Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Duke Nukem Forever

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2011, 03:45 PM   #1
Yummsie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Red face This game is currently unavailable - Please try again at another time.

Seriously?! D: I know that a lot of people are currently r❤❤ing the servers, but yeah. :| This sucks on ice.
Yummsie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 04:58 PM   #2
nimrod1985
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I have the same error, and the demo is working fine, so it must be steam
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 05:12 PM   #3
DGMan54
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 46
Same problem for me too. Everything decrypted fine, I can watch the movies, and play the mp3's. Verifying the local files....all 612 of them doesn't generate any errors.

It looks like it has not downloaded the main .exe yet, and no amount of restarts or verifies seems to be triggering the additional download.

I deleted my local content and am trying to re-download everything. Hope that works.
DGMan54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 06:43 PM   #4
nimrod1985
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I re-dl it too and now its working, and crashing after a few minutes
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 07:48 PM   #5
DGMan54
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by nimrod1985 View Post
I re-dl it too and now its working, and crashing after a few minutes
If you had access to the demo this past week, was that crashing as well?
DGMan54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 08:06 PM   #6
deevus
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I am having this issue also.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 08:08 PM   #7
nimrod1985
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGMan54 View Post
If you had access to the demo this past week, was that crashing as well?

I just checked if the demo works, and no prolblems with that.

But the Game is working fine now, it only happened twice at the beginning but no new crashs since then
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 08:20 PM   #8
DGMan54
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by deevus View Post
I am having this issue also.
Do you have the exe file in your "...\steamapps\common\duke nukem forever\System" folder. Just wondering if we have the same issue.
DGMan54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 08:36 PM   #9
nimrod1985
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I already had the DukeNukem.exe first time, but that wasnt the problem, only the re-dl helped

Last edited by nimrod1985: 06-09-2011 at 08:38 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:01 PM   #10
deevus
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
No exe in System
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:21 PM   #11
DGMan54
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 46
Dang...my re-install didn't solve it. Game downloaded, but no exe. Steam restart kicked off a 250MB update that didn't help any.

So, I'm still stuck with the OP's error. And this time I downloaded unencrypted files instead of having to decrypt the pre-load. This is weird...I've never had this kind of problem with Steam before.
DGMan54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:45 PM   #12
ICantShoot
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Reputation: 415
Posts: 5,898
Right click on Duke Nukem Forever at Steam games list. Select properties. Then select local files and then verify integrity of game cache.

That should fix your issues. After that, restarting Steam is also a good idea.
ICantShoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:50 PM   #13
deevus
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by ICantShoot View Post
Right click on Duke Nukem Forever at Steam games list. Select properties. Then select local files and then verify integrity of game cache.

That should fix your issues. After that, restarting Steam is also a good idea.
Doesn't work, FYI
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:58 PM   #14
DGMan54
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by ICantShoot View Post
Right click on Duke Nukem Forever at Steam games list. Select properties. Then select local files and then verify integrity of game cache.

That should fix your issues. After that, restarting Steam is also a good idea.
Yes, and this is what I posted I did a few hours ago before I did a delete and re-download. My results now are the same as before the re-download...all 612 files verify ok.

I'm curious how many files there are in a properly working copy.... (after running a validation the results are logged in ..\Program Files\Steam\GameValidation.log)

Quote:
Starting validation of Duke Nukem Forever
Validation complete: 612 Total Files, 0 Failed Validation
DGMan54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 10:21 PM   #15
ICantShoot
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Reputation: 415
Posts: 5,898
When i go to C:\STEAM\steamapps\common\ where my Steam is installed and right click on duke folder, i see 802 files. Got a working copy myself. Atleast to main menu, didn't had time to play it before i had to leave to work.
ICantShoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Duke Nukem Forever


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.