Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sims 3, The

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2011, 08:01 PM   #1
JustAndrew
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
Gifted Sims 3 to a friend. It won't launch.

CPU : Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5300 @ 2.60GHz // 2.6 GHz CPU speed // 3.2 GB RAM // MS Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 3 // Intel GMA 3100 Video card

Those are her PC specs. Definitely not a gaming PC, but I know people who can run Sims 3 on worse hardware than that. Any ideas what could be wrong? Drivers were updated and still nothing.

I should also note that I had her update drivers, .NET Framework, and DirectX. None worked. Tried to launch from Steam, shortcut, and exes in the folder.

The only progress made was this error message when trying from an exe in the folder:

The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000135).

Haven't found many solutions for that when Googling.

Last edited by JustAndrew: 07-07-2011 at 09:16 PM.
JustAndrew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 07:48 AM   #2
spyrochaete
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 369
Posts: 3,813
Try going into the game folder and running the game executable directly, instead of the separate launcher app which is what Steam is trying to do.

...\Steam\Steamapps\common\The Sims 3\Game\Bin\TS3.exe
spyrochaete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 09:56 AM   #3
Guildy
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 25
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyrochaete View Post
Try going into the game folder and running the game executable directly, instead of the separate launcher app which is what Steam is trying to do.

...\Steam\Steamapps\common\The Sims 3\Game\Bin\TS3.exe
Yeah this doesn't work for me. It starts up the store window, then when I press play an error pops up saying that I don't have acces to this file for I don't have the authority or something.
I might hafta mention the TS3.exe thing is missing from the program files?

I payed 70 bucks and waited a long time for it to install, why can't I start?

Edit: Ehm, ok, I just tried to start it and Steam informed me that the expansions have been installed. Quite weird, for this is the second time it displays this. Game now won't start at all, and just displays that message...

Edit2: Oh, that message was a 3 time thing. Now it doesn't say anything and completely refuses to start.

Last edited by Guildy: 07-08-2011 at 10:03 AM.
Guildy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:34 AM   #4
spyrochaete
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 369
Posts: 3,813
Guildy, are you getting the same error message as JustAndrew? My advice was specifically for his issue.

You might have to contact EA support if you're getting a different error.
spyrochaete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 12:20 PM   #5
ShalimarX
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 69
Posts: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guildy View Post
Yeah this doesn't work for me. It starts up the store window, then when I press play an error pops up saying that I don't have acces to this file for I don't have the authority or something.
I might hafta mention the TS3.exe thing is missing from the program files?

I payed 70 bucks and waited a long time for it to install, why can't I start?

Edit: Ehm, ok, I just tried to start it and Steam informed me that the expansions have been installed. Quite weird, for this is the second time it displays this. Game now won't start at all, and just displays that message...

Edit2: Oh, that message was a 3 time thing. Now it doesn't say anything and completely refuses to start.
Generally in the case of a game saying you don't have permission to run it it's an error surrounding user accounts. Try either:

a) logging into your computers administrator account if not already doing such and try loading the game.

or

b) right click the excutible and under properties find the option that allows you to run the application as administrator.
ShalimarX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 10:20 AM   #6
mleejr
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 63
Steam installed it, it just pops up for one second and goes away. Fix this.
mleejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 11:45 AM   #7
m0j0NL
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Same here, played for a couple hours, then went to make something to eat, wanted to continue playing, the launcher shows, but hitting play doesnt do anything.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sims 3, The


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.