Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RailWorks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2011, 02:37 PM   #1
DTHOLM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 146
Question Can't find photo

I just downloaded and started using the Flying Scotsman. (the stand alone.) When I was seeing how things work I took a photo. The Train was going by a signal at the time the scene stopped for a sec. It looked and sounded like a flash went off. I feel that I took a photo. I can not seem to find it. Where should I look and it I do a name search what should I use?
DTHOLM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 02:47 PM   #2
arizonachris
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 841
Posts: 7,466
Click on Steam and look in the screenshots section. I don't know where RW stores them. I use a program called FRAPS for screenshots, movies, and it shows my frame rate as well.

You won't be able to upload that photo here, you will need to use a third party site, like Photo Bucket, and link to that site.
arizonachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 03:08 PM   #3
DC Shoemaker
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 22
Posts: 180
RW Pictures

It may depend on your operating system and your defaults, but Windows 7 likes to put ant pictures in your Library-Pictures-My Pictures folder when you create any kind of picture file. In my case, RailWorks produces a .PNG (portable network graphics) file with a name like Screenshot_Hagen to Siegen...png. The elipses represent, I think, the location coordinates.

Good luck and good hunting!

DC
DC Shoemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 11:09 AM   #4
pigpen
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm not sure if this helps but here's the path the screenshots taken with Steam are stashed away at on my computer...

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\userdata\10099947\760\remote\0\screens hots

The screenshot library feature of Steam seems to be broken with Railworks, but if you hit F12 the images are saved. I usually just navigate to the Steam folder and search for *.jpg.

I don't know where Railworks saves it's own screenshots to.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 12:43 PM   #5
arizonachris
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 841
Posts: 7,466
I think F12 will save to Steam, Railworks and FRAPS. Just have to know where to find them.
arizonachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 02:22 PM   #6
elof_ffs
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 53
Posts: 791
I think he means the free NRM Flying Scotsman,
http://www.nrm.org.uk/scotsmangift

That doesn't connect to Steam and i don't know if it has it own screen shots function.
elof_ffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 02:47 PM   #7
Teschnertron
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
If on XP, look at your "my pictures" folder at your "home folder". Sorry, my Windows is in German, I don't know the original names of the folders.

HTH,

Martin
Teschnertron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 05:07 PM   #8
Ragnokak
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 272
Posts: 2,633
I'm pretty sure he is talking about the in-game screenshot function.
That goes into your My Pictures library.
Ragnokak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 06:17 PM   #9
DTHOLM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 146
Arrow

[QUOTE=Ragnokak;22675306]I'm pretty sure he is talking about the in-game screenshot function.
That goes into your My Pictures library.[/QUOTE

yes I was talking about the standalone. I used the photo icon in the software. I did so a search for of snapshot my windows 7 does odd things every now and then.

Thanks to all that helped.
DTHOLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 06:24 PM   #10
Ragnokak
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 272
Posts: 2,633
So DT, what did you think of the demo?
Taking screenshots usually denotes a positive thing, but just curious as to what your first impressions were.
Ragnokak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 07:02 PM   #11
DTHOLM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 146
I like how everything looks. I took a few shots from the sky and it is great. All the views are so life like. The controls are easy to use. It was nice to demo to see if I handle it. My timing is poor. I have not been
back to Portal 1 or 2 because some of the movements I can not make. like run and jump (bad hands not the computer fault.) I wish that I had more to do it was way to shot. But I did find out how most of the icons work. Also I love the steam and sounds. I turn the vol. all the way up. I wanted a disk copy so I have to wait about 5 more days tell RW comes in so I have been looking over other web sits. Thanks to the person who posted the link. overall the stand alone is great. Almost for got to say I love having more then one view as I run my train.
DTHOLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RailWorks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.