2015, All Rights Reserved.